We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
43
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rural setting kitchen facilities stayed nights maree ritz ken cottage cooker bbq
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We absolutely loved this accommodation! We stayed for two nights at the end of our honeymoon, and it was a wonderful break from the busier hotels. Maree was very informative via email and welcomed us last minute when our plans changed. The Estuary Studio is incredibly private and spacious for a couple, but cozy in the way that it makes you feel at home. It had even more than we needed, with a kitchenette, grill, gorgeous garden and deck. The neighborhood is lovely and we were close to the small town area with shops and restaurants. Both the accommodation and guided tour with Ken were excellent. We truly wish we could have stayed for longer!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiwiMaree, Owner at Riwaka Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

We loved meeting you both Kate and sharing the Abel Tasman with you. I hope you both have a long and happy life together - and am sorry I have taken so long to respond.
All the best. Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

A great little cottage for a family of four, this place had everything we needed and a great little garden outlook to boot. Round the corner from Motueka and near Riwaka jetty and the Resurgence, there was lots to see and do. Friendly owners too. However, it's name is a little misleading as I wouldn't say it's a hotel or retreat, it's a holiday cottage. A nice one though! Can't comment on value as our generous local friends set this up for us and paid for it!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

The accommodations (bedroom, bath, and sitting/kitchen, with patio) are spotlessly maintained, spacious, and very comfortable. Since we were on a month-long trip, it was great to be able to use the washing machine and dryer. We appreciated having wi-fi service. We didn’t use the kitchen except for breakfast of fresh fruit, cereal, toast, yogurt, and coffee (all provided), but it appeared to be well equipped. We ate our dinners at the Riwaka Hotel (c.2 km away – adequate but nothing special) and the Sprig and Fern in Motueka (c.10 km away – very good casual dining). Maree and Ken are great hosts, very warm and helpful. They answered all the questions we had before arrival, made sure we had everything we needed, and really did everything they could to make us feel comfortable. Ken was also a great tour guide – see our review of Abel Tasman Tours and Guided Walks.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElMike10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016

We spent six nights in the Estuary Cottage, which had all the amenities we need for our visit to this beautiful area. Owners Ken and Marie also do guided walks in the park; we spent a morning with Ken on part of the Abel Tasman track and learned so much more than we had on our own walks in the park.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Estuary Cottage, which was excellent for a longer stay.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jdfelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We stayed in the Studio in February - it was very comfortable and well-appointed and Maree made sure we wanted for nothing. We had booked to do the two day guided walk on the Abel Tasman Trail with Ken as our guide. Unfortunately we were unlucky enough to get the worst February weather on record, with Day 1 cool and showery (we still managed a swim at Stilwell Bay followed by an excellent lunch at the bach) and Day 2 stormy and raining cats & dogs all day - we were all soaked to the skin by the time we boarded the water taxi back to Kaiteriteri. But what an exhilarating boat trip back - it was like a roller coaster ride! In spite of the weather we loved Abel Tasman and enjoyed Ken's company and his knowledge about the flora and fauna of the National Park, and it was a joy to come back to the cosy studio in the evenings. Thank you to Ken and Maree for an experience we'll never forget.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank prhnz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews