We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice change of pace in a unique area, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Whisper of Nature Bungalow
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Cat Ba
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice change of pace in a unique area, clean rooms”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Great place that we went with because of reviews here. I would say this is not a resort though. It is a few bungalows out at the end of an isolated valley. it has lots of country sounds at night and not much going on other than the great hike to navy peak and short walk to a cave. there is a school you can visit. the bike ride from the ferry (which you can take from and back to cat ba easily) is lovely, even special. great to be in a car free place. i recommend biking back toward the harbor at sunset and just stopping once out of town to hear the jungle come alive. i would say staying here for a night and doing the hike is a must if you are visiting the area for a few days. the guys that run the place are also great cooks and very helpful. they could add some more hammocks and comfy seating to help encourage guests to stay longer than just a night. rooms had ac, but we found the night time temps to be cool enough not to turn it on. hot during the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank class4plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    35
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
46
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Six of us stayed here for two nights over the autumn long weekend break in Vietnam. From Hanoi, we caught two coaches, a fast ferry, another coach, a taxi, a small boat and rode bicycles to get there -- but it was well worth it.

This is an isolated medium-grade resort in the middle of Cat Ba Island, which is in the middle of Halong Bay. We stayed in tiny bungalow chalets, each with a bathroom, and ate in a cafe by a steam. It was idyllic. We saw rare langurs in the jungle treetops. The stay included use of bicycles. It poured overnight but we still managed extensive periods of cycling, kayaking and swimming.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. There appears to be a big dormitory building for backpackers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RT1Perth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Staying at Whisper Nature Bungalow was one of the highlights of our stay in Vietnam and Cambodia. We arrived in at the beginning of a typhoon, which added to the excitement. First a Ferry to Cat Ba city - where most people stay - then a short motorbike taxi to another jetty. A one hour ride in a bamboo boat - as trip around the bay - took ust to the jetty where we were picked up and drieven six stunnning kilometers to the Bungalows. We had three peaceful nights in the, albeit basic, bungalow, but were looked after very well buy Duan and his wife, who cooked special, delicious, vegetarian meals for me every night. If discos and bright life are your thing, then this is not the place to be, but for relaxation, wildlife, and a very personal service, (not to mention the extremely good value) and a complete antidote to the traffic and buzz of the city, this place is not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We used slopony adventures for directions to get from Hanoi to Whisper (not for the faint hearted) but great for adventurers, with final 5 kilometer bike ride along stunning waterway then into valley, through Viet Hai village to arrive at Whisper Bungalows. Heavy rain both nights, bring your own cards and spirits. Blessed with great day weather for kayaking and swimming on isolated beach, all organised by young Xuan for $22 for the day each. Basic accommodation with hot water and lovely flowing creek. Few things scampering over the roof at night but you are in nature. Our party of 6 had a great weekend.

Room Tip: Bungalows set along small creek (fast after night rains !) in lovely garden greenery, some greens us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgates50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I found this place on Trip Advisor and I am so glad I did. It is just fantastic! We came as a group of friends and just getting here was an adventure - we didn't quite know what the next steps would be! The journey was a lot of fun, and to end up on the pier near Viet Hai village was magic. The manager was waiting for us, took our backpacks on his motor bike, and gave us bicycles to ride to the Bungalows (4km). The scenery was breath-taking: The water, the limestone crags, the trees, the rice paddies - clean air.... what more could Hanoi-residents ask for!
The Bungalows were basic but comfortable and clean, with everything you need for a few days stay. The staff met all of our needs - ice for our own drinks, a table to play cards, food to meet everyone's needs.
We took a trip into the Bay on one day, and had the beauty of the bay, plus kayaking and swimming from a small beach, lazing in the sun.
We wanted to go to Halong Bay, without going on a tour, and this was perfect. Very cheap, very good value.
Would recommend that they get the bicycles serviced, though!
PS Didn't see a single cockroach!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulu_in_hanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Even the rain cannot spoil this lovely scenery. Limestone cliffs rising above a fertile valley. The bungalows are basic but have a toilet, shower, comfy bed with good mosquito nets and AC. They have a small seating area and a short path to the dining room/bar and terrace. The nature reserve surrounds the hotel and the small village of Viet Hai with exotic birds butterflies and dragonflies all in abundance. To top it off bikes are free. If you are up for a strenous walk/scramble then at the top of the nearby mountain you get panoramic views of Halong Bay. Even the trip from Cat Ba city is an adventure, travelling through the protected fishing zone with its floating villages on a 'Bamboo Boat'. Finally - the staff are lovely people.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonEcologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This hotel is a great way to relax off mass tourism's beaten track. Getting there is itself a bit of an adventure, and once arrived you have the teeming jungle on one side and a charming little village of Viet Hai on the other. Nature Whisper is the only hotel for miles, so the locals are not unduly affected by tourism. The bungalows are pretty basic, but have air conditioning and effective mosquito nets. The manager's wife is a good cook, and the portions are generous. There's not much to do except chill out.
The disadvantage of being so isolated is that you become a captive market for the hotel. For instance, we negotiated the Cat Ba-Viet Hai boat trip at Cat Ba for 200,000 VND, but the Nature Whisper manager couldn't or wouldn't do better than 250,000 VND for the same trip. The manager's “friend”, who organises kayaking excursions, does not negotiate either. They are sharp enough to know that once at Nature Whisper, the traveller has no real choice. A traveller would be well-advised to call in at one or two of the numerous travel agencies at Cat Ba before going to Viet Hai. If you don't get a satisfactory price for an excursion or boat transfer from Nature Whisper, you could just telephone Cat Ba. Another piece of advice: avoid swimming in the nearby sea. Sadly, the sea and beaches are filthy with litter.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles300566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cat Ba hotels
4.5 mi away
Catba Palace Hotel
Catba Palace Hotel
#2 of 18 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
5.1 mi away
Catba Sunrise Resort
Catba Sunrise Resort
#1 of 18 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cat Ba Beach Resort
Cat Ba Beach Resort
#6 of 18 in Cat Ba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Monkey Island Resort
Monkey Island Resort
#7 of 18 in Cat Ba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island
4.5 mi away
Sea Pearl Hotel
Sea Pearl Hotel
#9 of 18 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whisper of Nature Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whisper of Nature Bungalow

Property: The Whisper of Nature Bungalow
Address: Viet Hai, Cat Ba 1000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from the sea leads to Viet Hai Village, a new APT Travel community tour development. The comfortable bungalows are located under one of the steep mountainsides of the island’s National Park Reserve. There are seven single private bungalows, a large bungalow for groups of people to share and a triangular bungalow where a bar is located with food, drink and wine. Next to the bar is an open space with some tables for you to relax, drink amongst the trees and stones of the untouched natural setting, beside a very clean stream. A movable stage can be provided for music and song. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Whisper of Nature Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whisper Of Nature Bungalow Hotel Cat Ba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing