We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a breakfast place”
Review of Green Catba

Green Catba
Ranked #18 of 50 Restaurants in Cat Ba
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Description: Green Catba hotel & restaurant
Restaurant details
Description: Green Catba hotel & restaurant
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
170 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“not a breakfast place”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I went here for breakfast and ordered fried eggs with sausage. I also tried to get some extra toast with it, but that didn't really work out. In the end I had two separate dishes, of which I politely rejected one.
The food itself was nothing special. A already cold toast, 2 normal fried eggs and a tiny sausage. The Ice Coffee sadly wasn't made with real vietnamese coffee. Probably with Nescafe instead.
I wouldn't go here again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect for backpackers”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Exactly what you crave for after a long time traveling. Fresh juices, pancakes, sweets, nice coffee and a range of western dishes in a very welcoming atmosphere makes it THE best cafe in cat ba! The female owner is also interessting to chat with! We loooved it!

Helpful?
2 Thank arck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“backpackers' paradise”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

the lovely owner and her family run the place very clean and provide all the drinks and food you have dreamed of for a long time, since on travel. huge range of smoothies and fresh juices as well as burgers and pizza for those who have cravings! fantastic place! definitely worth an award!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pho”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stopped here for a quick lunch one day. They make a great Pho! Nice location too, close the the hotels and main street.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NB_climber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Took our order, then refused to cook”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This was a new one: they seated us as one other family dined, took our order, the other family finished and left, then the waiter returned a while later to tell us that they were too busy so would not be able to cook the food we had ordered 20 minutes before. There was NO ONE ELSE THERE and the restaurant can probably seat at least 30. We were incredulous, but it was clear we weren't getting any food or further explanation.

On the way out, we saw that they were setting a large table for 15+ downstairs, though the group had not yet arrived. I guess they wanted all hands on deck for the large party that would be coming?

One fundamental thing I look for in a restaurant is that they will take an order, then cook the food that was ordered. This place seems much better at the former than the latter. If all I wanted was to order food and not eat it, I wouldn't waste time going to places with kitchens.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aw215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Catba also viewed

 

Been to Green Catba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing