We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhhh....”
Review of Eden's Edge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eden's Edge Lodge
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ahhhh....”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We loved this place. Felt like a hotel. We had our own bathroom, which was great. Very clean. Kitchen was big and spotless, but crowded at peak times. Loved the movie room. The grounds were beautiful. it's a bit off the beaten path, but very peaceful and close enough to Abel Tasman and Motueka. One of our favorites!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emfoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
45
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed her just 1 night. Late check-in was no problem, they left us a key. In the morning, we saw what a beautiful location it was. This lodge has multiple buildings set amidst gardens with a mountain and forest backdrop. Rooms were big, clean, with nice bathrooms. Lisa helped check us out in the morning, and she was simply delightful. With a natural ease and sense of humor, she asked us what our plans were and after telling her that we were going to get breakfast in town then head into Abel Tasman national park, she gave us tips on where to eat in town, a map of Abel Tasman and told us about the water taxi's and her favorite walks through the park. Super useful and a great start to the day. Great setting, friendly staff, and clean rooms. Highly recommended.

--
About us:
We are an easy-going couple from the US in our late-twenties who have traveled a good many miles through the world, with experience staying in everything from campgrounds to big hostels to small B&Bs to five star hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saketbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed three nights at Eden's Edge and it was comfortable, clean and well located. Motueka is a 5 minute drive for shops and restaurants, Abel Tasman NP is a quick ride up the road, and there are orchards and farms selling fruit and vegetables just up the road. The lodge is quiet and surrounded by apple orchards where Pukekos wander among the trees. Our en suite room was good sized and very clean. The communal kitchen was very well equipped and stocked with plenty of dishware, pots and pans. A barbecue grill is available outside and there is a pool as well, though we did not use it. As other reviewers have mentioned, Liz and Chris are very accommodating and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Edens Edge is more like a small resort than a backpackers - we couldn't believe it has the same BBH rating as others we stayed at. The place is so clean and well kept and in such a peaceful and lovely setting that we happily spent time just hanging out and recharging before heading off to explore the area. We also got great advice on activities from Liz and Chris. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking to stay in this region.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I can't say enough about how thoughtful and accommodating the Eden's Edge proprietors are -- Chris and Liz are frequently around and about on the property, chatting with guests, laughing, and dispensing travel advice. At the front desk, they sell eggs from their on-site chickens.

The property feels like a little oasis with its swimming pool, green lawn, and barbecue grill. The grounds are well-maintained, and the plantings are delightfully heterogeneous -- raspberries, poppies, strawberries, lavender, grapes and a fig tree among other things.

The facilities are clean and well-maintained, particularly the communal kitchen area. I was pleased with the number and variety of dishes, pans, and utensils on hand. My kids loved the chess and checkers set up on the coffee table in the lounge area.

Location is great for driving to either Abel Tasman (via Marahau) or Motueka. The property is situated amongst apple orchards, and this lends to the feeling of being in a green oasis.

My only two concerns were the following:
(1) The orchards next to the property were being sprayed on one morning while we were there. When we saw the orchardist driving the tractor was covered in head-to-toe protective gear including a mask, we couldn't help but wonder what we were breathing in the air. It would have been nice to have some sort of forewarning about the spraying.
(2) This is an annoyance rather than a problem, per se, but the power-outlet in our room was on an auto-timer that only stays on for an hour at a time. The owner informed me that this was due to fire-code requirements. The trouble with this is that if you're charging something that takes more than one hour (e.g., cell phone, tablet, computer) you've got to keep turning the power back on. This made it difficult to charge my cell phone overnight, as I am accustomed to doing.

On the balance, however, I have to say that we loved Eden's Edge and will remember our stay fondly. I should also add that something about the place seems to attract the nicest guests -- really a nice mix of families, younger backpackers, and seasoned travelers and all very pleasant to share space with.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blacra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This was the second hostel we've ever stayed in. The hosts were wonderful, welcoming and very helpful. We had a double ensuite room and stayed two nights. Our room was plain, no blow dryer, a little skimpy on towels and towel racks, and we had to put our suitcases on the floor, but the room was very clean. The bed sagged in the middle though. We may be a little more sensitive about this because we are in our mid to upper 60's.
The grounds are charming and lovingly landscaped and cared for by the hostess. We felt as if we were in the country, but still close to town. However, not close enough to walk. We had a car and there was plenty of parking, but a little bit of a walk to carry one's suitcases to the room.

The kitchen and lounge area is separate from the rooms, so it was quiet for sleeping. We could get Wi-Fi for a price in the lounge, but not in our room. The lounge was very comfortable and the kitchen was well-equipped. We enjoyed meeting and listening to the young people from all over the world who were staying there. That is one of the pluses of staying in a youth hostel.
The price was great for this area and if we returned we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YonderMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canandaigua
Level Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed at Eden's Edge for 2 nights, and wished it was for several more. Perhaps it was the congenial mix of guests of different ages and nationalities, perhaps the cheerful, helpful hosts, perhaps the perfect weather and idyllic surroundings. Our group of 6 people ages 12-76 felt totally comfortable. The view of the surrounding countryside with the tall snow capped hills, the clear moonlight nights, the bees buzzing in the beautiful flower gardens...Absolutely complete kitchen facilities and lots of comfy nooks really made this place well named.
Chris and Liz do all the work themselves, and the place shines.Their care shows throughout. the buildings are clean, furniture comfortable, and it all glows in the NZ sunshine.

Room Tip: Doubles with ensuite in the separate building have a better view, but are next to the small dorms. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowyandSniggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
2.5 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
383 reviews
2.5 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
495 reviews
2.6 mi away
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
168 reviews
3.2 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#2 of 4 in Motueka
63 reviews
1.8 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden's Edge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden's Edge Lodge

Property: Eden's Edge Lodge
Address: 137 Lodder Lane | Riwaka, Motueka 7198, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden's Edge Lodge is a boutique, self-catering large with excellent reviews. It's small, purpose-built and on a large and peaceful rural property, just minutes from the local town of Motueka. Our guests rave about our local scenery and all the local trips and activities they can enjoy. When they come home to us, they know they can rest, relax and re-fresh in a beautiful setting, with well-designed facilities and peaceful atmosphere. We do not cater for large bus groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eden's Edge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden's Edge Lodge Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing