We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In one word: perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalets @ Terraced Gardens
Ranked #5 of 24 Motueka B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 December 2012

A beautiful location, green, lush and serene and the chalet is just as nice as its surroundings. Clean and new-looking, high-quality linen, towels and kitchen utensils and the views are fantastic. The amusing pair of quail chasing each other all over the place are an added bonus. Thanks Kim, we would love to return and for more than one night next time!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hila5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim052, Owner at Chalets @ Terraced Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

How wonderful that you enjoyed our local home grown produce and your stay with us. We take pride in growing everything organically and spray free and it is a joy to be able to share it with our visitors. cheers Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Chalets @ Terraced Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

Thanks to Kim, for being a great host. We even bought her own-grown macadamia nuts. They really taste great. Kim has also offered to help us made our bookings for some sight tours. She always tried to make or fulfill your request if possible. The interior of the cottage are clean and nice. I recommended those who want to stay away from the centre of the city and prefer a quiet rest. If you drive, you can also park your car just outside your cottage.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saggits_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

There are only 3 chalets at this property which sits elevated on a hill quite a way behind the host's residence and farmland, with great views looking towards the tasman bay. Very peaceful and tranquil location. Our chalet was well presented with a queen size bed, great linen (more luxuries that your average motel/hotel set up), well stocked kitchen, large flat screen TV, sofa bed and a clean and tidy ensuite bathroom. Parking is just outside the chalets. There is also a small veranda with table and chairs, great place for breakfast in the morning on a good day overlooking the mountains, farmland and of course the bay.

This is definitely a lot more than you would normally expect from a out of town farm out house. Kim (our host) was friendly, helpful and gave us a really good overview on the area. We got it for such a steal on booking.com too. Very highly recommended, forget staying in town, make this your base when visiting the tasman region.

Room Tip: All chalets are essentially the same.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dynamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I stayed at the chalets for one night after crossing from the north island. They are nicely off the beaten track, and off the main road, in Riwaka just north of Motueka. Self-contained, clean and quiet, deck facing towards the coast and wonderful surrounding countryside, and a great host who made me feel at home straight away. Don't expect 3G here, or to hear the sound of traffic. I was passing through but this would make a great base to escape the tourist train and explore Abel Tasman.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ringspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim052, Owner at Chalets @ Terraced Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our chalets, we appreciate your positive response. I am please to say that we have now been able to extend the free WiFi up to the chalets, cheers Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Really nice little chalets on a fruit farm. Excellent views from your balcony. Very peaceful location - a nice change from town centre accomodation. Wish I could have stayed here longer - very relaxing. Owner is very friendly and helpful. Chalets very clean. A car would be a must here however.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCGAyrshire_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at the Chalets for two nights in February 2012. I originally found out about the Chalets via Trip Advisor, and the Chalets more than exceeded our expectations.

What is special about the chalets, apart from Kim's fantastic reception and service, is the location, with each chalet being private, surrounded by Avocado bushes; Lemon trees; Macadamia nut bushes ... wow.

The chalets are excellent value for money; very conveniently located and the view - although distant - is great. We would go back any time and indeed plan to do so.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I made a booking via their website a few weeks prior to our one-night stay here in April 2012 with my husband and in-laws. We had a friendly welcome with suggestions of what to see and do in the area before being taken to the chalet. On arrival, we found it to be spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with outdoor seating to enjoy the wonderful view of the surrounding gardens and hills, a well-equipped kitchenette and even a bowl of fresh fruit from the neighbours' orchards to enjoy.
We had a great dinner at the local pub down the road, but you may want to consider stocking up at the supermarket in Motueka if you'll be here more than a couple of nights and don't want to drive as there are limited eating options within walking distance.
Otherwise this is a great place to stay if you want peace and quiet. I wish we could have spent more time here, and would be happy to recommend it to family and friends visiting the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim052, Owner at Chalets @ Terraced Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review, especially such a good one, it is much appreciated. I will convey your comments about the wonderful food at the local Riwaka Hotel to the manager there, cheers Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
14.7 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
4.0 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
507 reviews
3.5 mi away
Nautilus Lodge Motel
Nautilus Lodge Motel
#4 of 24 in Motueka
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#2 of 4 in Motueka
65 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
398 reviews
4.6 mi away
Abbey Court Motel
Abbey Court Motel
#2 of 24 in Motueka
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets @ Terraced Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets @ Terraced Gardens

Address: 133 Dehra Doon Road | Riwaka RD3, Motueka 7198, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range: £49 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chalets @ Terraced Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the scenic beauty of the real New Zealand in the Riwaka Valley Ten minute drive to Abel Tasman National Park (NZ Great Coastal Walks)and Kaiteriteri Beach and Motueka Town. Newly built and opened December 2008, Chalets at Terraced Gardens are three self-contained, self catering, air-conditioned/heated chalets in a garden setting, high on the hill with stunning, panoramic views of the mountains and Tasman Bay from your own private deck. Peaceful and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalets @ Terraced Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalets @ Terraced Gardens Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing