We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views but some issues”
Review of Hotel Phu Thanh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Phu Thanh
Ranked #5 of 77 Cat Ba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Firstly you can't beat the view from the room (we were on the top floor and paid $10/night at end of December) and the room was big with a balcony and two beds. Water was hot if low pressure (but hey top floor). Beds are hard with small sheets and not enough bedding for this time of year. Owner speaks English, other staff do not which is fine but they are quite inattentive. The reason I'm giving this place 3 stars is because the night before we left we got back at 10pm and the door was locked and the staff member asleep, only after ringing the phone while a Vietnamese couple hammered on the window for 10 minutes did he wake up and was obviously completely drunk. If that sort of incident doesn't bother you then this place is worth a look but I'd also explore other options.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MelodiousMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

We decided to stay on Cat Ba for 1 night after cruising Halong Bay. We stumbled upon Hotel Phu Thanh, and liked that it had balconies. We paid only $12 USD for the night. The room was large, and we had a million dollar view from our balcony. The staff was not very attentive but everything else was great. Super close to everything, and walking distance from the pier. We plan on going back to Cat Ba next year, and will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: All of the balcony rooms facing the water appear to be excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed here one week in late March. As this is the off-season Cat Ba, and the hotel, didn't have many visitors. That being said the weather was very good during the entire stay. I was given a room in the front of the hotel. There was a balcony with an excellent view of the bay. The rooms are large and have a large LCD television with satellite channels. The price is excellent at 200,000 D per night. The owner can arrange scooter rentals and tours although there are numerous people who do the same in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in front have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I spent two nights here in a comfortable room (two queen size beds) with flat screen TV and a clean bathroom. Staff was very nice and helpful. Try to get a room with balcony as high as possible to overlook the bay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatSleepClimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Demandez une chambre avec balcon et vue mer, ça vaut la peine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank H T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank NINETA_BDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cat Ba hotels
0.7 mi away
Catba Sunrise Resort
Catba Sunrise Resort
#1 of 21 in Cat Ba
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Monkey Island Resort
Monkey Island Resort
#9 of 21 in Cat Ba
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Pearl Hotel
Sea Pearl Hotel
#8 of 21 in Cat Ba
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catba Palace Hotel
Catba Palace Hotel
#4 of 21 in Cat Ba
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phu Thanh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phu Thanh

Address: So 176 Duong 1/4, Cat Ba, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Cat Ba
Price Range: £8 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Phu Thanh 1*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing