We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet uniits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Elephant Backpacker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

3 (older age group) friends en route to Golden Bay, just looking for a quiet and clean place to sleep. We found that at the White Elephant. Unfortunately, the kitchen was a shambles with overflowing and overworked fridges. However, it was right on Christmas and a full house. We were happy to go out for fish and chips! There is a barbeque area provided and the young people were making use of that. They were very friendly and respectful and didn't make any undue noise.. I would be happy to go there again, especially if the kitchen was to get an upgrade.

Room Tip: We stayed in an ensuite unit in the garden. Very quiet, even though there was a full house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank YvonneEllen1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

The room looks very nice and tidy…however it is extremely noisy at night …you can hear the people watching tv and taking shower from ten to 2am…beside the sound pollution,the owner is also not friendly …we come back from able tasman at 9:30 pm and he said we can not use the kitchen and shower due to both closed at 10…i highly recommend the other choose the other hostel,although the garden here is wonderful but this is not enough to cover the other disadvantage!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed for 1 night as a stop off on the way back from Abel Tasman NP and chose one of the private units out back.
Nice overall feel to the place and the en-suite room was clean with a good shower. The bed was comfortable and the area was quiet so I manged to get a good night's sleep. I didn't use any of the facilities in the main house, but it was relaxing in and around the back garden.

There is plenty of off-road parking and it is a 10 minute walk into the centre of Motueka where you can find plenty of places to eat, drink or shop.

Not a bad place, but nothing to get excited about.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leemwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

this was our first stay in a backpackers and sorry to say our last. our accommodation was good we had one of the new cabins in the back yard it was very clean and and well set out with our own onsuite.but sorry to say the main backpackers house was a mess and the kitchen was very messy we decided not to cook or eat there. a bit of hard work this could be a fantastic place.with well set out grounds

Room Tip: pay the extra and hire one of the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewRolleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This backpacker owned by a unfriendly German couple is the most terrible place I have ever stayed. They yelled at us when we were in the kitchen just a few minutes after 10 pm, they ascribed things to us we have never done and we did not felt welcomed at all !!
One night my backpack got stolen but they did not really care about and kept beeing as unfriendly as before.
I would rather sleep in a tent in the middle of nowhere than staying in this hostel again. Would not recommend it to anyone !

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Judith_022013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephantM0tueka, Owner at White Elephant Backpacker, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

When we check our guests in we always explain, that the kitchen can not be used after 10pm, because there is a room next to it. Unfortunately none of our staff can remember a report of a stolen backpack. We would usually report this to the police. I am very sorry that you had such bad experiences in our hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This won't be like ending up with the last pick of presents at Christmas. This White Elephant delivers. We stayed in one of the batches in the back and were very pleased. Basic accommodation, but very nice, and relatively convenient. Best deal in Abel Tasman park area. For a backpacker i give it top marks.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

...our stay was ruined by the location of our room, as it was between the entrance door, the kitchen and the room has two windows: one faces outside to the verandah with constant party noise coming in, the other windows face to a dorm room, at least the curtain was on our side.

The hostel and its garden is amazing indeed, with a quite good location (15 mins walk from city centre), a well-equipped spacious kitchen and available off-street parking. There is a supermarket nearby with reasonable food prices.

Room Tip: avoid the double room having windows to the verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
0.3 mi away
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
1.0 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Hat Trick Lodge Backpackers' Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#1 of 4 in Takaka
162 reviews
7.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 5 in Marahau
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#2 of 4 in Motueka
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Elephant Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Elephant Backpacker

Address: 55, Whakarewa Street | Tasman, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Motueka
Price Range: £14 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — White Elephant Backpacker 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base yourself in this friendly Motueka backpackers and lodge while you visit New Zealand’s Abel Tasman National Park & the Tasman and Nelson regions.Come and enjoy this elegant homestead or our new accommodation units with private bathroom and verandas, nestled in this Motueka backpackers’ mature garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your White Elephant Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Elephant Backpacker Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing