We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hosts in the Abel Tasman area”
Review of Eden's Edge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eden's Edge Lodge
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I can't say enough about how thoughtful and accommodating the Eden's Edge proprietors are -- Chris and Liz are frequently around and about on the property, chatting with guests, laughing, and dispensing travel advice. At the front desk, they sell eggs from their on-site chickens.

The property feels like a little oasis with its swimming pool, green lawn, and barbecue grill. The grounds are well-maintained, and the plantings are delightfully heterogeneous -- raspberries, poppies, strawberries, lavender, grapes and a fig tree among other things.

The facilities are clean and well-maintained, particularly the communal kitchen area. I was pleased with the number and variety of dishes, pans, and utensils on hand. My kids loved the chess and checkers set up on the coffee table in the lounge area.

Location is great for driving to either Abel Tasman (via Marahau) or Motueka. The property is situated amongst apple orchards, and this lends to the feeling of being in a green oasis.

My only two concerns were the following:
(1) The orchards next to the property were being sprayed on one morning while we were there. When we saw the orchardist driving the tractor was covered in head-to-toe protective gear including a mask, we couldn't help but wonder what we were breathing in the air. It would have been nice to have some sort of forewarning about the spraying.
(2) This is an annoyance rather than a problem, per se, but the power-outlet in our room was on an auto-timer that only stays on for an hour at a time. The owner informed me that this was due to fire-code requirements. The trouble with this is that if you're charging something that takes more than one hour (e.g., cell phone, tablet, computer) you've got to keep turning the power back on. This made it difficult to charge my cell phone overnight, as I am accustomed to doing.

On the balance, however, I have to say that we loved Eden's Edge and will remember our stay fondly. I should also add that something about the place seems to attract the nicest guests -- really a nice mix of families, younger backpackers, and seasoned travelers and all very pleasant to share space with.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blacra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

This was the second hostel we've ever stayed in. The hosts were wonderful, welcoming and very helpful. We had a double ensuite room and stayed two nights. Our room was plain, no blow dryer, a little skimpy on towels and towel racks, and we had to put our suitcases on the floor, but the room was very clean. The bed sagged in the middle though. We may be a little more sensitive about this because we are in our mid to upper 60's.
The grounds are charming and lovingly landscaped and cared for by the hostess. We felt as if we were in the country, but still close to town. However, not close enough to walk. We had a car and there was plenty of parking, but a little bit of a walk to carry one's suitcases to the room.

The kitchen and lounge area is separate from the rooms, so it was quiet for sleeping. We could get Wi-Fi for a price in the lounge, but not in our room. The lounge was very comfortable and the kitchen was well-equipped. We enjoyed meeting and listening to the young people from all over the world who were staying there. That is one of the pluses of staying in a youth hostel.
The price was great for this area and if we returned we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YonderMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed at Eden's Edge for 2 nights, and wished it was for several more. Perhaps it was the congenial mix of guests of different ages and nationalities, perhaps the cheerful, helpful hosts, perhaps the perfect weather and idyllic surroundings. Our group of 6 people ages 12-76 felt totally comfortable. The view of the surrounding countryside with the tall snow capped hills, the clear moonlight nights, the bees buzzing in the beautiful flower gardens...Absolutely complete kitchen facilities and lots of comfy nooks really made this place well named.
Chris and Liz do all the work themselves, and the place shines.Their care shows throughout. the buildings are clean, furniture comfortable, and it all glows in the NZ sunshine.

Room Tip: Doubles with ensuite in the separate building have a better view, but are next to the small dorms. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowyandSniggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

After staying in an abundance of backpackers hostels all over New Zealand, my friends and I were never sure what to expect when arriving somewhere new. After arriving in the Abel Tasman area mid-afternoon time we headed to the Information Center who recommended Eden's Edge as a base for the time that we were there. Going by their praises, we decided to go ahead and book a room without checking it out first.

On our arrival, we were speechless. It was absolutely gorgeous! Set in the midst of an orchard in a fairly secluded area, there is no way we would have found it on our own had it not been recommended.

The owners were a lovely couple who spent a lot of time answering our endless questions about everything from the area, down to which of their DVDs we should watch that evening (an impressive collection I might add.. Free of charge). We also took advantage of the free range eggs they had on offer at reception. Towels were also available for a small fee, but it made a nice change from our travel towels for a few days!

The facilities were fantastic, all new and very clean. The communal areas were lovely and modern, so we had no problem making ourselves at home. Some rooms were en-suite, although we opted for a separate bathroom to save a few dollars and our room was literally next door so it was no trouble for us.

I could not recommend this place highly enough and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Depending on the weather, if it's a bit cold and you don't have an en-suite, you may want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We were in New Zealand for a month, and this was one of our favorite places! The owners are amazing and for the price, you can't beat the amenities. It was in a beautiful setting and on amazing property, and they helped us book a water taxi for our hike to Abel Tasman, and they helped us find some good restaurants in Riwaka. I highly recommend this place to stay. They are a close drive to the start of Abel Tasman National Park, which is also a must see! They had an amazing living room/kitchen space too, where we watched some of the Rugby World Tournament and talked with the host.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54,151,766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Staying in this place is like being in paradise!
The different houses of this place are surrounded by a green garden and apple plantations. There's a big perfectly clean kitchen, a cosy living room with books, magazines and board games and a tv room with a whole bunch of dvds. This place even has a swiming pool!
The rooms are big and the dorms have only 4 beds. The matresses are vey comfortable and the linens are spotlessly clean. The shared bathrooms are cleaned every day.
The owners are incredibly friendly and hospitable and will learn your name by heart even if you only stay a night. They can give you good advice about tours in the area and will organize trips for you.
You'll feel like at home, but because this place is like the paradise it's even better!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed here for one night while exploring Abel Tasman. Bit out of the way, in between motueka and marahau. But with a car, not an issue.
Nicely laid out place, bit like a farm. Swimming pool. Big shared lounge, kitchen area.
Opted not to have an ensuite double to save 10 dollars, so the owner came with us to show us the room and to lock the ensuite!! Surely could have just left it open for us and waived the 10 dollars - it's not exactly peak season.
Toilet and shower was just across the way outdoors, but it was very cold that night.
Heater in the room just blew hot air down from the ceiling - not very effective at keeping the room warm as compared with other hostels we stayed in.
Overall, room was big, clean and comfortable. Facilities fine so can't really fault it. Above average.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocMarkL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
2.5 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
512 reviews
2.6 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
176 reviews
3.3 mi away
Abbey Court Motel
Abbey Court Motel
#2 of 24 in Motueka
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
402 reviews
2.6 mi away
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
1.8 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden's Edge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden's Edge Lodge

Address: 137 Lodder Lane | Riwaka, Motueka 7198, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Motueka
Price Range: £55 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden's Edge Lodge is a boutique, self-catering large with excellent reviews. It's small, purpose-built and on a large and peaceful rural property, just minutes from the local town of Motueka. Our guests rave about our local scenery and all the local trips and activities they can enjoy. When they come home to us, they know they can rest, relax and re-fresh in a beautiful setting, with well-designed facilities and peaceful atmosphere. We do not cater for large bus groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eden's Edge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden's Edge Lodge Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing