We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed in room 1210 from 27 to 29 June. Our room has good view but we have a lot problems.”
Review of Holiday View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday View Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Cat Ba
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
1 review
“We stayed in room 1210 from 27 to 29 June. Our room has good view but we have a lot problems.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed in room 1210 from 27 to 29. Our room has good view but we have a lot problems: The safety box and fan don't work, a lot of rubbishes under bed. The light in bathroom was broken. Hotel provides buffet breakfast but not much choice. In the peak season (Summer), hotel lobby is always dirty. We order lunch for group at 11:30 but we must be waited until 12:20.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svietnamtourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    31
    56
    39
    45
See reviews for
26
76
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Ok, where do I start. Yes this hotel has a great view, especially from the higher floors. Apart from that the rooms are dreadful.

As I write this review I am in the hotel lying on a bed that can only be described as rock hard. I now know what it's like to lay on a mortuary slab.

The room is dirty. The ensuite is worse. There is no shower cubicle. The shower comes out of the wall and essentially drenches the entire bathroom floor and the vanity area. I cannot describe how unpleasant it is if you need to use the toilet after a shower. Be prepared to walk thorough the pond that your bathroom has become. It would have been slightly better if the floor drain hadn't been clogged with enough hair to make a wig.

The room has floor boards. I have never seen such shoddy workmanship. You could lose a small child in the cracks between the floorboards.

It is currently quite cold here on Cat Ba. I turned on our reverse cycle air con. Oh my god, the noise! Is there an earthquake? No it is the compressor on the balcony attempting to self destruct. It is like a 747 is taking off on my balcony.

This is out fourth hotel so far on this trip to Vietnam. This is the first hotel that doesn't even provide one bottle of complimentary water. Considering the tap water will almost certainly give you dysentery I find this highly unusual if not downright offensive.

Can I say anything nice? Did I mention the nice view? Good location on an interesting little island.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank gman2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cat Ba hotels

Perth, WA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a Ha Long Bay tour. It was off season so it was very quiet. Room was old and in disrepair in many ways especially the ensuite. We had an evening meal and breakfast. I won't go into all the details but my best review summary here is:- The food was really good; eat here but don't stay here

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthAussieGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel 4 times 2 years ago and last month. Hotel staff were very polite and friendly. Although our room was large,the amenities of room were too old. The Television hardly worked. The hotel's restaurant has a great sea view if you take a seat outside.

Room Tip: a room with balcony sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nguyen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Nice enough hotel for average price. Power was out on the whole area when we arrived, and were told there would be no internet, tv or hot water for about three hours - however thank god the lifts worked (we were on the 6th floor) and there was plenty of hot water for showers. Nice spacious room with a great view of the bay from the balcony. Had two nights on the island - long enough as it's not that big. Hired a scooter and drove around for a day, visited the Hospital cave which is a must. Spent an afternoon on one of the two beaches and had a great massage. water was very calm and warm.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slaroche09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The room was large and reasonably clean, although fittings were a bit outdated. The bed mattress was old and a bit hard (but that was the usual standard in old asian hotels). The aircon and the tv set did not work when we arrived but were promptly fixed upon our complaint. The staff were very helpful. The view of the Catba bay was excellent. Breakfast was copious and excellent and you could sit outside, on the large terrace of the breakfast room. The hotel lobby is large and elegant and it also hosts a bank agency so you could change your money conveniently and safely. There were a few things we were not entirely happy about: 1) in the evening, there was loud noise for hours from the speakers of a resort down the road, despite all our windows being kept shut. 2) the room key was the old metallic key and we were a bit scared when someone tried to enter our room by inserting a key into the lock of our room, without knocking on our door, when were were inside. The corridor was also dimly lit. The hotel was large so a lot of unknown people could come and go. 3) you have to pay by the hour if you want to use the PCs downstairs to access the internet. Wifi in the room was weak.
But overall, we were still happy about our stay. This was the 2nd time we stayed at this hotel because we loved the location, especially after dark when you could walk up and down the main street and have an excellent choice of restaurants. Some shops could be open until midnight. Note that there are similar and probably cheaper hotels nearby. So you could shop around if you want a cheaper room rate.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room that is not exposed to the late evening noise from the loud speakers of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberquest2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

At $45 in low season, we expected a lot both from the staff and the room. Sadly this was not to be.
The wifi in the room only worked (on one bar) if you stood right by the front door.
The bed was so hard and uncomfortable, the shower curtain in the bathroom was mouldy and the toilet took half an hour to re-fil. We were also annoyed that the room safe was broken.

The worst thing about ourstay was the unfriendly staff. It was very clear that we were not the clientel they wanted in their hotel.

We have now moved to a hotel just down the road that costs 1/3rd of the price and honestly can beat the Holiday View Hotel on every level.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkyaustralia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cat Ba hotels
0.2 mi away
Catba Palace Hotel
Catba Palace Hotel
#2 of 19 in Cat Ba
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catba Sunrise Resort
Catba Sunrise Resort
#1 of 19 in Cat Ba
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gieng Ngoc Hotel
Gieng Ngoc Hotel
#13 of 19 in Cat Ba
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Pearl Hotel
Sea Pearl Hotel
#9 of 19 in Cat Ba
186 reviews
1.9 mi away
Monkey Island Resort
Monkey Island Resort
#7 of 19 in Cat Ba
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday View Hotel

Property: Holiday View Hotel
Address: Road 1/4, Cat Ba, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday View Cat Ba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing