We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value! We didn't want to leave!”
Review of The Captains Rose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Motueka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Captains Rose
Ranked #8 of 24 Motueka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Evelyn and Nick gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived on a rainy day in mid February. We were pleasantly surprised that the room we had booked had been recently renovated. We were booked into one of their two rooms which was the smaller one of both. The room was indeed quite small but it was exactly what we had been expecting as the pictures on their website are accurately taken. It should also be said that everything is extremely clean and well-kept. The next day we were greeted with sunshine and very warm weather and we immediately started enjoying their swimming pool which is a very extra. Evelyn greeted us with a home-made breakfast which included freshly made bread and an excellent selection of fruit and jam. There is a cooked breakfast available upon request but we did not try it. For us it felt like home and Evelyn and Nick did everything to make us feel welcome. They also had very handy tips for the area. For example, we went to the organic food hall and had an excellent lunch, please ask Evelyn for directions, this one is not to be missed. As the larger room was already booked we had to remain in the small room for two nights but for our third night Evelyn was so kind to move as to the suite. This was a very pleasant surprise as the larger room is very spacious and has its own little sitting area and bathroom. After three nights we really regretted that we had to move our trip around the South Island. Thank you Evelyn and Nick for the pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTWEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Navel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Puschelgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn S, Owner at The Captains Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Das Rose Zimmer ist das kleinere mit separater Toilette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juergen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Motueka hotels
0.9 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
519 reviews
8.4 mi away
Motueka River Lodge
Motueka River Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ngatimoti
16 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#3 of 4 in Motueka
66 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#4 of 4 in Motueka
126 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captains Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captains Rose

Address: 16 Trewavas Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range: £41 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captains Rose is a lovely property near the foreshore only a couple of minutes from Motueka township by car. Abel Tasman National Park and the famous Kaiteriteri Beach are only 20 mins away. We have a suite comprising a bedroom, lounge (with sm kitchenette) and bathroom, offering you total privacy. Also a bedroom with en-suite shower and basin, with your own toilet just along the hall. Continental breakfast with all homemade goodies. Swimming pool and gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Captains Rose Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing