We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choose your time to visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
Sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Choose your time to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We visited towards the end of the season and thee was plenty of choice of sites (All nice a grassy - Which after a few weeks of stopping in dust bowls is heaven) - the pool had plenty of custom but never felt crowded. And we had enough room for a run with a football with the kids - luxury : )

There was a couple of school trips in which broke the peace a little (No trouble - just high spirits) - Given its such a large site if was good to see good facilities but I'd dread to visit when full and you'd struggle to get a toe in the water - thankfully not a worry we had.

Staff in reception were very friendly and helpfull.

I'm sure in reality visitors will balance what they are there to do - Fishing, Arnhem Land, Boat tours etc. with timing and all the other factors that make a great trip Bugs - Temperature - Rain etc.

We left hapy we'd stayed.

Room Tip: If we stayed again we'd ask when checking in if any schools were coming through and where in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was pleasing to read your feedback on our property. Our staff were pleased to receive your positive comments.
Kakadu Lodge is a large property sprawling over 10 hectares. Even during the height of our peak season (first week of July) we are able to accommodate all of our guests comfortably. When we have large group numbers on the property our reception staff inform all of our independent travelers of where the groups are camping, so that they can make an informed decision on where they may end up choosing to camp.
The seasons in Kakadu are truly diverse and each season offers something unique. During the colder months (May- September) people generally find the pool only fit for polar bears as the water is quite chilly early in the morning and late in the afternoon. During the day most of our visitors are our exploring the vast wonders that Kakadu has to offer, as a result the pool is rarely crowded, contrary to your assumptions.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    196
    65
    8
    13
See reviews for
130
191
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed two nights in a cabin which was small, comfortable, clean and simple - all the things you need in a place to stay after a day of adventure. On-site bistro had a good range of meals on offer. The reception staff were excellent. Spoke to three different ladies who gave me some great advice on local tours and also made the bookings for us and processed payment, all no fuss. Really appreciated their advice as we wanted to make the best of our time. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bravomoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our staff were thrilled to receive such positive feedback on their knowledge and customer relations. It really does show that they still have great passion for our region even towards the end of a busy tourist season.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge.
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The staff were an excellent source of information to assist with choosing and booking tours suitable for families around Kakadu. We ended up on the Animal Tracks Safari.
The kids loved the large pool. There is a great pool side area for relaxing. Our cabin was basic but clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. A lot of effort is put into ensuring staff are trained on our wonderful region. They personally experience all of the tours available and provide feedback to the operators to help to enhance the visitor experience to our valued guests.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent food!! We ate here quite regularly during our stay in Jabiru. Thanks to Donna (reception) and Alice (restaurant/bar) for making it a memorable experience. This place does the best curries outside of India and they don't mind adding a bit of heat upon request.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 90210MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Donna was pleased to read your positive feedback. We will make Alice aware of you positive comments when she returns from holidays in a couple of months.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom cabin for AUD 200 per night which seems a bit excessive but there are very limited options for accommodation in Kakadu. The cabin was a good size but the bathroom was very small and the sink tiny, so difficult for brushing teeth and washing face. The airconditioner was rattly but since the cabin is concrete and really heats up we had to use the fans and airconditioning. the bedroom is also very small and hardly any space to walk around the bed to the other side. It would be a good idea for the owners to redesign the space and make the living area a bit smaller and increase the seize of bed- and bathroom.
Kakadu Lodge is a good option for a short stay to explore the region, also has a pool and nice bistro with good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birgit54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. We hope you enjoyed visiting all of the attractions that Kakadu has to offer. We are a little confused on your accommodation comments as we do not have any ensuite cabins that are built from concrete.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The lodge is fairly basic - our room (a cabin) with a double bed and two bunk beds was tiny and the bathroom even tinier - but this is probably the best situated place for exploding the region. There aren't many options in Jabiru, so don't expect something inexpensive, but the huge pool, the good and busy cafe, the access to a self-service laundry, the proximity to Kakadu bakery, are all pluses. The staff is friendly in a laid back sort of way and the large number of families makes this particularly kid friendly. Bottom line - reasonably good accommodation, perfectly located. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your time with us. We trust that you enjoyed the wonders that Kakadu has to offer.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our cabin was huge. Loved having a kitchen to use. The café there was surprisingly good. Had 2 meals there and enough leftovers to eat a supper in our room. A little hike from town so bring water. Made our stay between tours very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and you enjoyed the food from our poolside bar.
We trust you enjoyed the rest of your travels through Kakadu National Park.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jabiru
0.6 mi away
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
17.6 mi away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park

Property: Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
Address: Jabiru Drive, Jabiru, Northern Territory 0886, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Jabiru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Jabiru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
also 286 caravan and camping sites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakadu Lodge And Caravan Park Hotel Jabiru
Kakadu Hotel National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing