We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cafe”

Jester House Cafe and Tame Eels
Ranked #3 of 23 things to do in Motueka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tame eels at Jester House have been an attraction for 20 years. They are naturally occuring stream fauna in many streams in New Zealand but their numbers have deminished due to habitat destruction and over fishing.This is your chance to get upclose and handfeed these suprising creatures
Tauranga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great cafe , very friendly atmosphere - eels are an unusual but interesting addition - you can buy eel food to hand feed them

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 352Fiona1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    51
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As long as you have time to wait....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We were given a voucher to redeem while on holiday at this place. We were told it was fantastic. Quirky place (right down to the eco-loos) with interesting play areas for the kids and you can feed the eels (assuming they have food left which in our case they didn't). The food was a little disappointing (I think my expectations were a little on the high side because of the NZ Café of the Year award they received). The food was OK... just not amazing, although my husband really enjoyed his lamb burger. The coffee was superb! The only downside was the time we had to wait for drinks and food. We waited 30 mins for drinks and our food turned up about an hour after we ordered it. We were told that when we booked the day beforehand (make sure you book - at least while it is in the busy period) so we were prepared. Would have been nice to get our drinks order a bit quicker though. The menu is on the high side price wise, but is a very interesting place to have a special lunch.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Numskulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really different! Worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

What a fabulous design! Have a coffee and let your kids run around in this safe and busy environment! THere is so much for kids to play with and do, including giant tame eels! Fabulous setting, really well done! Great coffee too!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fionanz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Something a little different!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Enjoyed delicious breakfast and coffee in a unique and interesting garden setting which is like a magical garden for children AND many of us adults! A variety of fruit trees all displaying their fruit, chickens happily roaming beneath them, games and playground for the children and then off course the famous eels which were very impressive and photogenic. Such fascinating creatures. A very special and original place with delicious food and great service.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lorna_mellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
2 reviews
“Best cafe in the WORLD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Grate cafe to visit, the food is amazing, the staff are all very friendly happy, they will greet you with a smile, it has a relaxed atmosphere and unique environment, plenty of space to keep young minds entertained, when you go you've got to go feed the eels, and the owners Steve and Judy ensure quality.
Worth going to visit....
Worth going out of your way for!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank J-meMillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jester House Cafe and Tame Eels also viewed

Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Jester House Cafe and Tame Eels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing