We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place to stay, views, hospitality, food all top notch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Awatea Tasman Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Awatea Tasman Bay
Ranked #1 of 23 Motueka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sunland, ca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay, views, hospitality, food all top notch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying in the cottage for 3 nights after driving around the South Island for 2 weeks. What a great place to unwind from all that driving & sight seeing. We didn't leave the first day at all, just happy to relax in such a nice environment. We BBQ'ed on the deck, sat in the spa, read & enjoyed looking out over the valley.

As mentioned by some other guests, we also had quite a lot of wood creaking during the nights but otherwise everything was perfect. Those provided ear plugs are helpful for those that may want/need them.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchpetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
We are really pleased that you enjoyed relaxing in our Cottage and taking a soak in our outdoor spa pool. And thank you for your nice review and the great conversation over breakfast in the sunshine.

The all-natural timber construction of our Cottage and Bed & Breakfast can sometimes make some noises at night that people may not be used to – especially if you are a light sleeper – so it’s good to know that the earplugs we have on hand were just the thing you needed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
103
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have stayed in many vacation rentals around the world and this one is hands down THE BEST of the Best. From the moment you drive up and notice the whimsical road signs on the driveway I was impressed. Then at the top of the drive we found the carefully manicured parking spaces. The cottage has all the boxes checked. The view is spectacular, but the cottage amenities allow you to enjoy both the view and area's attractions with "no worries". Scott met us and proceeded to grind our coffee for our stay. How's that for service. Then we found that they have screens on the windows (almost unheard of in New Zealand). Then after he brought our bags into the bedroom I realized they had their own little nook and just when I was thinking, "A light would be nice." I noticed, you guessed it, not a light, but two one on each side, so you can actually see what is in your bags. What a delightful place. As others have commented we wish we had stayed longer than our four nights. There is plenty to see and do in the area, so don't cut yourself short, book a week (at least) in the Cottage and give our best to Scott and Jon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug95682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for such high praise and noticing the little extra details that helped make your stay in our Cottage such a delight. We, like you, have travelled extensively and always try to pick up on what makes staying in a place enjoyable, and then we apply those ideas to our own accommodation when we can. And we couldn’t agree more about your comment to stay longer – but in your case it just means that there are still plenty of things to do and see when you come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in the cottage, breathtaking views, great charm and comfort. This is the best cottage we have ever stayed in- and we are well travelled. Just sitting on the verandah in the mornings and evenings was a delight. John and Scott are great hosts. Our only regret was that we should have stayed longer -there is so much to enjoy in the area. We will put this right in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestonTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and for staying with us in our charming and comfortable Cottage!

Yes we agree, four nights, or three full days, is hardly enough time to explore our stunning area, just as you experienced; one or two day walks in Abel Tasman National Park then maybe a walk from Flora Hut to Arthur’s Hut in Kahurangi National Park leaves no time to meander the quaint village of Takaka or the wonderful (shorter) walks around Pupu Springs and The Grove in Golden Bay, or a day trip to Nelson to see the WOW (World of Wearable art) museum, or perhaps a round of golf (we do have a set of clubs you can borrow) at the Tasman and Motueka golf courses.

So do come back and stay a bit longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I were fortunate enough to stay 3 nights at the Awatea Tasman Bay B&B in January 2014 and our visit was just perfect. The property, including wonderful gardens, and house are absolutely gorgeous and are ideally located in a stunning setting overlooking the Tasman Bay. It was like something out of Better House and Home magazine.

We were in the Forest View suite with our own private washroom and the room and everything was just right. It was like a 5 star hotel with all the little extras that only a boutique B&B could offer that made it quite quaint.

Surprisingly, what made our stay even better were our gracious and accommodating hosts John, Scott and Molly (their cute dog). They are all around great guys who totally went out of their way to do whatever it took to make our stay memorable. They quickly felt more like old friends rather than the owners. Thank you John and Scott! It was a pleasure to meet both of you.

These guys are also very passionate about the Abel Tasman region and offered up a ton of valuable and helpful information about the area that enhanced our trip. They assisted us with options for tour companies, hikes, other day trips, restaurants and so much more.

Oh, and I would be remiss not to mention that Scott made a mean latte with perfect bacon and scrambled eggs all accommodated with homemade bread, fresh fruit and juice to get us started in the morning. Awesome.

We loved the stay and we will definitely be back some day. We highly recommend anyone and everyone to go and visit this wonderful area of New Zealand and this terrific B&B.

Just go!

Room Tip: We were in the forest room which was great but the other suite definitely has a better view if that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bala_U2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for such a great endorsement! We certainly do try to make everyone’s stay memorable and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you have mentioned, there is so much to see and do in this beautiful area, starting with walking the Abel Tasman Costal Track, then kayaking around the amazing coastline of the National Park, and a day trip to Golden Bay – so next time you come back there is a great day walk in Kahurangi National Park close by, some caves to explore and a great sand-spit walk (which Molly, our dog, really enjoys) nearby. Or borrow our mountain bikes and test your skills at the Kaiteriteri Mountain Bike Park.

The saying that “a joy shared is twice a joy” applies to wonderful guests such as you, so please do come back and explore our area in greater detail one day (and thank you for the beautiful photos you took while you were here).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

John and Scott made us feel at home and treated us royally. It is such a relaxing place - the hot tub was the best we've tried (and we have been in a few this trip). We walked a fair stretch of the Abel Tasman and this proved to be a good base to do it from. John and Scott have a great collection of DVDs (and Yoyos by the way) so it was really nice to chill by watching a good film after a long day. The lodge itself is beautiful with magnificent view out o sea. Many thanks to our kind hosts.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin and Hilar... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
What great advice – a good long soak in our outdoor hot tub really helps to rejuvenate tired legs after a full day walk along the Abel Tasman Coastal Track – especially the extra long route you chose to do! And thank you very much for the compliments about our Bed & Breakfast, the views, and our hospitality. Do enjoy the rest of your New Zealand holiday and we hope that you will have the chance to visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

After a steep uphill drive we arrived on a rainy afternoon for 5 nights at Awatea. After a warm welcome and a nice introduction from our hosts about everything we settled in the cottage.We felt at once at home. So nice furnished, such a feel for details. If you like your privacy an if you like to stay in a place from which you can explore the best of the Tasman Bay region,book the cottage or a suite in Awatea. When you awake in the morning and when you stay on your porch in the afternoon, you have spectacular views in the valley,to the river and the bay. We loved it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H M v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your charming review. We concur that our accommodation is in an excellent location for doing day walks in Abel Tasman and Kahurangi National Parks, which would have to be among the best activities that the Tasman Bay region has to offer. And we are very pleased that you felt right at home and loved your stay in our Cottage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I can't say enough great things about this place. It's one of the best places I have ever stayed in and I have traveled a lot. The accommodations are gorgeous and thoughtfully designed. The views are amazing of the valley and bay. John and Scott are the best! They make you feel instantly at home, have tons of info and helpful advice on what to do and see in the area, and can arrange excursions for you. They make their own incredible bread and bagles and other yummy items. Breakfast is amazing with an assortment of great and fresh food to chose from, lattes and tea of many varieties. If you are visiting the Nelson Tasman area you must stay here for at least part if not all of your visit. You'll be sad to leave.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleToNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
What a wonderful and kind review – thank you. We certainly enjoyed helping you get acquainted with this beautiful area, as we think it is one of the best parts of the South Island and can’t help but be enthusiastic about it! And thanks also for mentioning that we make our own breads and source local fresh fruit for our breakfasts – and even attempt to be baristas when called upon. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
19.4 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
17.7 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#2 of 23 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
3.3 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
6.6 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awatea Tasman Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awatea Tasman Bay

Property: Awatea Tasman Bay
Address: 204 Motueka River West Bank Road | Brooklyn, Motueka 7196, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Awatea Tasman Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A slice of heaven atop a hill overlooking the beautiful Motueka River Valley and Tasman Bay with views to die for, Awatea Tasman Bay offers a peaceful, private, relaxing getaway in comfortable, stylish, welcoming surroundings. There is one boutique Bed & Breakfast suite in the main house, plus a separate, one-bedroom self catering luxurious Cottage apartment (just next door to the main house); outdoor spa pool, breakfasts, views, close to Abel Tasman National Park, restaurants in Motueka, cafes, Nelson vineyards, and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Awatea Tasman Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awatea Tasman Bay Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing