We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best motel our of all 20 so far in NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motueka Garden Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Motueka
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best motel our of all 20 so far in NZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

We've stayed at around 20 motels in New Zealand so far and this was without a doubt the best. All the rooms must have recently been renovated because everything is brand new and modern. The staff were really helpful and went the extra mile.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theengelbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    24
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
30
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

I recently stayed here while in Motueka for business. I stayed in the studio room, which was less than $100 a night. The room was quite small but perfect for my needs, and they have a number of larger units as well. I was very happy with my choice, as the motel is situated just out of Motueka and the units are set well back from the road. It was very quiet and the room was comfortable.

The television is a smallish CRT but had a good selection of channels including Sky Sport 1 and 2. The bed was comfortable and the shower hot and powerful, which is always appreciated. The staff were friendly and non-intrusive and I was very happy with my stay. If I need to go to Motueka again I would stay there without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neomancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed 3 nights. The motel is in a quiet location, away from the busy main road and units located towards rear of property. Only a 1-2 minute drive into the centre of town. Being a bit noise sensitve, we were glad not to have booked one of the motels on the main road.

An older style motel but don't be put off by this - has heaps of outside space and beautiful gardens. Our unit had been renovated to a high standard, very comfortable and plenty of space, with separate bedroom, living area and adjacent kitchen. Very clean and unit equiped with everything we needed. Big plus was the covered carport area for the car. Good value for money. Great hosts, thanks Eric for your hospitality and helpful suggestions on local activities.

If we return to Motueka, would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 16 but plenty of different units to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18Beverly18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

A little bit out of the way but we were very impressed with the family unit we stayed in. Very clean and functional. Lots of space for the kids to run around and a pool and playground as well. Beautiful gardens also. Our host was very helpful and friendly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaRed40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paihia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Although down a side road and a bit hard to find it was worth it. Lovely 2 bedroom unit recently renovated, clean and tidy and suited our 2 elderly family travelling with us. Nice and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
0.9 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#3 of 4 in Motueka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Nautilus Lodge Motel
Nautilus Lodge Motel
#3 of 23 in Motueka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
5.7 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motueka Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motueka Garden Motel

Property: Motueka Garden Motel
Address: 71 King Edward Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motueka Garden Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motueka Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motueka Garden Motel New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing