We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Waipoua Lodge(Waipoua Forest)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
YHA Ahipara(Ahipara)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loredo Motel(Kaitaia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
220
240
109
33
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
240
109
33
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssand dunesnew zealandstunning locationsuperior roomharbour entrancewine listan upgradeoverlooking the waterno air condinner menuamazing viewslittle thingslarge roomkauri foresta great place to staygreat roomlovely spot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 611 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Hotel is lovely, gorgeous spot, we were lucky with the weather......totally picturesque . Very comfy & relaxed stay....unfortunately only 1 night. :-(
Value for money ! Sunset from verandah of hotel is stunning, nice walks in area.
Staff all good, bartender the standout.....all friendly & helpful

Room Tip: We had the basic garden studio including full breakfast, still good rooms with outlook to private courtyard & from there a glimpse of harbour.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Kia ora Vikki H

We are lucky to live in such a beautiful part of the country. Thanks for your review Vikki, we would love for you to return, but this time for a couple of nights. With Summer coming, those sunsets just get better.

Regards
Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Gorgeous spot. The hotel is clean, comfortable and well maintained, inside and out. The beds are comfy, the wifi free, bathrooms well appointed. We were pleasantly surprised at the attentive and professional staff, most particularly 'Vavece' (I hope I spelt it correctly). She was so eager that our stay be a good one, we noticed she treated every guest with the same level of service. A real asset to the business.
The food was of high quality and there was great variety on the menu.
The waterfront position is magic.
If I was to be picky, I would say ditch the shower curtains in favour of doors and the breakfast bain maries need their temperatures checked as both mornings the food was too cool. A guest at another table made the same comment to her husband.
All in all though we will definitely back.

Room Tip: Try to get a waterfront room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Kia ora Leanne L

Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful feedback.
Service is extremely important and it is great to hear that you were looked after, the way you should be. I have taken your comments about the breakfast, on board and am working through a number of changes in this area.
Leanne, we look forward to you coming back to the Hokianga.

Regards
pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A sea view, the sound of waves, wind, and northland peace and quiet. These are in abundance here

This is a NZ equivalent of the middle of nowhere, but is worth the drive.
Pick a time when it is not busy, and really relax

Yes the hotel is a little tired in placed, but they are working on it, the staff are friendly, and there are true bargains to be had, whatever your room preference.

We went for the motel style unit, with nothing but grass and sea infront of us...and loved it.

Room Tip: get the waterfront rooms!!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Kia ora joe w,
Thank you for your comments. If you want to relax, Hokianga really is a good place to unwind. Hokianga has it's own pace, similar to that of Rarotonga - no one hurries.
I am pleased to say that we are almost there with our refurbishing of the rooms. The self contained units that you stayed in, have just been painted, have new carpet, new kitchen fittings, a large flat screen tv and we are just waiting for the new furniture to arrive.

When you need some time out, you know where we are.

Regards
Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is s stunning hotel - we had a beautiful unit which opened up onto a large grassed area and then carried on to the beach - the view was seamless. The food was excellent. But overall, it was so peaceful and just a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Kia ora Margaret,
Many thanks for your review. You are quite right, the Hokianga is a quiet and peaceful place. It is a great place to unwind and take some time out, relax, rejuvenate and unwind. However, once you have recharged your batteries, there are some brilliant activities people can enjoy.

We would love to have you back at the hotel Margaret.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have just had 2 very pleasant nights here, great staff, The room was very good with a nice big bathroom . The room rate we paid was very reasonable especially compared to the night before in Auckland & the meals we had were great, Breakfast was included in the room rate

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taupomotorsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Kia ora Taupomotorsport

Thank you for staying with us . We would love to see you back in the Hokianga. At this time of the year and even more so in Winter time, we do offer some fabulous rates.

Regards
Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews