We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magnificent stay in Motueka (NZ)”
Review of The Captains Rose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Motueka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Captains Rose
Ranked #9 of 24 Motueka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was the first in a series of B&B I lodged at during a fifteen day hiking trip to New Zealand and only one of the very few I am writing a review about.

Evelyn and Nick, the owners of Captain Rose B&B, made me feel instantly at home in New Zealand.

The place was sparkling clean and very comfortable. The rooms are spacious and guests have access to ample living room space. Evelyn and Nick are a charming couple to spend time with to learn about New Zealand and life in this beautiful island.

Evelyn makes remarkable breakfast with the best home made cereal mix and yogurt I ever had. There was not a day I did not get up from the table extremely satisfied from the wonderful breakfast. Nick has promised he will take me fishing next time I visit NZ.

The friend I have been traveling to NZ with has staid at this B&B for the last 15 years and now I know why.

I highly recommend this place if you are ever in the Motueka area and I will make sure to return on my next trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn S, Owner at The Captains Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Well hello Diego! I have taken a few days to come up with an response,as it is quite overwhelming sometimes to read such a wonderful review and to realize that one is talking about us!
We are so glad you enjoyed staying with us, and I particularly enjoyed following your blog around the South Island..I found it to be quite inspiring. plans are now afoot!!

One comment I should make, and that is, your friend who you mentioned had stayed with us for the last 15 years is incorrect. He had stayed at a BnB further down the street, (it had closed when you came to us) and they had recommended us to you. Of course we are still happy to take all the credit. haha.

We look forward to having you both or your families again, no longer strangers, friends. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at the Captain's Rose for 2 nights at Christmas last year (2012) and we could not have picked a more welcoming guest house to spend our Christmas so far from home. There are only 2 guest rooms/suites so it felt much more intimate and friendly than staying in a hotel.

Our room had a very comfortable bed, and was nicely decorated and connected to a spacious living room area with tv/dvd, small kitchenette with fridge and double doors leading to the private back garden space. We had our own bathroom too which was very modern and luxurious with a huge power shower and a separate bath – perfect after our long treks in the Abel Tasman National Park. There was also a lovely swimming pool and bbq area available for guests which we happily made good use of and was nice to enjoy a few beers beside in the evenings.

Aside from the physical features of the accommodation we have to mention Evelyn and Nick’s personal care and hospitality during our stay. We felt like we were among family - they were so very kind and warm. Evelyn even gave us small wrapped Christmas presents on Christmas Day and Nick took us to see the local Christmas lights and helped us with our bbq. The breakfasts were a treat as we had options of Evelyn's homemade muesli and jams, with amazing local fresh berries, homemade bread and yoghurt. They even got in touch after we left to check how our trip was going – such a sweet couple.

There was parking in front of the house, which was in a quiet street just a few minutes walk from the coast and only 1 minute drive from Motueka town centre with all the essential amenities. For anyone intending to explore the Abel Tasman/ Motueka area we cannot recommend a stay with Evelyn and Nick at the Captain's Rose highly enough!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn S, Owner at The Captains Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Wow! I am speechless. I often think of you guys and wonder how you are going, what a wonderful review and I have to say you both felt like family to us! Thank you so much for your thoughts on our property and such kind words about us too. Hopefully we will meet again sometime, on your side of the world tho'! Many blessings to you both, Ev and Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay for two nights in the Captain's Rose B&B in March 2013. It's a perfect spot to visit the Abel Tasman NP. Evelyn and Nick did everything to make us feel very welcome; they were perfect hosts. The place is really beautiful and very clean and tidy. The breakfast is terrific!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Carsten27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn S, Owner at The Captains Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I feel touched that you wrote 'the perfect hosts' something we haven't really tried to do, we just want everyone to feel 'at home' and comfortable in 'our' home, that makes us happy too. All the best to you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We booked a Captain Suite for two days. The suite was a 2-room appartment equipped with own fantastic bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were lovely arranged.
Evelyn and Nick are lovely hosts and made our stay unforgettable. They were very helpful with lots of tips to plan trips at sorrounding of Motueka.
The breakfast made by Evelyn was unbelievable delicious.
In the garden is a pool and a barbecue available for guests.
We were sad not to have the opportunity to stay longer.

Please note that they have a cat and which might be problematic in case of allergy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn S, Owner at The Captains Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Ohh, we loved having you both, and so glad you enjoyed your time here in Motueka with us. It is a wonderful thing to meet and share our lives, from opposite parts of the world, strangers, but very quickly friends..all the very best from us both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed 7 nights in Captain's suite.The suite has a luxury bathroom and bed is really comfortable. Every day we were treated with yummy breakfast. Nick and Evelyn are great hosts, they were trying very hard to make us comfortable and helped a lot in planning our daily activities.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DnOnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn S, Owner at The Captains Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Thanks Diana for your nice review! We enjoyed having you and sharing holiday ideas. And we so enjoyed listening to your travel stories, it got us inspired to do more ourselves as you know! Have fun cooking the muesli (:-) Regards from us both, Evelyn and Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Captains Rose last November and we had a wonderful time. Evelyn and Nick made us feel very welcome and were wonderful hosts. They know their town very well and were therefore full of helpful advice on how to get around and who to talk to if you want to book a tour to the Abel Tasman.

The B&B is located on a side road in Motueky, and therefore it's nicely quiet - nothing to disturb a good night's sleep. The seaside is less than a 5-minutes walk away.

The room we had was very clean, comfy, and had everything we needed for our stay. It did not have an en-suite toilet, but a private toilet down the corridor, which was more than alright for us. We didn't make use of the swimming pool as it was still quite chilly when we were there.

In the morning Evelyn made us a sensational breakfast, with the obligatory coffee/tea and toast, but also with home-made mueslis, self-made jam, fresh fruit and yoghurt, and more.

We enjoyed our stay very much and can highly recommend the Captain's Rose for a stay in Motueka. Thanks loads, Evelyn and Nick!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerhard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn S, Owner at The Captains Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Hello Gerhard, so nice of you to remember us. We enjoyed having you both to stay! Motueka certainly has a lot to offer, and we are very happy to share what we know of the area. Thank you for staying with us, and sharing your thoughts on tripadvisor! Kind regards and cheers from the 'Captain' and his 'Rose' (:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Nick and Evelyn made this place feel like home. It's perfect for couples looking a silent, romantic place with the comforts of a 5-star hotel combined with the warm feeling of a small boutique hotel.

The place offers bikes that you can ride in a nice bike route along the coast. The bikes are free, and stored in a garage along with a special, beautiful eye-candy.

The rooms are clean, cozy, and have nice luxuries like sponges, silk-soft bathrobes and great sheets.

The NZ breakfast - home-made bread, coffee, muffins, home-made jams, a variety of fresh fruit, cereals and yogurt - was exquisite.

Note that this is B&B, not a backpacker's lodge. There is a barbecue outside, and making tea and coffee is OK, but you can't use the kitchen for cooking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamMatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn S, Owner at The Captains Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Hello Adam,
thank you so much for that rather special review! What a lovely surprise for me this morning, it makes all the hard work worthwhile. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I feel it is important to help all our guests have nice memories of their stay in our little part of the world.. Nick says 'hello' and he'd be happy for you to go for a spin in the 'eye candy' if you're over this way again!
Very best wishes, from Evelyn and NIck in Motueka NZ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Motueka hotels
1.4 mi away
Nautilus Lodge Motel
Nautilus Lodge Motel
#4 of 24 in Motueka
119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
510 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbey Court Motel
Abbey Court Motel
#2 of 24 in Motueka
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#3 of 4 in Motueka
65 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#4 of 4 in Motueka
125 reviews
3.8 mi away
Awatea Tasman Bay
Awatea Tasman Bay
#1 of 24 in Motueka
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captains Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captains Rose

Address: 16 Trewavas Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range: £43 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captains Rose is a lovely property near the foreshore only a couple of minutes from Motueka township by car. Abel Tasman National Park and the famous Kaiteriteri Beach are only 20 mins away. We have a suite comprising a bedroom, lounge (with sm kitchenette) and bathroom, offering you total privacy. Also a bedroom with en-suite shower and basin, with your own toilet just along the hall. Continental breakfast with all homemade goodies. Swimming pool and gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Captains Rose Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing