We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic day!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abel Tasman Canyons

Abel Tasman Canyons
Ranked #1 of 13 Tours in Motueka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Abel Tasman Canyons provides exciting guided canyoning trips in the popular Abel Tasman National Parks, the wild and remote Kahurangi National Park and the more accessible Mt Richmond Forest Park. We take you to our stunning places and help you to take a step (or two) out of your comfort zone. Slide down water polished chutes, jump into crystal clear pools and abseil through showering waterfalls.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a fantastic time on this trip! It was a lot of fun and we'd really recommend it! Our guide was very knowledgeable and made us feel safe the whole way, and very patient when I freaked out about one of the jumps - luckily I did it in the end! We'd definitely come back and do this again next time we're in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank alex645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasmanCanyons, Owner at Abel Tasman Canyons, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Awesome Alex, thanks for the review. We can't wait to take you on another adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

What a great experience!, Toine and his team were fantastic, all skill or confidence levels were catered for. The activity is safe and there is a great safety plan in place. What impressed me was the variety in the canyon from jumps, zip lines, abseils to slides. The Torrent river trip was fantastic, thanks so much

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasmanCanyons, Owner at Abel Tasman Canyons, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
You're welcome Steve! Great to get full marks from a seasoned reviewer like yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Highlight of our trip. Hands down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Definitly the coolest guided tour I have ever been on. Not just for tourists either. Every true blue kiwi should definitly give it a nudge, its an awsome way to see some of the most stunning sights of the country. Toine and Riki are awsome guides and two dudes that really know their stuff when it comes to scrambling their way down a canyon and making sure that you get every cent worth of fun out of the trip.Great value!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank hmrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasmanCanyons, Owner at Abel Tasman Canyons, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Wicked! Thank heaps for the review. So cool that we can amaze people in their own back yard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Wow, what can one say. We had the most amazing day spent with friends canyoning down the Torrent River, stunning scenery in a magical place. Riki and Diana were fantastic guides who made us feel safe while having the time of our lives. This is something I would recommend to everyone even if it is outside your comfort zone as at no time are you made to do the jumps etc if you don't feel you can. Thanks also for the great photos.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasmanCanyons, Owner at Abel Tasman Canyons, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Awesome Wendy, such a cool thing to do with a group of friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Billiant!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a great day out. Views were stunning, great company and brilliant tour guides. They really made us feel welcome, they were friendly, fun and really knew what they were doing. I was very nervous about it all, but felt really safe with them. Lunch and snacks provided were yummy and they took good pics alot of the time, so we've got treasured memories to look back on. Def something which should be done at least once in your life. It pushes your boundaries while having fun. Def recommend this trip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank EmmaG0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasmanCanyons, Owner at Abel Tasman Canyons, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thanks Emma! Always good to hear people feel safe around us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abel Tasman Canyons also viewed

Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Abel Tasman Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing