We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional experience”
Review of Le Cordon Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Cordon Blanc
Ranked #1 of 4 Evran B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The most charming & comfortable B&B we have stayed at for several years. Nathalie's talents as home-maker are obvious in the imaginative décor throughout, and the offerings at breakfast are varied and generous. An evening at dinner with our hosts and other guests was a social & gastronomic highlight of our holiday in this lovely region of France.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

I am very disappointed that I have to give this establishment a very bad review. I made a booking inquiry to stay with Natalie for the dates Oct 5th and 6th of 2013. She emailed me back that she did have those dates available and she also had the dates Oct 6th and Oct 7th available. I told her that i wished to stay Oct 5th and 6th. I asked her if she would make us dinner for Saturday and Sunday night and she said she would. She usually does not make dinner on Sunday but she had no problem in doing this. She asked me if I could give her a deposit. I mentioned to her that I was from the United States. She said no problem and she would waive the deposit. She said she would be happy to welcome us for the dates required.

While we were in France she emailed us that she had a last minute problem and she could not accommodate us for Oct 5th and 6th. She stated that she had a friend that had a vacancy. However her recommendation was not in a location that was feasible or advantageous for us.

It was very very disappointing and it took me days to find another accommodation. I spend hours emailing and calling places for vacancies. This was very difficult because it was on a weekend in prime time. This was very stressful and shortened my sightseeing.

I mentioned this situation to several seasoned bed and breakfasts owners in France and they said this was very unprofessional. One of the owners read my correspondence from Natalie and she stated that i clearly had a confirmation for Oct 5th and Oct 6th 2013.

I emailed Natalie and asked what the problem was and she never gave me a definitive answer. If she had stated that she had an emergency this negative review would never had been written.. I have never encountered an experience like this.

I am urging you to make sure that you have a definite confirmation. I do not want anyone to experience what I went through. I really did not appreciate the lack of professional behavior.

Although I did not stay with her I feel that she was not very caring and acted in a very unprofessional manner. I can not recommend her establishment.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank smokie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nathalie d, Propriétaire at Le Cordon Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014
Google Translation

Madame
Au nom de quels principes, pouvez vous dire que la fermeture de mon établissement pendant quelques jours en octobre dernier suite au décès d'un proche n'est pas professionnelle ! Effectivement pendant cette courte période je n'ai pu vous recevoir et j'en suis navrée, mais certainement moins que d'avoir perdu cet être cher...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had booked a place in Evran centre which had unfortunately gone bust. But the Tourist Office put us in touch with the lovely people at Cordon Blanc.
Madame Natalie went out of her way to make us feel welcome and comfortable, after a long hot day on our tandem. The rooms are in a converted barn, decorated in a modern but perhaps over fussy style for some, but comfy bed, lovely bathroom, delicious dinner and aperitifs on the terrace beforehand. Conversation was fluid, fast and french over dinner, of which I probably understood 40%, but it was enough to absorb the atmosphere over the old oak kitchen table and the food being freshly prepared and served in front of us. The house is in a garden with a hundred species of bamboo - worth a nose.

Natalie and her family are fine hosts. I hope their business continues to flourish

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our first impression was that the house looked even more beautiful in person than it did on the website. After a very warm welcome from the owner, Natalie, we were shown to a well proportioned room with a large ensuite shower, basins & toilet. The room was clean and beautifully decorated.

Breakfast was something very special. We were welcomed into the main farmhouse - B&B rooms are in the adjoining building, into a gorgeous farmhouse kitchen. The table was groaning with fresh bread, homemade baked goods & preserves (including an amazing caramel sauce) and Natalie also made us crepes which were absolutely delicious.

Even if your French is minimal this is a great place to stay. There may be a little sign language involved but Natalie will bend over backwards to make you feel at home.

The B&B is well located for exploring Brittany. The main house is still being developed so have a look at their website for new features.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank soomoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We were enchanted by that ravishing environment, the hoslitality and "grandeur" of that paradise. It's always worthwhile to stay there - may that be for a biking trip, a hiking tour, horse riding, sightseeing or anything else you would plan to do in the Bretagne. And even if the wheather should not be fully comming up to your taste: It is just wonderful to stay indoors in that wonderful "maison" and relax in the garden or just enjoy the perfect style of each and every room not to forget the fantastic breakfast in the kitchen together with the charming owners.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pierre p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurore D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evran
7 mi away
La Maison Pavie
La Maison Pavie
#1 of 15 in Dinan
321 reviews
23.3 mi away
Le 1900
Le 1900
#1 of 8 in Antrain
119 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Vieux Chien Noir
Le Vieux Chien Noir
#2 of 4 in Evran
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Le Patio
#1 of 1 in Evran
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Le Cordon Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cordon Blanc

Address: 16 Cordon Blanc, 22630 Evran, France
Region: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Evran
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Evran
Price Range: £65 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House Nathalie: "le Cordon Blanc" Near The Canal Ille Et Rance Is An Oasis Of Tranquility. It Has 4 Charming Rooms With Bathrooms And Wc. There He Has A Very Sweet Atmosphere In The Heat Of The Furniture Collection. The House Is Surrounded By Bamboo (60 Varieties) And Spread Over 1 Hectare Fruit Trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Cordon Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing