We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good but cold room even with heater” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden's Edge Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Motueka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eden's Edge Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Pretty good but cold room even with heater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed here for one night while exploring Abel Tasman. Bit out of the way, in between motueka and marahau. But with a car, not an issue.
Nicely laid out place, bit like a farm. Swimming pool. Big shared lounge, kitchen area.
Opted not to have an ensuite double to save 10 dollars, so the owner came with us to show us the room and to lock the ensuite!! Surely could have just left it open for us and waived the 10 dollars - it's not exactly peak season.
Toilet and shower was just across the way outdoors, but it was very cold that night.
Heater in the room just blew hot air down from the ceiling - not very effective at keeping the room warm as compared with other hostels we stayed in.
Overall, room was big, clean and comfortable. Facilities fine so can't really fault it. Above average.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocMarkL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed in this lovely backpacker about a year ago and have been meaning to write a review ever since. SUCH a wonderful place - super clean (and I am very picky), warm and friendly owners who know the area extremely well, and a gorgeous location (removed from Nelson but still very close to the beach and city).

Will definitely be booking again for our next visit to the Abel Tasman!

Room Tip: Best backpacker in Motueka/Nelson region. Supremely clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This place was spotless. From the kitchen to the bedrooms everything seemed to be clean and in its place. We couldn't even find a chipped or slightly dirty dish in the kitchen.

The hostel is a good ways out of town but it makes up for it in the peaceful orchard setting. There is a heavenly rainwater pool and you are free to walk through the orchard or follow the road down to the waterfront. We particularly enjoyed eating dinner on the wrap around porch while watching the Pukekos graze in the orchard.

It appeared that all the major kayaking companies offered drop off/pickup service to the hostel as we saw several during our stay. If you are driving, make sure you have directions as it is well off the main road.

The beds aren't great, but seem to be appropriate for the price range. The owner is friendly and helpful although try to avoid long conversations unless you want to discuss religion or politics.

Room Tip: Good choice for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoanMtnGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke On Trent, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

You've probably already got the message from other reviews, but this place is so good, I had to add my voice as a "senior" 60+ travellor who likes a bit of comfort in old age. Lovely grounds with good planting and modern buildings. The hosts Chris and Liz Chris are very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Our room was a good sized double en-suite - all v. new and spotless with lovely artistic touches to the decor. Good shower and we had all linen provided. Kitchen is well appointed but not much room for dining inside although there is space on the deck with more tables to eat. Outside is a BBQ and pool. Apple orchards all around and v. tranquil. Great laundry facilities as well. The best we have yet encountered and I can’t think how it could be bettered..We liked it so much we came back for another night after our Abel Tasman trek. We wish them luck with their continuing development of this little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

positioned in the middle of orchards, out of the city. well maintained, friendly owners. the kitchen is a bit too small if the hostel is full.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank urskakrajnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband, nephew (age 24) and I stayed at Eden's Edge in mid-December, 2011. My husband and I are both 50+. I had stayed in European hostels but Eden's Edge was my husband's first experience with hostel travel. After reading the highly regarded reviews of this hostel we decided to make our reservations. This was also our first stop on our 3 week driving trip through the south island. I must say that we made 100% the right decision to stay at Eden's Edge. Having just made a very long trip from Florida to the South Island our reservations were for 3 nights with plans to get a little relaxation, rejuvination and to see Abel Tasman. All three nights and 2 full days propelled us into our vacation of a lifetime. We had reserved an ensuite room for 3 adults. Upon arrival after picking up our rental car at Nelson airport (drive was about 45 minutes and this was our first time driving on the other side of the road) we found our room ready for check in. The room was very clean and well appointed considering it is a hostel. We had 3 single beds with very comfortable mattresses and pillows. Our bathroom was spacious and clean. My husband was extremely happy since he was worried about staying in a "hippies" place. Eden's Edge is hip but not "Hippyish". After giving our room a total thumbs up, we went to check out the common area and were once again very pleased and delighted. The lounge area has 2 computers (pay by the time spent), big comfy chairs, sofas, games, and a book exchange. Next to the lounge area is a complete modern kitchen with plenty of storage for all your pantry and refrigerated items. We enjoyed our breakfasts on the outside area over looking the swaying apple orchard and meandering gardens. For lunch we made sandwiches for our hiking and kayaking trips into Abel Tasman and returned to a fully equiped kitchen for our dinners. If you prefer eating out, there are some nice small cafes in town (about 5 minute drive) along with a couple of fast food places and a grocery store. Eden's Edge owners are a husband and wife who are extremely of the Abel Tasman area including hiking trails and kayak ideas. They are also super friendly making their guests feel at home. Being middle aged travelers my husband and I highly recommend Eden's Edge. Our 20'ish nephew also enjoyed his time here since he was able to meet many people who were his age. This hostel is not only Eden's Edge...it's Heaven's Edge.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulligan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

First, this is not your typical backpackers, and it certainly is no hostel. As the other reviews indicate. this is a relatively small, very well appointed, backpackers. In fact, in my opinion it is a bit too upscale to be considered a typical backpackers. You could hang out here for a few days (and people were since it was raining) like it was your house, and maybe even better.

So why a four instead of a five for a rating? First, the rooms are separated from the kitchens and sitting area, and we prefer them together (others may not). As noted above, it is actually a bit too "nice" for what we look for, though we do not hang out at the places we stay as we look to be out and about. Third, they did not provide towels. It is also a bit out of town. Thus, as you can tell, the negatives are relatively minor, and others might might have the other preferences. If you can get in here, you will not be disappointed, and I can recommend it highly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous-Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
2.6 mi away
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
2.5 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.8 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
3.8 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden's Edge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden's Edge Lodge

Property: Eden's Edge Lodge
Address: 137 Lodder Lane | Riwaka, Motueka 7198, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Motueka
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden's Edge Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden's Edge Lodge is a boutique, self-catering large with excellent reviews. It's small, purpose-built and on a large and peaceful rural property, just minutes from the local town of Motueka. Our guests rave about our local scenery and all the local trips and activities they can enjoy. When they come home to us, they know they can rest, relax and re-fresh in a beautiful setting, with well-designed facilities and peaceful atmosphere. We do not cater for large bus groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eden's Edge Lodge Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing