We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place!”
Review of Villa La Lodola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa La Lodola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have just returned from a five-day stay in La Lodola. What can we say that hasn't been said before?! There is little wonder that people come back to enjoy this little gem in the heart of Tuscany. The location is superb. Mario's warm welcome and hospitality are second to none. His advice on exploring the area is spot on. Not to mention his delicious cakes and jams.
A big plus in staying at La Lodola is the attached Osteria. Carlo's dishes are magnificently tasty and Manuela's advice on local wines complements the meal.
If you're heading to Tuscany, seeking a true Tuscan experience, then we highly recommend staying in La Lodola. We're definitely coming back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Junior Suite. Large room and bathroom. Nicely decorated. A window with a picturesqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DS_MHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodola, Proprietario at Villa La Lodola, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Read this nice review warms our hearts, thank you very much. We are happy that your stay here was nice.
We hope to see you again
greetings from Mario, Carlo e Manuela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have returned from a superb weeks holiday at Villa La Lodola - and were very impressed when we arrived and were met by Linda, one of the family. Staying here is like home from home, a Special place to stay. This is an italian family run business, and Mario and his family are warm friendly and very helpful, so is Luciana on Reception. Our room was superb we stayed in the Junior Suite with amazing views of the garden and countryside. Carlo, Mario's Son is the Chef in their "Osteria" restaurant. The Osteria has a nice atmosphere. The food is very good, we particularly enjoyed the home made Tomato Soup with Squid, tender Duck Breast and all the homemade Pasta! Mario makes the delicious cakes at breakfast, and also home made jams. Figs from the trees in the garden at breakfast, were wonderful. Swimming Pool is lovely, with infinity views over the countryside, a relaxing place to swim and read. The Villa is well located for holiday sight seeing.
I think it says it all, when I say we met a Dutch couple, also staying in the Villa who were on returning for their sixth visit.!!

Room Tip: We recommend the Junior Suite which has lovely views, double aspect windows, with view over the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahHains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodola, Proprietario at Villa La Lodola, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you very much for this nice review. We are happy that your stay here was nice, you know this is for us a great satisfaction.
We hope to see you again.
Greetings from all the staff of the Villa la Lodola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I felt an amazing warmth from the staff immediately upon arrival. The care and attention was personal, kind, gracious and truly special. This is an Italian family run business. Our room was lovely with two floors, a large bathroom with a shower, a tub upstairs, views of the countryside, smells from the kitchen and overall unique. The antiques were well chosen for the atmosphere. The dinner we had was one of the best we had the entire trip, including the dinning we did in Florence. Twice the lovely owners made us food when we had to run and had no time and both times it was spectacular. Breakfast (especially the coffee) was wonderful. The pool was an extra we didn't even know about. This is a villa that couldn't be anywhere else but in Tuscany. The other guests were Italian which gave me the impression this is where Italians come to visit. Overall, we will return and we will send our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodola, Proprietario at Villa La Lodola, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for this beautiful and accurate review. We are happy that your stay here was nice, it is important for us. We hope to see you again soon.
Greetings
Mario, Carlo and Manuela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was our 3rd visit to La Lodola and most of the other guests had also stayed here before. We could only get in for 2 nights and spent our first night in the suite, before moving to the basic room. The suite is lovely, on 2 floors with a free-standing bath in the bedroom. I can imagine it would be great in the winter, but it was a little too hot to use it this time. The lovely breakfasts prepared by Mario are the perfect start to the day, especially his freshly baked cakes. You must have dinner here in the osteria run by Carlo (Mario's son) and his wife Manuela. The food is delicious - especially the roast beef! What more can I say? We love coming here and can't wait for the 4th visit. Thank you La Lodola, see you all soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodola, Proprietario at Villa La Lodola, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thanks for the nice review. For us it is a joy to see come back you year after year.
We hope to see you back soon.
Greetings from Mario, Carlo e Manuela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were a tiny bit unimpressed when we first arrived ( as we had just come from 3 days in a medieval castle) and drove off a busy road to a car park next to an unimposing building. That said we found the simple and delicious food , attractive views and especially the warm and helpful welcome of the owners a true delight.
The views from the pool, the helpful advice about what to visit locally , the air conditioned small but quirky rooms were all great. Most of all , 2 of us enjoyed the afternoon in the kitchen with Carlo preparing the pasta , breads, roast, desserts for the osteria that evening. The menu changes daily and the restaurant attracts a mix of tourists and locals in equal measure. A new restaurant is planned to open shortly and we wish the owners much success.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChdeGaulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodola, Proprietario at Villa La Lodola, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for this nice review. Know that our host made ​​the difference is the most beautiful thanks to our work. Carlo is happy to have got a nice afternoon in the kitchen.
We'll see you soon.
Greetings from Mario, Carlo and Manuela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My friends and I stayed at this bed and breakfast for four days and fell completely in love with it. The house and rooms are so quaint and charming. They had an amazing view out onto rolling hills and you could watch a beautiful sunset. The service was unbelieveable, they would feed us snacks all day long, such as breads, cheeses, meats, and fresh cut up watermelon. The breakfast they serve in the morning is so good and so much of it is homemade. The dinner they have at the restaraunt is also so delicious and cultural. It's very family friendly and the pool looks out over a beautiful tuscan landscape of rolling hills. By the end of the trip we felt like the family who ran the place was part of our family. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtclink29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodola, Proprietario at Villa La Lodola, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for thinking of us again once you return home. These beautiful words make us happy. Having you here was a real pleasure.
We'll see you soon.
Greetings from Mario, Carlo and Manuela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Anone wishing to find a quiet and comfortable location need look no further than La Lodola. Wonderful views of the rolling Tuscan countryside, closely situated to some great medieval hill towns and a host who is a perfect gentleman in Mario. Nothing is too much to ask and the family all assist him in the running of the B&B as well as the restaurant you can not help but relax and enjoy your surroundings.
Before you leave ask Mario for a tour of his garden and taste the fruit, wonderful! Oh and dont forget the Orange Jam!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maseratiman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foiano Della Chiana hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel la Toscanina
Hotel la Toscanina
#4 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
76 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B Villa Luogoceleste
B&B Villa Luogoceleste
#1 of 6 in Foiano Della Chiana
126 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Forum
Hotel Forum
#2 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Il Dormiglione
Il Dormiglione
#7 of 10 in Foiano Della Chiana
3 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel L'Imperatrice
Hotel L'Imperatrice
#3 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fontelunga Hotel & Villas
Fontelunga Hotel & Villas
#1 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Lodola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Lodola

Address: Via Piana 19, 52045 Foiano Della Chiana, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Foiano Della Chiana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Foiano Della Chiana
Price Range: £73 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lodola is an old farmhouse dating back to 1700, restored with attention to detail and period furnishings from the owners Mario and Beatrice. The Villa Lodola, over the years, from a private house has been transformed into a charming B & B, opening to guests five en-suite bedrooms: Basic, Classic I, V Classic, Junior Suites and Suites. Spacious and welcoming, each one has its own personality, so the stay at Villa Lodola will never be the same.The Bed and Breakfast is nestled in the Val di Chiana, with view over the gentle rolling hills, a private horizon that guests can enjoy from the garden of the villa. The B&B is charming with a beautiful swimming pool, a restaurant where the chef prepares delicious Tuscan dishes and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa La Lodola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Lodola Tuscany/Foiano Della Chiana, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing