We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Beautiful”
Review of The Waters

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waters
Ranked #2 of 24 Motueka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So Beautiful”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We could not say enough positive praise for our 4 night stay at The Waters. Everything about this property is beautiful, peaceful and perfect. The rooms are very private, spacious, modern and clean with spectacular views. We enjoyed the views of the surrounding olive groves, vineyards and ocean bay plus walking the private beach right from the property was truly special. Sitting by an evening fire enjoying some wine and the views was an unexpected added bonus.

The Kina Peninsula location is not too far from Nelson and very near the lovely town of Motueka. It was also an easy day trip to the Abel Tasman National Park. We were made to feel very comfortable and Phil and Claire were very friendly with helpful advice on the area, eating, activities and wine selections. Our stay at The Waters was a highlight of our 2 week visit in New Zealand. We only hope to be able to return to this beautiful place!

Room Tip: All three rooms are identical with the same stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMJCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
70
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This property is an unexpected dream come true. We booked out the property for ourselves and our family for our wedding in the Abel Tasman national park. We arrived to blue skies and a property that surpassed all expectations. The setting is magical and the management are so welcoming. Claire was always checking to ensure we had everything we needed and seeing if there was anything they could do to help.

I cannot recommend this enough, go, get away from it all and enjoy!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigsoota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire G, Manager at The Waters, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
This was a very special time for you and your family and it was a delight to share a small part of that time with you. We are so pleased everything worked out so well. I know a lot of effort and planning had gone into this time and you had all travelled such a long way to get here. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A 2 day stay at the Waters ended our 10 day South island honeymoon. It was idyllic. Wonderfully comfortable, stunning views and run in a very friendly manner. The weather was glorious and we cannot wait to return. A lovely breakfast is left in your fridge and we took it as the sun rose over the sea. With balconies back and front one can retreat from the warmth whenever. Near to restaurants and of course the incredible NZ wineries. The manager is a wine maker and will advise where to go and doubtless let you taste his latest. do not miss the Austrian grape, Gruner Veltliner. An incredible experience not to be missed. As very seasoned travelers we couldn't have chosen better

Room Tip: All 3 are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

This review is long overdue. Our stay at The Waters was one on the highlights of fabulous trip to NZ. Was worried that this would be too long a trek for our first stop after flying from Toronto to Auckland, then Wellington. We didn't regret it one bit. The Waters was a wonderful quiet place to relax and rest up. Claire and Phil are lovely and kind hosts. They provided some good advice and a great breakfast. The architecture and setting are stunning.This is a good base for exploring the surrounding countryside. We did a day trip to Abel Tasman from here, took the water taxi, then did a beautiful hike. Our only regret was having only 2 nights here. We really hope to go back to The Waters again someday for a much longer stay.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire G, Manager at The Waters, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for the lovely review and for choosing The Waters as your first stop in New Zealand, very glad we did not disappoint! Particularly after a long flight or drive sometimes the extra day here really makes a difference. Most people do explore the Abel Tasman area and that in itself is a big day. We hope you did have some rest and relax time throughout the rest of your stay in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

If you want a B&B for a quiet and beautiful stay, this is the place. Beautiful expansive views of the Tasman Bay with sunsets that are unbelievable. Rooms are large, clean with a well equipped kitchenette.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scott1197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Having never been to the Nelson area before we were really pleased to be able to book The Waters which is in between Nelson and Motueka. We found it was just what we needed to unwind and also a great chance to see the area - Abel Tasman, Golden Bay etc. The units at The Waters are modern,spacious, comfortable and very clean and have the most awesome sea views. We were lucky enough to see orcas during our stay :) At the front of the unit you can sit outside and have breakfast while enjoying the view or there is a deck out the back and overlooks a pond which we found to be a real sun trap in the afternoons. Phil and Claire are the perfect hosts and will go out of their way to make sure your needs are catered for. Claire provided us with a very good and generous breakfast each day. As it is a similar price to a good quality hotel, we did think there could have been SKY TV (sports fans!) and a docking system for an ipod or similar but we were there for a week and this may not be the case for someone who is there for just two nights. Overall we would recommend The Waters to anyone who wants a top class B&B in the Nelson area. Thanks Claire, Phil and kids :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Both41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire G, Manager at The Waters, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. I remember your busy lives and sometimes we all need to just rest and relax for a period of time. Very pleased that The Waters suited you for this purpose. You mention the Sky TV, we are at present looking at this and in the meantime have installed Apple TV. Also we do have an ipod docking station on our radio alarms and I am sorry that I did not point that out to you.
Whenever you need another R&R break please come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

How special that this is my 50th review and I get to dedicate it to The Waters.

Thumbs up in every way, especially the location and the water views. What a relaxing and remote spot to either start or end a trip to the South Island! In my case, it was to start my trip after a bit too much city living.

The Waters is a unique property with suites that are modern, clean and efficiently designed to allow natural light and airflow through the room. I would definitely recommend it to my friends who want exclusivity, serenity, a great view and good design. Without repeating what other reviewers have said, I will simply echo that The Waters is definitely worth a stay, will be comfortable, and relaxing. While seemingly isolated because of the I polluted and uncluttered view of big open skies, crashing waves and open waters, The Waters is located within a few minutes drive of everything you would need if you crave people.

HOSTS: Claire and Phil do a great job to make guests feel comfortable without being intrusive. Their son and daughter are very helpful to keep the place cleaned up after and before guests leave/arrive. And, their dog Zetta has a face that you will love if you like dogs and want her around you. Otherwise, she will keep her distance. The hosts live in the other wing of the L shaped facility and enjoy their privacy as much as the guests want to enjoy theirs.

BEACH IS PRACTICALLY PRIVATE: The location of the property is very special, on the Kina Peninsula in a relatively unpopulated part of the beach. I could only see 2 other properties with beachfront access, making the beach secluded and peaceful. Mid-day was high tide, during which the beach disappeared. In the evenings and mornings, you could walk along its shores for an hour or more past the rocks, the shells, seaweed, and whatever else was left behind by the receding waters. The cliff has been slowly eroding with the tides and elements, so there are dramatic steep cliffs along the beach walk, with trees hanging by their roots overhead if you walk closely to the cliffs.

FACILITIES: 10 minute drive from Motueka, the nearest town centre with all facilities you would need (bank, grocery, pharmacy, schools, clothing stores, restaurants, tourist information, etc.). Bring all the supplies you would want for a light meal at night if you don't eat in town. There are no cooking facilities in your suite, although there is a fridge, counter space and dishes, electric kettle, coffee maker, toaster. The only sink in the suite is in the bathroom. The Waters has a laundry room which they let me use complimentary.

Enroute to Motueka from The Waters, just a couple minutes drive, is a general store to get refreshments, ice cream, bread. There is also a local fruit seller close to the general store.

SUITES 1-2-3: In my opinion, Suite 3 is the best for windows on three sides (north, east and west). The toilet has its own enclosure across the corridor from the room with the shower and sink. Suite 3 is the unit farthest towards the Tasman Bay, so it may be a bit more private since you walk past suite 1 and 2 to get to 3. However, the same path past the suites leads to the beach access so you still want to keep your eastern blinds closed at night no matter which suite you select.

Suite 2 is sandwiched between suite 1 and 2. Didn't look inside but imagine the layout to be same as 3.

Suite 1 is handicap friendly with a large bathroom and nearest the outdoor hot tub, laundry room, reception. The layout of the bedroom/living room is the same as suite 3, except for the bathroom area.

Layout of each room is an efficient rectangle. When you enter on the left, there is small dining table for two and small counter area with fridge, dishes. Across on the right is a two seater plush sofa. Facing you is a divider containing some books and a flat screen TV about 45 inches. On the flip side of the divider is the bedroom which has a view of the pond in the back and a view of the drive. To the left of the room and dining table is a small corridor to the toilet and bathrooms.

PRIVATE DECK: All suites have a back terrace to the west overlooking a pond (suites overhang the pond). The bedrooms are visible from the private access road across the pond into The Waters property so the only people who see you in the bedroom would be the other guests returning to the property. Of course, you could keep these western blinds closed too, if retiring for the night. I did not hear any traffic noise even with other guests staying.

All suites have a front eastern sitting area facing the open waters of Tasman Bay. On a clear day, you can look across and see Abel Tasman, Nelson town site, etc.

NOISE: At night, the wind and the waves mix in to create the sound. Your wake up calls of the early morning include bird sounds added to the wind and waves. There is no traffic noise and minimal people noise, coming only from the other guests in the other two suites.

Walls are not very sound proof but the guests staying next to us used muted voices. We could hear them moving about because of the tiled floors, and could hear when they set dishes on the counters. If they turned on the TV, we would hear that too. Most of the type of guests who would stay here would not likely be rowdy and obnoxious anyway.

TEMPERATURE CONTROL: There is no air conditioning but the screened windows can be opened at night to allow airflow. Just be aware that the sound of the wind and waves can be quite loud. Given the moderate temperatures here year round, you wouldn't necessarily burn up with the windows closed at night unless you usually sleep in temperatures under 20 degrees C in which case, you might find it too warm without the windows opened, or too noisy with the windows opened.

Bathrooms have heaters to keep you warm if the temperatures drop. Heated towel racks are lovely, and always a nice touch even in the summer.

COMFORTS: a random assortment of books left in the book shelves. Breakfasts are juice, cheeses, bread, yogurt and fruit provided the evening before so you can wake whenever you like. Most importantly, beds were comfortable with nice bedding. Large TVs are provided (now New Zealand just has to work on some decent programs!)

GOOD DESIGN: I could see the property featured in Dwell magazine with their clever use of the land, small footprint for each suite and the way they have maximized the views from each room. And it's very modern.

INTERNET: suite 1 and 2 would be pretty decent because of their close proximity to the router. Suite 3 access was dodgy especially when windy. Having experienced dodgy internet service throughout my two week stay in the South Island, I think this issue is more linked to the bad wireless service on the South Island than just a problem with The Waters.

Overall, a real find! A memorable and relaxing stay, perfectly located for day hikes to Abel Tasman, Marlborough and wineries. Well done to the owners for having such a vision for this land!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LilyChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire G, Manager at The Waters, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello
Thank you for the great and thorough review! My goodness it was long but well thought out and we appreciate your comments and suggestions as well as your praise.

This is a unique place and we are pleased to share it and very pleased that you enjoyed it so much.

We take constructive comments seriously and where possible can implement changes. For example we are currently reviewing the sound-proofing between the rooms. Whilst well over the current NZ building code for sound and fire proofing additional padding around the doors is being researched. We have installed Apple TV for those rare rainy days and have also installed a booster for the wifi in the suite three area. So thank you for your suggestions.

Please come again and see us when you are next in the Nelson region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
13.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
13.9 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
9.4 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Awatea Tasman Bay
Awatea Tasman Bay
#1 of 24 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.5 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#4 of 4 in Motueka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
4.5 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waters

Property: The Waters
Address: 182 Kina Peninsula Road | Tasman, Motueka 7173, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waters 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waters is part of the 10 ha Erinaceus Estate with over 400 m beachfront and it's award winning olive oil from the own olive orchard and vineyard.The Waters is a luxurious boutique bed & breakfast dramatically set above the turquoise Tasman Bay, in the heart of the Nelson Wine region, New Zealand. Three private, beautifully appointed accommodation suites offer spectacular unspoilt panoramic views over the Tasman bay to the east (Nelson) D'Urville Island,Abel Tasman N.P. and snow-capped Mount Arthur to the west. Our guests can enjoy our luxurious retreat while having superb access to some of the most beautiful landscapes in New Zealand with it's vineyards and artists abound. We offer relaxation, comfort and all the amenities you could want in a sumptuous environment. With a flexible range of services on offer to cater for your every need we strive to make your stay with us an unforgettable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotel.de so you can book your The Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waters Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing