We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avalon Manor Motel
Nearby Hotels
Motueka Garden Motel(Motueka)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Equestrian Lodge Motel(Motueka)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimi Ora Eco Resort(Kaiteriteri)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Crest Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$99
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arrow Motel Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greens Motel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$88
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Split Apple Retreat(Abel Tasman National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
69
56
8
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
56
8
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabel tasmanthe main roadlight sleeperminute walk to the townlovely balconycoin operatedkiwi orchardroad noisespent three nightsbbq arearoom was spaciousair conditioningfull kitchenwell equipped kitchensmall townbeach towelssmall kitchenette
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights in early March. Owners has provided bad service. After the first night no more soaps and shampoo was provided. Guest laundry is really a shame. They charge 4 dollars for each step ( total of 8) and 3 more for detergent Sign on the washing machine says to use only cold water.... And you really need at least two cycles of drier ( no controls) to get your cloths dry... A "nice" way to squeeze more money from the guests. They charge for internet but we stayed in a corner room and it really did not connect. So we had to go out to use it.... The owner's husband was really rude when asking simple question ... Hotel guests seems to be too much for him. Last but not least , there was no pan in the kitchen to fry eggs for breakfast...
There are better places in town.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soren0272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Maybe it was our exhaustion, but the bed was really comfortable, the room was very clean and well cared for and we'd definitely stay here for longer than a night in the future. I can't attest to the hospitality since I never interacted with any of the reception staff, but my husband didn't mention anything, so there's no complaints. We were farther away from the road, so we didn't notice any road noise. We loved that they have balconies and it was relaxing to sit out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SeattleNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Very clean, large and well equipped and maintained motel room. Probably the best we had on our 3 week NZ tour. Owner also works for Abel Tasman water taxi co so had some v good advice on that. On the pricier side vs other motels we used, but worth it.

Room Tip: Motel a bit close to the road so book a room as far away as possible.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The positives: Beautifully appointed room, comfortable bed, spotlessly clean, plenty of room, quiet enough for a main street.
The negatives: The briskness on reception, Felt like it was an inconvenience to be there, marched ahead of us to room, told us she normally checks the rooms over but "I can't be everywhere at once" and left. Here's a surprise........you're not the only one who gets busy and if you feel your customers (that are lining your pockets) are an inconvenience, get another vocation.
Another annoying feature: The notice in the unit stating that if our dinner dishes weren't washed and put away (like a lot of people before us) we would be charged. While I understand the frustration that cleaning up the mess of some people must be, we are not all guilty before the crime!

Beautiful units is one thing but customer relations quite another. We will not return (and yes, we did our dishes....but would have any way.

Room Tip: any where back from the road.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wideyedkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

we booked one night at the avalon because everything else in motueka was fully booked. the price is reasonable for what you get and if you can afford it you'll be happy. There are different room options available.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sebasitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews