We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Omapere
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Hotel is lovely, gorgeous spot, we were lucky with the weather......totally picturesque . Very comfy & relaxed stay....unfortunately only 1 night. :-(
Value for money ! Sunset from verandah of hotel is stunning, nice walks in area.
Staff all good, bartender the standout.....all friendly & helpful

Room Tip: We had the basic garden studio including full breakfast, still good rooms with outlook to private co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Kia ora Vikki H

We are lucky to live in such a beautiful part of the country. Thanks for your review Vikki, we would love for you to return, but this time for a couple of nights. With Summer coming, those sunsets just get better.

Regards
Pip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    210
    97
    28
    6
See reviews for
103
320
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
276 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Gorgeous spot. The hotel is clean, comfortable and well maintained, inside and out. The beds are comfy, the wifi free, bathrooms well appointed. We were pleasantly surprised at the attentive and professional staff, most particularly 'Vavece' (I hope I spelt it correctly). She was so eager that our stay be a good one, we noticed she treated every guest with the same level of service. A real asset to the business.
The food was of high quality and there was great variety on the menu.
The waterfront position is magic.
If I was to be picky, I would say ditch the shower curtains in favour of doors and the breakfast bain maries need their temperatures checked as both mornings the food was too cool. A guest at another table made the same comment to her husband.
All in all though we will definitely back.

Room Tip: Try to get a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Kia ora Leanne L

Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful feedback.
Service is extremely important and it is great to hear that you were looked after, the way you should be. I have taken your comments about the breakfast, on board and am working through a number of changes in this area.
Leanne, we look forward to you coming back to the Hokianga.

Regards
pip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tauranga
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A sea view, the sound of waves, wind, and northland peace and quiet. These are in abundance here

This is a NZ equivalent of the middle of nowhere, but is worth the drive.
Pick a time when it is not busy, and really relax

Yes the hotel is a little tired in placed, but they are working on it, the staff are friendly, and there are true bargains to be had, whatever your room preference.

We went for the motel style unit, with nothing but grass and sea infront of us...and loved it.

Room Tip: get the waterfront rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Kia ora joe w,
Thank you for your comments. If you want to relax, Hokianga really is a good place to unwind. Hokianga has it's own pace, similar to that of Rarotonga - no one hurries.
I am pleased to say that we are almost there with our refurbishing of the rooms. The self contained units that you stayed in, have just been painted, have new carpet, new kitchen fittings, a large flat screen tv and we are just waiting for the new furniture to arrive.

When you need some time out, you know where we are.

Regards
Pip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is s stunning hotel - we had a beautiful unit which opened up onto a large grassed area and then carried on to the beach - the view was seamless. The food was excellent. But overall, it was so peaceful and just a beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Kia ora Margaret,
Many thanks for your review. You are quite right, the Hokianga is a quiet and peaceful place. It is a great place to unwind and take some time out, relax, rejuvenate and unwind. However, once you have recharged your batteries, there are some brilliant activities people can enjoy.

We would love to have you back at the hotel Margaret.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have just had 2 very pleasant nights here, great staff, The room was very good with a nice big bathroom . The room rate we paid was very reasonable especially compared to the night before in Auckland & the meals we had were great, Breakfast was included in the room rate

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taupomotorsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Kia ora Taupomotorsport

Thank you for staying with us . We would love to see you back in the Hokianga. At this time of the year and even more so in Winter time, we do offer some fabulous rates.

Regards
Pip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

From the first conversations by phone through to our farewell, the staff were outstanding.
We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the restful ahua of the place and it's surround. The rooms were spacious, well fitted out and views ( we paid extra for a waterview room) amazing.
Breakfast... Yum, nothing fancy, but just a great selection of fruit and cooked items, the tea and coffee in rooms included a plunger coffee and a great selection of teas. NO mini bar- a plus from our point of view as we used the fridge for lunch items etc.
Walking and driving to Rawene, walking the broad walk through the mangroves, up to the magnificent kauri standard and talking to the great staff there. So sad to see the kauri die back that we have heard about on TV... Hope our fabulous scientist and can unravel this mystery.
The continually changing vista, the beautiful harbour, and majestic sand hills, the power of a storm as a front whistled through, the contrasting stillness of the morning with the sun not eh water, a unique piece of NZ , we will be back to fish off the wharf and enjoy this magic place again soon.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for a water view, the upstairs rooms have higher ceilings and feel more spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suep61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Kia ora Suep61

We really look forward to seeing you back in the Hokianga to share our little piece of paradise. It really is a special place, still very untouched.
Simplicity is the newest luxury.

Thanks so much for staying with us.

Pip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
1,025 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed in April and had a wonderful room on the top floor. The room had a very comfy king and was large and clean. The restaurant down stairs is amazing and was excellent. I has oysters and a steak and the wife same with fish. Sunset views to die for.
The staff were friendly and facilities what we wanted, quite, clean and scenic. I loved the private balcony and setting outside.
We had a fantastic stay and I could not fault at all. I think big tour groups go through there so when that happens could get rowdy so check when booking. Recommend a room on top floor facing sea,
Thank you

Room Tip: Top Floor away from Resaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are very lucky to have such a superb location. The views are indeed stunning.
We do get some tour groups but not a great as we are a small hotel and cater for smaller groups. Since your stay with us, we have been working through a major refurbishment which is very exciting.

We would love to have you back in the Hokianga.

Regards
Pip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omapere
2.1 mi away
Opononi Hotel Limited
Opononi Hotel Limited
#1 of 2 in Opononi
105 reviews
1.8 mi away
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
2.6 mi away
Waiotemarama Falls Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park
23.7 mi away
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
#3 of 12 in Dargaville
61 reviews
18.3 mi away
Birdsnest Holiday Home
Birdsnest Holiday Home
#7 of 12 in Dargaville
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
Address: State Highway 12 | Omapere, South Hokianga, Omapere, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Omapere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Omapere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Hokianga
Copthorne Hotel Hokianga
Copthorne Hotel Omapere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing