We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My worst experience in 5 years”
Review of The Noble House

The Noble House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cat Ba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Noble House
Ranked #34 of 62 Cat Ba B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My worst experience in 5 years”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Hi, I'm writing to lonely planet in order to question the integrity of their service. We went to this hotel in order to check the rooms as it was the highest rated one in their guide, with awesome review from them. However, we didn't stay there due to the awful aspect of the rooms, and avoided the restaurant during our 1st day as we didn't feel like appreciating being shouted at in the street in order to ask us to check the menu. We however had to eat there on the following morning and lunch as we had scheduled a climbing session with slo poney agency (located 1st floor of their hotel), and ended up mad for the day and sick for the rest of the trip! Service was awful, we were shouted at when ordering, the waitress refused to change our order when we changed our mind during ordering, the prices are twice higher than other restaurants, and the food doesn't taste too good. But, the best always coming second, we got all sick (4 of us) a few hours later and for the following days! And for te 1st time of the trip... We all had an amazing time in vietnam, north and south, with amazing people, staff, food an experience, but these guys are the worst thing I've been expreriencing in years!

As a note, the tour agency Slo Poney isn't a great one either, we paid 60$ each for a morning of climbing + lunch, which started 1 hour late and without lunch...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jutpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    4
    2
    8
    28
See reviews for
2
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

you will get ripped off anyway possible there terrible staff (including this one women watch out for her she will rip you off) tried to charge us for wet laundry and tried to overcharge the room

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julius K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cat Ba hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The below reviews say it all really, and had we checked this first rather than just going with Lonely Planets 'Our Pick' we would have saved ourselves a lot of bother. The convenient location right opposite the ferry pier, LP endorsement and fact that they have the excellent SloPony in the same building must be the only thing drawing customers to this place and, like us and the review before, I wouldn't be surprised if everyone checks out after 1 night to look for a different hotel.

The room was OK, but at $10 a night was well overpriced. My main issue was with the incredibly rude staff, poor service, terrible music blaring from the bar downstairs till late at night and the crap food. I ordered some bread with butter and jam and when it arrived the butter sachet had dead flies stuck to it along with mud or some sort of black mess which was smeared on the plate too. The jam was a dollop the size of a small grape, and when I called the waitress back over to request a larger portion of jam I was met with her usual surly attitude. I couldn't believe someone could serve food to you in that state (and have the cheek to charge 35000 dong for it), it was so ridiculous I just had to laugh.

After one night here we walked along the main street, checked out rooms in another couple of hotels and moved straight away to a much nicer, cheaper place down the road (Song Chanh - $6 a night for a massive clean room with awesome view over the harbour from the upper floor rooms). Quite frankly the Noble House was so bad it has finally moved me to sign up to Tripadvisor so that I could warn others away from it. Not that you'll need any convincing as my thoughts are clearly shared by many other reviewers...

Room Tip: Any that aren't in this hotel
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Originally had planned to stay here for 3 nights. Gave my laundry the first night and was advised it would be done the next day. Well, we got a bag full of wet, unfolded laundry returned to us. Locked out the next day by the staff (apparently they close at 10PM), yet no one had advised us. Also, usually there is a staff member sleeping close to the door to let late comers in. Ended up leaving the next day after be sworn at by the staff for disputing the cost for the rooms and laundry service.

Hands down, the worst experience ever in such a beautiful and great country.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We ate here and it was an awful experience. Terrible food. Ended up having to go to a second restaurant to eat.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iz789456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Chose this place cause i wanted to climb with Slo Pony. The climbing and guys at Slo Pony are amazing but The noble house is so fare the worst and mosy expensive place i've stayed. The staff is rude, i had to ask three times for a towle and toiletpaper and The bar just below the rooms is open till 1am. Only go througt the front door if you are there to see Slo Pony.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Simple - very rude, obnoxious staff (seemed arrogant thanks to LP recommendation), overpriced very hard bed, but mainly the horribly loud bar right below. Awake till half 2, left first thing in the morning. Should have taken more notice of the RAT running through the reception/restaurant when we first arrived. We moved to somewhere far nicer for half the price (Sunset hotel). Stay away.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMurphy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Ba
0.1 mi away
Catba Palace Hotel
Catba Palace Hotel
#2 of 19 in Cat Ba
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thao Minh New Star Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cat Ba Family Hotel
Cat Ba Family Hotel
#22 of 62 in Cat Ba
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cat Ba Langur Hostel
Cat Ba Langur Hostel
#5 of 67 in Cat Ba
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cat Ba Guest House
Cat Ba Guest House
#1 of 62 in Cat Ba
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Pont Hotel
Le Pont Hotel
#9 of 22 in Hai Phong
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Noble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Noble House

Property: The Noble House
Address: D Nui Ngoc, Cat Ba, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Cat Ba
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Noble House Hotel Cat Ba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing