We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Motueka”
Review of The Captains Rose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Motueka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Captains Rose
Ranked #9 of 24 Motueka B&B and Inns
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great B&B in Motueka”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay for two nights in the Captain's Rose B&B in March 2013. It's a perfect spot to visit the Abel Tasman NP. Evelyn and Nick did everything to make us feel very welcome; they were perfect hosts. The place is really beautiful and very clean and tidy. The breakfast is terrific!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carsten27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn S, Owner at The Captains Rose, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I feel touched that you wrote 'the perfect hosts' something we haven't really tried to do, we just want everyone to feel 'at home' and comfortable in 'our' home, that makes us happy too. All the best to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We booked a Captain Suite for two days. The suite was a 2-room appartment equipped with own fantastic bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were lovely arranged.
Evelyn and Nick are lovely hosts and made our stay unforgettable. They were very helpful with lots of tips to plan trips at sorrounding of Motueka.
The breakfast made by Evelyn was unbelievable delicious.
In the garden is a pool and a barbecue available for guests.
We were sad not to have the opportunity to stay longer.

Please note that they have a cat and which might be problematic in case of allergy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn S, Owner at The Captains Rose, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Ohh, we loved having you both, and so glad you enjoyed your time here in Motueka with us. It is a wonderful thing to meet and share our lives, from opposite parts of the world, strangers, but very quickly friends..all the very best from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed 7 nights in Captain's suite.The suite has a luxury bathroom and bed is really comfortable. Every day we were treated with yummy breakfast. Nick and Evelyn are great hosts, they were trying very hard to make us comfortable and helped a lot in planning our daily activities.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DnOnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn S, Owner at The Captains Rose, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Thanks Diana for your nice review! We enjoyed having you and sharing holiday ideas. And we so enjoyed listening to your travel stories, it got us inspired to do more ourselves as you know! Have fun cooking the muesli (:-) Regards from us both, Evelyn and Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Captains Rose last November and we had a wonderful time. Evelyn and Nick made us feel very welcome and were wonderful hosts. They know their town very well and were therefore full of helpful advice on how to get around and who to talk to if you want to book a tour to the Abel Tasman.

The B&B is located on a side road in Motueky, and therefore it's nicely quiet - nothing to disturb a good night's sleep. The seaside is less than a 5-minutes walk away.

The room we had was very clean, comfy, and had everything we needed for our stay. It did not have an en-suite toilet, but a private toilet down the corridor, which was more than alright for us. We didn't make use of the swimming pool as it was still quite chilly when we were there.

In the morning Evelyn made us a sensational breakfast, with the obligatory coffee/tea and toast, but also with home-made mueslis, self-made jam, fresh fruit and yoghurt, and more.

We enjoyed our stay very much and can highly recommend the Captain's Rose for a stay in Motueka. Thanks loads, Evelyn and Nick!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerhard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn S, Owner at The Captains Rose, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Hello Gerhard, so nice of you to remember us. We enjoyed having you both to stay! Motueka certainly has a lot to offer, and we are very happy to share what we know of the area. Thank you for staying with us, and sharing your thoughts on tripadvisor! Kind regards and cheers from the 'Captain' and his 'Rose' (:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ziqim, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Nick and Evelyn made this place feel like home. It's perfect for couples looking a silent, romantic place with the comforts of a 5-star hotel combined with the warm feeling of a small boutique hotel.

The place offers bikes that you can ride in a nice bike route along the coast. The bikes are free, and stored in a garage along with a special, beautiful eye-candy.

The rooms are clean, cozy, and have nice luxuries like sponges, silk-soft bathrobes and great sheets.

The NZ breakfast - home-made bread, coffee, muffins, home-made jams, a variety of fresh fruit, cereals and yogurt - was exquisite.

Note that this is B&B, not a backpacker's lodge. There is a barbecue outside, and making tea and coffee is OK, but you can't use the kitchen for cooking.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamMatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn S, Owner at The Captains Rose, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Hello Adam,
thank you so much for that rather special review! What a lovely surprise for me this morning, it makes all the hard work worthwhile. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I feel it is important to help all our guests have nice memories of their stay in our little part of the world.. Nick says 'hello' and he'd be happy for you to go for a spin in the 'eye candy' if you're over this way again!
Very best wishes, from Evelyn and NIck in Motueka NZ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Evelyn and Nick gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived on a rainy day in mid February. We were pleasantly surprised that the room we had booked had been recently renovated. We were booked into one of their two rooms which was the smaller one of both. The room was indeed quite small but it was exactly what we had been expecting as the pictures on their website are accurately taken. It should also be said that everything is extremely clean and well-kept. The next day we were greeted with sunshine and very warm weather and we immediately started enjoying their swimming pool which is a very extra. Evelyn greeted us with a home-made breakfast which included freshly made bread and an excellent selection of fruit and jam. There is a cooked breakfast available upon request but we did not try it. For us it felt like home and Evelyn and Nick did everything to make us feel welcome. They also had very handy tips for the area. For example, we went to the organic food hall and had an excellent lunch, please ask Evelyn for directions, this one is not to be missed. As the larger room was already booked we had to remain in the small room for two nights but for our third night Evelyn was so kind to move as to the suite. This was a very pleasant surprise as the larger room is very spacious and has its own little sitting area and bathroom. After three nights we really regretted that we had to move our trip around the South Island. Thank you Evelyn and Nick for the pleasant stay!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTWEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
9.1 mi away
Edenhouse
Edenhouse
#1 of 1 in Ngatimoti
45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
495 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#3 of 4 in Motueka
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
382 reviews
1.0 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#2 of 4 in Motueka
63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbey Court Motel
Abbey Court Motel
#4 of 24 in Motueka
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captains Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captains Rose

Property: The Captains Rose
Address: 16 Trewavas Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captains Rose is a lovely property near the foreshore only a couple of minutes from Motueka township by car. Abel Tasman National Park and the famous Kaiteriteri Beach are only 20 mins away. We have a suite comprising a bedroom, lounge (with sm kitchenette) and bathroom, offering you total privacy. Also a bedroom with en-suite shower and basin, with your own toilet just along the hall. Continental breakfast with all homemade goodies. Swimming pool and gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Captains Rose Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing