We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Motueka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We spent a couple of nights at this very quiet and secluded lodge motel, set back from busy roads, we were pleasantly surprised. The proprietors were friendly and helpful in providing advice and ticketing. We had good use of the common barbeque area, and grounds within the complex. We also partook in a long walk on trails just adjacent to the motel.

Room Tip: We had a room at the farthest point from the entrance, which was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highfade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

With 2 friends we were doing a tour of Northern Newzealnd South Island and staid in many motels. I would say this was the best, the location is quiet, the room quality very high, the facilities are well maintained and the pool and gardens make the location ideal. It is perfect for touring the Abel Tasman region.

Lisa and Alan are great hosts and very attentive and nothing seemed too much trouble. We had a 2 bedroom Apartment which was really comfortable.

We would wholly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brusk2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The motel is situated in a peaceful setting very close to the main shopping centre. Although it is an older style motel it was very comfortable and clean and had a very nice balcony looking over towards the swimming pool. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend the property.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

As far as I can tell, the Equestrian Lodge Motel is about as perfectly situated as one can be when visiting the Abel Tasman region. Located in the very heart of Motueka this attractive property is equidistant from the small city of Nelson and the Abel Tasman National Park. We used it as a jump off point for fly-fishing on the Motueka River, kayaking/hiking in the park, and shopping for crafts in Nelson. The husband and wife team who run the motel are Allan and Lisa and they are consistently of good cheer and perfectly knowledgeable about what is possible locally. The rooms were clean, comfortable and of sufficient size that four of us didn’t fall over each other. A full laundry, beautiful grounds with a pool and spa and an easy walk to town round out all of the reasons to stay here. A fantastic breakfast place is a 5 minute walk, as is the center of Motueka.

Room Tip: We were in #1 which is furthest from the laundry but no matter, seemed all of the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockridgeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlussa, Owner at Equestrian Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Hi John & Leslie,
Thank you for your great review - our 200th!! Also a massive thank you to everyone who has taken time to leave us reviews, we don't take ANY for granted, we'll try harder to make time to reply to more! As our regular guests already know, as each year goes by more improvements are made and this winter is no exception - there's no room for complacency here!!
Happy travelling!
Alan & Lisa :o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Equestrian Lodge and it was fantastic! The unit was clean, tidy and well presented and Lisa and Alan were lovely hosts! Our kids LOVED swimming in the pool and playing on the grass, trampoline and swings. Motueka is close to the start of the Able Tasman National Park and a lovely area to be. We would highly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Our room faced onto the grass with the pool across the other side - perfect for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VCG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We booked 3 nights at the Equestrian but after arriving and finding this perfect place we quickly booked to stay another 3 nights. Alan was so accommodating and it meant we got to try out a few different rooms. All rooms were spotlessly clean, the grounds and pool well maintained there is absolutely nothing to fault on this place amazing hosts we will definitely be back next year

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonyjtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay in this perfectly located Motel if you want to experience the Able Tasmin and easy access into Mouteka.
Alan & Lisa were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
Good pool and free BBQ to use.
Will always be in our memory since we saw in 2014 there.

Room Tip: All look equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
7.8 mi away
Abel Tasman Lodge
Abel Tasman Lodge
#1 of 2 in Marahau
253 reviews
17.9 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
17.6 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#2 of 4 in Motueka
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#4 of 4 in Motueka
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equestrian Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equestrian Lodge Motel

Address: 2 Avalon Court | Off Tudor Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Motueka
Price Range: £72 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Equestrian Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in our peaceful oasis just 5 minutes short stroll from Motueka high street. Our 15 ground floor units open out to our 2 acres of landscaped gardens. There is plenty of off-street parking for cars, boats and trailers. BBQ, dine or picnic in the shade of trees and sun umbrellas. Our facilities include children’s play area, solar heated swimming pool (seasonal) and private spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Equestrian Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equestrian Hotel Motueka
Equestrian Motel Motueka
Equestrian Lodge Motel Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing