We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
Nearby Hotels
US$84
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Waipoua Lodge(Waipoua Forest)
US$415
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loredo Motel(Kaitaia)
US$87
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay of Islands Country Lodge Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerikeri Park Lodge(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauri Park Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$113
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
220
240
109
33
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
240
109
33
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssand dunesnew zealandstunning locationsuperior roomharbour entrancewine listan upgradeoverlooking the waterno air condinner menuamazing viewslittle thingslarge roomkauri foresta great place to staygreat roomlovely spot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 611 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I shared a beachfront unit with my parents for my birthday. The rooms was not bad. The kitchen was relatively new but the sofas are bit worn. I could see a few areas were the hotel need some maintenance.

The pool was great and surprisingly deep. The water was so sparkly and clear

The restaurant for both dinner and breakfast was very good. The staff sang happy birthday to me when the cake was brought out

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Hi Edward,
Thanks for celebrating your birthday at our hotel. Your comments regarding the furniture were quite correct. I am happy to report that we have just refurnished the majority of our rooms.
The 2 bedroom beachfront units are now amazing.
We have also totally new furniture on our expansive deck over looking the harbour. A great place to have dinner or just relax with a drink.

We would love to see you back Edward.

Regards
Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

What a beautiful place right on the beachfront with views across the harbour to huge sand dunes. This great experience is and made more so by the friendly and obliging staff right from reception,room staff, waiting staff and management - even the gardener gave us cuttings of two plants to take home that we admired - just exceptional. The food was also outstanding we had intended to eat out of the hotel on two nights but ended eating in all three nights as it was so good. The restaurant also has stunning views over the harbour which is spectacular especially at sunset. The rooms are of a high standard apart from a disappointingly small shower, but we only had a standard room so as they say you get what you pay for. The pool is great and solar heated so was able to use even at this early spring time of year. The grounds are well cared for with plenty of room for children to play on the large lawns which run down to the beach in front of the resort

The Hokianga area is a must visit with lots of history and nature walks the nearby Kauri forest, the harbourside village of Rawene and the walk out on the point by the hotel are a must see. Also lovely cafes in Omapere and Rawene for the latte brigade.

The 4% charge for credit card use was a negative at departure time. Why oh why do some places do this, just add it to the room rate then it is not a negative experience.

Room Tip: Definately pick a water view room we will next time it is worth the extra.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BASSA-DI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Kia ora BADD15

Thank you for your detailed review. I appreciate your comments regarding the credit card costs on departure and also your suggestion of building it in to room rates. That does make a lot of sense. Since your stay with us, we have new furniture in our rooms and fabulous new outdoor furniture on our balconies and decks.
We would love to see you back again.

Regards
Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We spent a weekend here and had no idea that it was going to be so lovely.

It really was resort style accommodation and as we love Fiji we felt that this was as good as!

Lovely grounds, great location, good service both for the rooms at in the restaurant. Will definitely recommend!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view so take your pick.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gormoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place to unwind , staff are so welcoming and warm. Make sure you experience the nighttime bush walk to see the massive Kauri trees when you're there - hard to explain but lonely planet rates it very highly for very good reason !!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel has rooms on the beach, just a Lawn then the sand and water.
Its like having a private beach at your door
With a pier which you can fish from or enjoy the sound of the sea.
The room are well set up with a small round table in the room and a large deck with another table and chairs.
Breakfast was included in the room rate, which only average, but a nice view over the swimming pool which looks out to sea, you can also have breakfast on the large deck area outside, weather permitting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Still49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thanks for staying with us. We would love to have you back again. The weather is amazing and we have just put a lot of new furniture into hotel.

Thanks also for your comments regarding breakfast. I will look into it and see what we can do to improve.

Regards
Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews