We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Pearl Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Huyen Vu Hotel(Cat Ba)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
    Ngoc Lan Ahn(Cat Ba)
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Priceline
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    Average 3/5
      No availability for your dates from our partners
      Average 3/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      No availability for your dates from our partners
      • Beachfront
      Reviews (235)
      Filter reviews
      235 results
      Traveller rating
      78
      50
      52
      28
      27
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      78
      50
      52
      28
      27
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsrooftop barkindly staffgreat viewbreakfast buffetcomfortable rooma wonderful holidaytour companiesbig hotelbeautiful baybit datedtop floora sea view roomrecommend this hotel to anyonetwo night staystayed nightshotel managertown centre
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      125 - 130 of 235 reviews
      Reviewed 4 June 2014

      This place is a nightmare. There were so many things wrong with our stay I don't know where to start...
      Firstly it is situated right on the main road which is in a good location but the traffic noise is terrible and loud almost 24/7. We knew this might be case so we asked for a high level (level 10 of 11) to try and escape the noise but it didn't help. Level 10 is also right under the restaurant (level 11) so from about 6.30am until about 10.00am all you can hear is the dragging of heavy wooden chairs across the dinning room floor. The noise was loud enough to wake both my partner and myself. Also there is a nightclub situated on the ground level of the hotel that has ridiculously loud music playing from about 7pm until 12pm. Even on the tenth floor we could hear it loud and clear! Sleep was impossible until after midnight.

      Our in room safe didn't work so we asked for someone to fix it. We had to ask twice despite them telling us they would fix it they just didn't. Apparently they had lost the master key so it couldn't be fixed.

      The towels and bath mat supplied that were supposed to be white we're actually a dirty brown with stains all over them. We stayed two nights and housekeeping did not service the room or change the towels at all. This was despite us asking several times.

      Despite several different booking sites including Trip Advisor stating this hotel has a gym it definitely does not. We asked about the gym and why it says on these websites that there is one and were met with blank stares.

      We stayed in peak season so we did not pay as little as some of the other reviews that I have read, but for any price I would expect a decent nights sleep.

      I absolutely do not recommend this hotel at any price.

      Room Tip: If you want a good room choose another hotel.
      • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Brucey_Lee
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 18 May 2014

      We stayed at this hotel on Cat Ba for 1 night we also stayed one night on Princess cruise, on our Ha Long part of the Northern trip there were 24 of us from Australia, the hotel was good and the staff very helpful, breakfast was good also, the drinks in the bar were 2 for 1.

      Room Tip: rooms in the front of the hotel have an excellent view of the bay and islands
      • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank Rickyb595
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      seapearlhotel, Owner at Sea Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

      Thank you for review. Good luck and see you again !

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 9 May 2014

      We travelled to Cat Ba in April, presumably a bit of an off-peak time for the area.

      The hotel is right on the waterfront and opposite the pier so it couldn't get more central than that. Not that it matters in such a small town, but it was handy. If you're travelling to Cat Ba via Hoang Long Bus Company then the bus stop is directly opposite.

      When we arrived, the hotel foyers lights were completely out - it felt as though the place was deserted. We were greeted by staff who carried our bags to our room. I think we were the only guests in the hotel.

      Our room was on the 10th floor and was harbour facing (tick!). The entire hotel had a fairly strong smell of mould and it felt as if everything was constantly damp, but the room itself was good. The windows to the hotel are tinted which does takeaway from the view somewhat.

      Breakfast is strange. Stick with the continental breakfast and eat everything but the pancake.

      For the price, I'm not sure you would find a better hotel in Cat Ba. The town is fairly run down and dated.

      • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank theanatoki
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

      We stayed here one night. It wasn't a totally horrid experience but there were a number of issues:

      - WiFi didn't really work in our room
      - room had a lot of water damage and mould on one wall
      - safe didn't work
      - magnetic door lock didn't work, had to fetch front desk staff and use the manual key the whole time

      It was also very noisy despite being up on the 10th floor. We were there during the national reunification holiday so it was unusually busy and crowded and we may have just gotten unlucky with our room.

      The breakfast had decent variety but the food was not great (seems to be a recurrent theme in Cat Ba unfortunately).

      The hotel is quite pricey despite all the issues so ultimately I wouldn't want to stay there again.

      Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
      1  Thank Ramesh D
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 22 April 2014

      We were impressed with the friendliness and to the point; assistance in all matters related to our stay on Cat Ba at this hotel. Tony Nguyen looked after any of our requests as if we were family. The hotel rooms and views were perfect for what was offered. This was our second trip back to our vacation from the vacation and because of the help provided via Tony and the staff we were able to make full use of the time spent on this lovely island getaway. We do prefer the off season traveling as it gives us more time with the locals. If going to Cat Ba, be sure to see Tony at the Sea pearl hotel for all your needs

      Room Tip: Facing the harbor gives the best views of course!
      • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      3  Thank V1775UZMichael_S
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Ha N, Manager at Sea Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

      Dear Michale & family
      Thank you so much for joining us and gave us your reviews on your trip. Have a good time and see you again.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews