We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best night we spent on the West coast ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chalets @ Terraced Gardens
Ranked #5 of 24 Motueka B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best night we spent on the West coast ”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Booked here last minute after scrubbing our camping plans due to rain. Simply phenomenal! We loved everything about this place. For the price it was incredible. Kim is super nice and the chalet was well decorated and quite cozy.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spf3million
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim052, Owner at Chalets @ Terraced Gardens, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for staying with us. We are delighted that our weather has returned to its usual spring sunshine and hope that you are enjoying the same on the rest of your trip to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Fantastic quiet rural location within easy reach of Abel Tasman national park and Motueka. The chalet was very well equipped and thoughtfully laid out with every convenience, including free unlimited wifi. A very comfortable base. Kim and John were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. This place is great value. Quite honestly we couldn't believe our good luck.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our chalet in the mountains. lovely owner, very clean modern chalet with full cooking facilities and close to the centre. it was a great base to explore the nearby attractions. loved it!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank england12320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We found Chalets @ Terraced Gardens to be very clean, extremely comfortable and very well equipped for the self catered traveler. The surrounding area is beautiful and an excellent location for exploring Abel Tasman. Kim the owner was incredibly helpful and friendly and our only regret was that we only booked 2 nights here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise-Ivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Spent 3 nights there and is was well worth the money. Very friendly and helpful owners. We bought some of their home made tomato chutney and it was delicious. As it is a bit outside Riwaka you would need a car to get there, but those who are looking for a quiet place to stay it's perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delfi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Our chalet was clean, comfortable and spacious with a nice closet and drawers. The setting was marvelous, deck wonderful and kitchen had all needed necessities. Kim, the owner, was gracious, resourceful and saved our day from a rained out disaster by finding wonderful activities for us nearby. She even did our laundry. I can not disagree with the previous reviewer enough. We wished we could have stayed longer and our sheets were just fine. And I am a fussy world traveler.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aligold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Spent 3 nights here, wanted to leave after 15 mins. Dirty floor (pubic hairs) when I wiped the floor with a damp paper towel it was filthy, fridge handle was disgusting, half empty milk left in it. Horrible cheap rough sheets, we had to go buy pillows because I wasn't sleeping on those. No luggage rack, no space to keep hard case luggage open even if I wanted to leave it open in there. Fridge kept me up when I finally had enough to drink the second night to forget where I was sleeping. Pro: Quiet, Good BBQ area and Good Shower Pressure. Big disappointment. A good cleaning and better linens would bring this place up a notch.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPF04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim052, Owner at Chalets @ Terraced Gardens, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
When I take each guest, personally, to the chalets to show them the facilities I make sure to tell them to come to see me if there is anything else they need or any problems, so I am at a loss to understand why you did not approach me once in three days even though we live on site and are cleaning every day. My husband and I clean the chalets thoroughly after each guest, including vacuuming and mopping, and I double check everything but we could certainly would have re-cleaned the room immediately if only you had told me instead of waiting to write a review.
I have just recently bought several sets of new sheets (250 thread count) but could have easily replaced them, again, if I had known, and also will discontinue their use in case any other guest might find them uncomfortable. The chalets are the maximum size allowable by our local council, and have accommodated four people, at 35sqm they are certainly larger than most hotels and motels. We have opted to have a wardrobe rather than a luggage rack and a full sized sofa and side table for comfort, although there is certainly still room for an open case.
Again I am sorry that you were dissappointed with your stay and can only wish that I had been given the opportunity to make everything perfect for you when you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
4.0 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
499 reviews
4.3 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#4 of 4 in Motueka
64 reviews
3.4 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
390 reviews
4.0 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#3 of 4 in Motueka
124 reviews
3.7 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets @ Terraced Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets @ Terraced Gardens

Property: Chalets @ Terraced Gardens
Address: 133 Dehra Doon Road | Riwaka RD3, Motueka 7198, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chalets @ Terraced Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the scenic beauty of the real New Zealand in the Riwaka Valley Ten minute drive to Abel Tasman National Park (NZ Great Coastal Walks)and Kaiteriteri Beach and Motueka Town. Newly built and opened December 2008, Chalets at Terraced Gardens are three self-contained, self catering, air-conditioned/heated chalets in a garden setting, high on the hill with stunning, panoramic views of the mountains and Tasman Bay from your own private deck. Peaceful and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalets @ Terraced Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalets @ Terraced Gardens Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing