We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED it”
Review of MOT Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Motueka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MOT Lodge
Ranked #6 of 24 Motueka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 January 2014

WE had the best time ever -- having kids is always a challenge ... great price ...great location. Our biggest mistake was that we didn't have enough time -- we spent only one night and could have stayed a week!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Fantastic Stay, Thank you to Lisa, Graeme, and Family,
Truly our favourite place on our busy travel itinerary, from the minute we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the family and made to feel at home. And what a wonderful home, location and stunning views. We stayed 3 nights which flew by and not long enough. At the lodge the children we able to collect the eggs for breakfast, feed the animals and learn a lot of the local knowledge from our hosts. Cooked breakfast every morning by Lisa and Graeme was a perfect start to each day ( loved the rhubarb and apple too. ). A great place to explore the outdoors and Abel Tasman, from forest walks to mountain climbs, fishing, and the beach to mention a few. When leaving it was very sad to have to pack up and say our goodbyes to a perfect stay and wonderful family. We would definitely recommend a stay at Lakeside Lodge Motueka and would love to go back again for longer next time.Lisa and Graeme thank you once again for a memory that will last for us and our kids for a very long time. C.D.D.W

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Graeme and Lisa are excellent hosts who welcome you into their home situated in beautiful setting.
Close to Abel Tasman and all that it offers. Motueka not far for range of eating places. Highly recommend this luxury Bed & Breakfast for peace and quiet in very comfortable accommodation.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LClark2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at Lakeside Lodge back in November for a couple of nights - so wish it had been longer! Lakeside Lodge is a beautiful log house/apartments run by Lisa and Graeme who are the most welcoming hosts and you are really made to feel like one of their family. The apartment we stayed in was just lovely, the views breathtaking and a perfect base for touring The Abel Tasman area. The evening meal was just wonderful and you can either eat outside or indoors both are fabulous. We had a full three course meal the first evening, (wonderful NZ lamb and wine!), and a family meal the second evening. Lisa also very kindly made us a packed lunch to take on our trip out walking the coastline which was perfect. Also able to use the laundry facilities which is just so useful when you are touring about. I had been so looking to our stay at Lakeside Lodge and it was just wonderful in every way. They are a genuinely lovely family who go out of their way to make sure their guests have a perfect stay. Will definitely be coming back (for longer next time) and would recommend for anyone who appreciates wonderful cooking and a fabulous base to visit this area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My family (wife and 2 little girls) and my father-in-law spent two nights at the lodge just before X-mas. We had a fabulous time in the lodge itself and the girls really enjoyed playing around and feeding the local animals. We also had a dinner cooked by Lisa and family and really enjoyed both the food and the company.

Location of the house is appx 45 min away from the departure point to Abel Tasman trips, which is reasonable, and well worth it considering the high-class accommodations and warm hosting.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Elad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Thank you so much Lisa, Graeme and family for the MOST relaxing holiday had in a while! Great company, food and fun times. Excellent value considering all the amazing attractions and activities at your doorstep. Would highly recommend a stay at Lakeside Lodge for anyone.Thanks again and see you all soon ;]

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alister B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Simply the nicest people. Lovely property, but the willingness of the family to help with anything that might make the stay more pleasant was what set it apart. Excellent fishing as well - of course - but you could get that in any other lodge in NZ. But if you want to pay half of what other five-star lodges charge, for twice the NZ fishing lodge experience, and want to feel truly special during your stay - then this is the place for you.

Dr. Michael Wolff
Barrister
Hon. Consul General, Repulic of Austria, Victoria, Australia

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Motueka hotels
6.7 mi away
Awatea Tasman Bay
Awatea Tasman Bay
#1 of 24 in Motueka
132 reviews
8.5 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motueka River Lodge
Motueka River Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ngatimoti
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
7.6 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#3 of 4 in Motueka
67 reviews
8.3 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#4 of 4 in Motueka
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOT Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOT Lodge

Address: 1243 Motueka Valley Highway | Ngatimoti RD1, Motueka 7196, New Zealand (Formerly Lakeside Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range: £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury B&B accommodation set on 67 acres of picturesque farmland in the Motueka Valley. Fantastic mountain views from every room. Close to Abel Tasman National Park. Breakfast included. Mountain bike guiding and use of Yeti bikes available. A little piece of paradise! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
MOT Lodge Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing