We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Eden's Edge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eden's Edge Lodge
Reviewed 6 November 2012

After staying in an abundance of backpackers hostels all over New Zealand, my friends and I were never sure what to expect when arriving somewhere new. After arriving in the Abel Tasman area mid-afternoon time we headed to the Information Center who recommended Eden's Edge as a base for the time that we were there. Going by their praises, we decided to go ahead and book a room without checking it out first.

On our arrival, we were speechless. It was absolutely gorgeous! Set in the midst of an orchard in a fairly secluded area, there is no way we would have found it on our own had it not been recommended.

The owners were a lovely couple who spent a lot of time answering our endless questions about everything from the area, down to which of their DVDs we should watch that evening (an impressive collection I might add.. Free of charge). We also took advantage of the free range eggs they had on offer at reception. Towels were also available for a small fee, but it made a nice change from our travel towels for a few days!

The facilities were fantastic, all new and very clean. The communal areas were lovely and modern, so we had no problem making ourselves at home. Some rooms were en-suite, although we opted for a separate bathroom to save a few dollars and our room was literally next door so it was no trouble for us.

I could not recommend this place highly enough and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Depending on the weather, if it's a bit cold and you don't have an en-suite, you may want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

We were in New Zealand for a month, and this was one of our favorite places! The owners are amazing and for the price, you can't beat the amenities. It was in a beautiful setting and on amazing property, and they helped us book a water taxi for our hike to Abel Tasman, and they helped us find some good restaurants in Riwaka. I highly recommend this place to stay. They are a close drive to the start of Abel Tasman National Park, which is also a must see! They had an amazing living room/kitchen space too, where we watched some of the Rugby World Tournament and talked with the host.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54,151,766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Staying in this place is like being in paradise!
The different houses of this place are surrounded by a green garden and apple plantations. There's a big perfectly clean kitchen, a cosy living room with books, magazines and board games and a tv room with a whole bunch of dvds. This place even has a swiming pool!
The rooms are big and the dorms have only 4 beds. The matresses are vey comfortable and the linens are spotlessly clean. The shared bathrooms are cleaned every day.
The owners are incredibly friendly and hospitable and will learn your name by heart even if you only stay a night. They can give you good advice about tours in the area and will organize trips for you.
You'll feel like at home, but because this place is like the paradise it's even better!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed here for one night while exploring Abel Tasman. Bit out of the way, in between motueka and marahau. But with a car, not an issue.
Nicely laid out place, bit like a farm. Swimming pool. Big shared lounge, kitchen area.
Opted not to have an ensuite double to save 10 dollars, so the owner came with us to show us the room and to lock the ensuite!! Surely could have just left it open for us and waived the 10 dollars - it's not exactly peak season.
Toilet and shower was just across the way outdoors, but it was very cold that night.
Heater in the room just blew hot air down from the ceiling - not very effective at keeping the room warm as compared with other hostels we stayed in.
Overall, room was big, clean and comfortable. Facilities fine so can't really fault it. Above average.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocMarkL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed in this lovely backpacker about a year ago and have been meaning to write a review ever since. SUCH a wonderful place - super clean (and I am very picky), warm and friendly owners who know the area extremely well, and a gorgeous location (removed from Nelson but still very close to the beach and city).

Will definitely be booking again for our next visit to the Abel Tasman!

Room Tip: Best backpacker in Motueka/Nelson region. Supremely clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This place was spotless. From the kitchen to the bedrooms everything seemed to be clean and in its place. We couldn't even find a chipped or slightly dirty dish in the kitchen.

The hostel is a good ways out of town but it makes up for it in the peaceful orchard setting. There is a heavenly rainwater pool and you are free to walk through the orchard or follow the road down to the waterfront. We particularly enjoyed eating dinner on the wrap around porch while watching the Pukekos graze in the orchard.

It appeared that all the major kayaking companies offered drop off/pickup service to the hostel as we saw several during our stay. If you are driving, make sure you have directions as it is well off the main road.

The beds aren't great, but seem to be appropriate for the price range. The owner is friendly and helpful although try to avoid long conversations unless you want to discuss religion or politics.

Room Tip: Good choice for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoanMtnGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

You've probably already got the message from other reviews, but this place is so good, I had to add my voice as a "senior" 60+ travellor who likes a bit of comfort in old age. Lovely grounds with good planting and modern buildings. The hosts Chris and Liz Chris are very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Our room was a good sized double en-suite - all v. new and spotless with lovely artistic touches to the decor. Good shower and we had all linen provided. Kitchen is well appointed but not much room for dining inside although there is space on the deck with more tables to eat. Outside is a BBQ and pool. Apple orchards all around and v. tranquil. Great laundry facilities as well. The best we have yet encountered and I can’t think how it could be bettered..We liked it so much we came back for another night after our Abel Tasman trek. We wish them luck with their continuing development of this little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatyPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Motueka hotels
1.8 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.6 mi away
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
2.5 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Motueka River Lodge
Motueka River Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ngatimoti
25 reviews
2.7 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#4 of 4 in Motueka
130 reviews
3.2 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#3 of 4 in Motueka
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden's Edge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden's Edge Lodge

Address: 137 Lodder Lane | Riwaka, Motueka 7198, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Motueka
Price Range: £52 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden's Edge Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden's Edge Lodge is a boutique, self-catering large with excellent reviews. It's small, purpose-built and on a large and peaceful rural property, just minutes from the local town of Motueka. Our guests rave about our local scenery and all the local trips and activities they can enjoy. When they come home to us, they know they can rest, relax and re-fresh in a beautiful setting, with well-designed facilities and peaceful atmosphere. We do not cater for large bus groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Eden's Edge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden's Edge Lodge Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing