We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not choosing Cat Ba Ventures is a mistake!”
Review of Cat Ba Ventures

Cat Ba Ventures
Ranked #2 of 41 Tours in Cat Ba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not choosing Cat Ba Ventures is a mistake!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This was an absolute perfect end of our trip. We stayed in Hanoi, which is pretty far, you better stay in Hai Phong to go to CatBa. Either way, everything was perfctly arranged, a driver of Tung picked us up in the hotel, brought us to Hai Phong, arranged our tickets for the boat which would take us to Cat Ba. There Hai picked us up. The boat trip was splendid! Only the two of us with 4 crew members. Hai was a perfect English guide. They took us away from te touristic scene. Don't take any other boat!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Elke I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    104
    34
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“1 day hike, cat ba national park”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We took the 1 day hike to Catba national park. No one else signed up so we ended up being just 2 with our guide. He spoke very little english but was very adequate. Hike is a bit harder then they describe it. 10 km of rather rough hills with slippery stones followed by 5 km on a flat road to the harbour to come back by boat. The lunch( included) was very good.

In all, excellent value for 18$ pp and a great way to escape cat ba town and have the peace and quiet of the national park.

Tip: bring insect repellent!! Mosquitos are numerous.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cattwo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a wonderful cruise on Ha Long bay”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We booked a 3days/2nights cruise on Ha Long bay with Cat Ba ventures. Mr Tung offers great services and adapt his offers to everyone from prepayment to the cruise!
We had a great captain- 'chef cuisinier'. Each meal was delicious and the menu was so various and better than what we had expected.
It was a great experience for us, (not just visiting Ha Long bay nor snorkeling, kayaking), we shared tea with fishermen at their floating village, had opportunity to choose our fishes, visited grottoes, have interesting conversation with our guide Hang.
Besides, we always arrived first on nice swimming or kayaking spots so we could enjoy before other boats arrived.
Please note that no toiletries provided and no possibility to charge phone, camera, etc. Fan in the room!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank reine23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrTung, Owner at Cat Ba Ventures, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Reine,
we are very glad to meet you on this beautiful island and also very happy to organise the trip for you. As one of the locally earliest-established company, we are experienced in organizing boat trip with excellent boat quality and qualified staff. I hope you had unforgettable vacation throughout Vietnam.
Thank you very much for coming to us and see you soon!
Best regards,
Mr. Tung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best of what's out there, but..”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We did a cruise through Lan Ha and Ha Long bays with Cat Ba Ventures. Part of the trip was good and we enjoyed seeing this part of the world. One boat was good. The food was good. The scenery was gorgeous. The kayaking was fun.

The not so fun part was being jostled around by Cat Ba Ventures. They communicated one set of plans to us in email, but changed them when we got there because it worked best for them. They also moved us on different boats mid-trip, because the one we booked was needed for another group half way through our trip. On the second boat we were told to keep our valuables close because it wasn't as safe.

Cat Ba Ventures is rated as the best that is out there, and I can't deny or endorse this. I'd probably recommend them to others with the added note that this kind of handling can/will happen even in the 'good places' because of the nature of the tourism business in Ha Long bay.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank wegotlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High quality and personal service at its finest”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Cat Ba Ventures gave us an unforgettable experience of Lan Ha Bay and Ha Long Bay. Taking the day tour, we explored caves by kayak (beyond the tourist path), had a delicious fresh lunch, went to one of the two Grottos in the bay, and had a swim at the end of the day.
Our knowledgeable guide Phuc gave us interesting local and historical information throughout the day, adding great depth to the tour experience.
We were lucky to share the day with only one other couple, making it a peaceful and personal day.
The tour offers an overnight stay, which unfortunately we did not have the time for.
Cat Ba Ventures is highly recommended for an authentic experience at great value.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Talitha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cat Ba Ventures also viewed

 

Been to Cat Ba Ventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing