We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalets @ Terraced Gardens
Ranked #5 of 24 Motueka B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I made a booking via their website a few weeks prior to our one-night stay here in April 2012 with my husband and in-laws. We had a friendly welcome with suggestions of what to see and do in the area before being taken to the chalet. On arrival, we found it to be spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with outdoor seating to enjoy the wonderful view of the surrounding gardens and hills, a well-equipped kitchenette and even a bowl of fresh fruit from the neighbours' orchards to enjoy.
We had a great dinner at the local pub down the road, but you may want to consider stocking up at the supermarket in Motueka if you'll be here more than a couple of nights and don't want to drive as there are limited eating options within walking distance.
Otherwise this is a great place to stay if you want peace and quiet. I wish we could have spent more time here, and would be happy to recommend it to family and friends visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim052, Owner at Chalets @ Terraced Gardens, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review, especially such a good one, it is much appreciated. I will convey your comments about the wonderful food at the local Riwaka Hotel to the manager there, cheers Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed for three nights as part of a three month tour of New Zealand. The chalets were absolutely superb as were the owners who went the extra mile to ensure our stay was really enjoyable.

The chalet was extremely comfortable and the facilities excellent. The chalets are on a smallholding with superb views and a really peaceful location. You are well positioned for travelling round the Abel Tasman area from here and we would thoroughly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All chalets are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim052, Owner at Chalets @ Terraced Gardens, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We continuously try to provide an enjoyable experience of New Zealand hospitality for our customers and their appreciation enriches our experience as hosts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in March 2012 and we wished we could have stayed here longer. The service was great. We arrived late in the evening and they were ever so accommodating. They called the kayak company so that we knew what we had to do the next day for our kayaking trip. They gave us access to the internet (for free!!!) on the office computer when we had an issue that needed addressing urgently. They do provide free wifi but we did not have anything to use it on. Nothing seemed to be too much hassle for the lovely owner.

The chalet itself was lovely, one of the best we stayed in during our 3 week trip of NZ. It was large and spacious, clean and very well presented and it had the most comfortable bed of our whole trip. Its excellent value for money and it's nicely out of the way so that you get to feel like your really on holiday with a great Kiwi family. I highly recommend it

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed at Chalets@Terraced Gardens for 4 nights in mid February and were very impressed. Upon our arrival, we were taken to our chalet by our host and given clear guidance about how its facilities worked. She also gave us lots of information about local activities.
Our chalet had a wonderful view towards Takaka Mountain and Abel Tasman Bay in the distance. The accommodation is modern and well equipped. It is also spacious and has a lovely balcony affording splendid views over the fruit-growing area of the property and beyond. We were delighted with the fact that there were only two other chalets and we appreciated the personal touch which we received throughout our stay. There is no wi-fi in the chalet but we were given free access to it in the office and surrounding area.
We used this accommodation as a base to visit Golden Bay which is a wonderful drive over Takaka Mountain. We also travelled to Cape Farewell and Wharariki Beach, a long but very fulfilling day. From the accommodation to Kaiteriteri it is a journey of about 15 minutes and from there you can pick a cruise along the coast of the Abel Tasman National Park and then walk to a picking-up place later on in the day. We found the Wilson's trip suited us best and felt it was good value at NZ$74 each for a cruise along the full length of the Abel Tasman NP. Motueka is the closest town and this has a good supermarket for self-catering and a very helpful Tourist Information Office.
The whole area is mild and protected to some extent from the worst of the weather but do expect some rain!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasonedtravellers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim052, Owner at Chalets @ Terraced Gardens, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a full and informative review for future visitors. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful scenic area and that you got to all the different local areas that could be described as "the true New Zealand" - nature at its very best, cheers Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I'm from Tuscany and finding around the world a place like the sceneries around Motueka, so similar to the Tuscany ones, it's almost impossible. These chalets offer unique sceneries of the countryside and the sea near Abel Tasman National Park. Moreover, the chalets are great, comfortable and perfect to relax. It's 5 minutes driving from Kaiteriteri, where all the tours for Abel Tasman leave. Go there if you are near Motueka!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexWiller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The facilities and views are good. One thing to improve is having no Internet Wifi in the Chalet. But no complains as the price is really reasonable and the owners are very nice, making sure I know how to operate everything before She goes. The best accommodation experience in my whole two week trip in NZ.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmzhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim052, Owner at Chalets @ Terraced Gardens, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Thank you for your great review kmzhao.
Telecomm NZ only provides cable broadband to the main
residence on a property, but we have to install a modem router to broadcast a WiFi signal.
We have the latest long range N600 plus have added the latest range extender
to improve the signal which is very strong in the reception and adjacent parking
and garden area but will not reach the extra 50 metre further up the hill to the chalets.
I have set up desks in the office which is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week so that visitors
can access the free wifi there at any time. cheers Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was great. A beautiful, quiet location. 15 minutes to Abel Tasman National Park and 10 minutes into town.
The Chalets are very comfortable, modern, spacious and have great beds. The hosts are very friendy and do know a lot about the Abel Tasman region.
If we go back one day, we will stay a the Chalets @ Terraced Gardens for sure!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Motueka hotels
4.0 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
505 reviews
3.4 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
4.3 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#2 of 4 in Motueka
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#4 of 4 in Motueka
125 reviews
3.5 mi away
Nautilus Lodge Motel
Nautilus Lodge Motel
#4 of 24 in Motueka
118 reviews
4.6 mi away
Abbey Court Motel
Abbey Court Motel
#3 of 24 in Motueka
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets @ Terraced Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets @ Terraced Gardens

Property: Chalets @ Terraced Gardens
Address: 133 Dehra Doon Road | Riwaka RD3, Motueka 7198, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chalets @ Terraced Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the scenic beauty of the real New Zealand in the Riwaka Valley Ten minute drive to Abel Tasman National Park (NZ Great Coastal Walks)and Kaiteriteri Beach and Motueka Town. Newly built and opened December 2008, Chalets at Terraced Gardens are three self-contained, self catering, air-conditioned/heated chalets in a garden setting, high on the hill with stunning, panoramic views of the mountains and Tasman Bay from your own private deck. Peaceful and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalets @ Terraced Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalets @ Terraced Gardens Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing