We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Equestrian Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Motueka
Certificate of Excellence
oldham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is our 2nd visit and we picked this for friendly owners and helpful. Excellent accommodation in a lovely setting. Quiet location yet close to main centre and shops. Several cafés and restaurants close. Parking outside units.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and face garden and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    52
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
137
215
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Lodge last week meeting up with our daughter in New Zealand. The accommodation was first class with everything you needed for an enjoyable stay. I am sure if there had been a problem it would have been sorted straight away as Lisa and Alan couldn't have been more helpful. Thank you again - this was one of the highlights of our trip and certainly the best accommodation.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kaye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Thank you Lisa and Alan you guys are awesome.
beautifully clean apartment with everything we could possibly need. Fantastic grounds with fab BBQ area that we made good use of by the pool. Great location with a nice easy walk to the shops & restaurants. Excellent laundry facilities, off street parking and a under cover spa pool are just a few of the perks of staying at the Equestrian. Was most impressed with the information and local knowledge provided and your "nothing is a problem" attitude. I was delighted to have the opportunity to stay with you twice within a few weeks and sincerely hope to be able to stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We spent a couple of nights at this very quiet and secluded lodge motel, set back from busy roads, we were pleasantly surprised. The proprietors were friendly and helpful in providing advice and ticketing. We had good use of the common barbeque area, and grounds within the complex. We also partook in a long walk on trails just adjacent to the motel.

Room Tip: We had a room at the farthest point from the entrance, which was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highfade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

With 2 friends we were doing a tour of Northern Newzealnd South Island and staid in many motels. I would say this was the best, the location is quiet, the room quality very high, the facilities are well maintained and the pool and gardens make the location ideal. It is perfect for touring the Abel Tasman region.

Lisa and Alan are great hosts and very attentive and nothing seemed too much trouble. We had a 2 bedroom Apartment which was really comfortable.

We would wholly recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brusk2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The motel is situated in a peaceful setting very close to the main shopping centre. Although it is an older style motel it was very comfortable and clean and had a very nice balcony looking over towards the swimming pool. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend the property.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

As far as I can tell, the Equestrian Lodge Motel is about as perfectly situated as one can be when visiting the Abel Tasman region. Located in the very heart of Motueka this attractive property is equidistant from the small city of Nelson and the Abel Tasman National Park. We used it as a jump off point for fly-fishing on the Motueka River, kayaking/hiking in the park, and shopping for crafts in Nelson. The husband and wife team who run the motel are Allan and Lisa and they are consistently of good cheer and perfectly knowledgeable about what is possible locally. The rooms were clean, comfortable and of sufficient size that four of us didn’t fall over each other. A full laundry, beautiful grounds with a pool and spa and an easy walk to town round out all of the reasons to stay here. A fantastic breakfast place is a 5 minute walk, as is the center of Motueka.

Room Tip: We were in #1 which is furthest from the laundry but no matter, seemed all of the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockridgeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlussa, Owner at Equestrian Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Hi John & Leslie,
Thank you for your great review - our 200th!! Also a massive thank you to everyone who has taken time to leave us reviews, we don't take ANY for granted, we'll try harder to make time to reply to more! As our regular guests already know, as each year goes by more improvements are made and this winter is no exception - there's no room for complacency here!!
Happy travelling!
Alan & Lisa :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
20.6 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
17.5 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Split Apple Retreat
Split Apple Retreat
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#3 of 5 in Motueka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equestrian Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equestrian Lodge Motel

Property: Equestrian Lodge Motel
Address: 2 Avalon Court | Off Tudor Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Equestrian Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in our peaceful oasis just 5 minutes short stroll from Motueka high street. Our 15 ground floor units open out to our 2 acres of landscaped gardens. There is plenty of off-street parking for cars, boats and trailers. BBQ, dine or picnic in the shade of trees and sun umbrellas. Our facilities include children’s play area, solar heated swimming pool (seasonal) and private spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Equestrian Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equestrian Hotel Motueka
Equestrian Motel Motueka
Equestrian Lodge Motel Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing