We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!”
Review of Villa Fontelunga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Fontelunga
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
456 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Albeit slightly remote, it's well worth the trip to experience this wonderful Tuscan manor with stunning views and wonderful staff. The entire grounds are beautifully kept, communal lunches, tennis court and swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
thak you very much for taking the time to write the review , i really appreciate it .
i m pleased that you think our staff is wonderful and that you had a lovely stay ! come back and see us again soon .
All the best Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    12
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
164
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My experience at Fontelunga was very personal and I felt like a welcomed guest in this villa rather than a stranger . I have some food sensitivities and Paolo and the other staff members went out of their way to accommodate me and find solutions so I had a great experience. The room as well as the rest of the villa is warmly decorated and my views of the country side lovely. As a solo traveller I was assisted with dinner reservations and winery tours and daily activities all of which we're exceptional experiences. I would return and have already recommended to others Fontelunga as a place to stay and explore beautiful Tuscany.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suerella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hello Susan , greetings from now a cold and foggy Tuscany . The 2013 season is now over and we look forward for our winter break in the sun .
I m very happy that you had a good time with us at Fontelunga and we hope to see you soon back in Tuscany for some more exploring and relaxing time .
All the best
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Villa Fontelunga is not situated in one of the typical, overrun tourist spots in Tuscany but rather is set in a unique part of the province of Arezzo and a little off the beaten track, in a beautiful rural setting. From the outset you are welcomed and encouraged to treat the Villa as your home-away-from-home and with the stylish, yet extremely comfortable furnishings on the ground floor, which includes an open plan kitchen, dining and sitting room and leading off that a charming library/television room, it is very easy to enter into the spirit of things! We were offered a welcome drink and shown around before being escorted to the lovely "Avorio" room on the first floor (which we had very kindly been upgraded to from a Double with Shower to a Superior). "Avorio" is decorated in a pretty pale yellow stripe, has a large ensuite bathroom leading off the entry hall, a generous armoire, dresser with a mirror above and a comfortable armchair. As with all the rooms, there is an MP3 player (ask how the volume button works!!) but no television to distract from the feeling of peace. In addition, the room enjoys a quite simply beautiful view from the bedroom and bathroom windows at the back of the Villa from whence the best view extends over the terrace, lawn and olive grove to the valley and mountains beyond and another pretty view over the drive and garden at the side of the Villa from a third window. As you can imagine, having three windows, "Avorio" is also filled with light but should you so desire, shutters can block out any hot summer sun, as we were here in early October this wasn't an issue and rather enjoyed having just the light filmy curtains as a screen across the window.

We met Paolo on the first of our two lovely nights at the Villa. He came and introduced himself as we were enjoying a picnic dinner (of our own improvisation) outside under the pergola by candlelight. We had a terrific chat and found him to be a wonderful host (who speaks excellent English - for those who are at all worried - thanks to his many years in England and his English husband, Phillip, whom we unfortunately did not get to meet this trip but who is chiefly to thank for the beautiful décor). Paolo has, of course, plenty of tips on what to see and do in the area and we can assure you that the Villa is perfectly placed to visit not only some of the delights of Tuscany (such as Arezzo, Cortona and a little further afield, Siena) but those of the neighbouring province of Umbria (such as Perugia, Assissi and once again, a little further afield, Gubbio). Even Rome is only a 2 hour drive away should you so desire. There is also a folder full of sheets for the taking, complete with directional driving instructions, dining suggestions and attractions for day trips (eg. trip to nearby Lago Trasemeno with suggestions for walking around Isola Maggiore and restaurant information) if you are looking for places to visit and things to do. In short, whether you wish to simply relax and soak up the wonderful atmosphere of Villa Fontelunga or venture out to see the sights, this is a perfect place to base yourself to explore this corner of Tuscany!

Dinners can be arranged at the Villa and although we ourselves did not indulge, other guests staying at the Villa did and they seemed to be extremely happy with the typical cuisine on offer (they had dinner both nights we were there so it must have been good!). On personal experience, we can certainly vouch for the quality of the breakfasts which had a good selection of cereals, fruit, bread, jams, honey and (amazingly for us Australians) Vegemite (!!), ham and cheese (on request), boiled eggs and a delicious variety of mouth-watering pastries along with the usual hot beverages: tea, hot chocolate and all manner of coffee from an impressive machine in the kitchen! An excellent start to anyone's day.

From the beautiful garden, inviting pool area (complete with piped music!) and comfortable pergola to the relaxed yet cosy interior of the Villa's public areas that blend old and new quite beautifully and on to the comfort and understated glamour of the guest rooms, Villa Fontelunga will not disappoint!

Room Tip: I'm sure there isn't a bad room at Villa Fontelunga and being in a quiet rural location ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJDowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Janine and Shaun , Grazie mille ! Tthis is what i call a very pretty good and informative review ! thank you ! Is is great to know that you had a good time in Tuscany and you like Fontelunga . As you know there are many lovely properties all around Tuscany ( and Tuscany is a quite large region) from simple farm houses and B&B to incredible palaces and castles and very posh hotels .Philip and I wanted to create a home-away-from-home feeling and over the last 14 years it seems we managed to do so .Please come and see us again in the near future ( i know Melbourne is not around the corner ...) .
All the best and enjoy your summer doenunder .
Ciao Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I highly recommend Villa Fontelunga, its a great place for everyone. As an american student going to Tuscany for his 21st birthday I was originally skeptical about choosing a hotel in a rather remote, rural location instead of in the center of one of the Tuscan hill towns, but I was more than happily surprised by the hospitality of Roberta, Phillip, Paolo, Paolo's adorable mother, Sergio, and the rest of the staff. This place is great and I guarantee you will enjoy your stay, it would be impossible not to.

As ignorant American students, my friends and I attempted to arrive by train and luckily found our way to the closest station in Lucignano. The quite obvious point to be learned from our experience is: you NEED a car. Nevertheless, once we arrived in Lucignano and realized that we were in the dead center of a very small little town without a taxi to be found, we called the hotel and within minutes Roberta was there in her car to pick us up and bring us the to hotel. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with a glass of prosecco, seated for lunch (delicious prosciutto sandwiches) on the great outdoor terrace all while Roberta organized with Avis to rent us a car the next morning (finding an automatic car was a little difficult!).

During lunch both owners, Paolo and Phillip, introduced themselves. They were great. Every review on here already describes their qualities perfectly, but I will say they created an atmosphere in Villa Fontelunga that is so welcoming! My friends and I truly felt like we were vacationing for the weekend at our friends private villa rather than a hotel. We aways felt included and yet were never overwhelmed, Paolo and Phillip know when to respect your privacy.

After lunch, Phillip and Paolo offered us a free upgrade for both our rooms. Roberta gave us the grand tour of the property, showed us every vacant room, and let us choose the two that we wanted. We chose the Junior Suite detached from the main villa and right by the pool, and another suite in the villa with the best views of the Tuscan landscape. The rooms are so comfortable and designed perfectly. I stayed in the Junior Suite and I loved the layout of the room with a nice sitting area, great french doors that open out to a private little courtyard and the pool, and a spa-like bathroom. Every room even comes equipped with Dr. Dre MP3 players wirelessly connected to the Villa's extensive collection of relaxing songs. Phillip and Paolo did not miss a beat when designing this hotel.

Because we did not have a car the first day we relaxed by the pool, played Bocce, enjoyed a snack of dried meats and regional cheeses, took a nap and then prepared for the Friday night dinner party. I highly, highly recommend the dinner party if you are staying at the Villa a Friday night. The three course meal starts with appetizers (amazing vegetable tempura like snacks) and includes wine. The lasagna was amazing!

Because we spent the entire day on the property, we befriended Sergio quickly. Sergio really was the best! We asked for his personal advice on places to go out at night considering it was my 21st birthday. He knew we did not have a car, but organized a great night for us regardless. He called all his friends and was able to get us a VIP table at a club opening in Arrezzo. After dinner, he picked us up in his own car and we all drove to the club. He took care of every detail almost in a professional manner, but we all enjoyed the night together as good new friends. We left the club at 4 in the morning, stopped by a local food truck for amazing sausage sandwiches, and were back at the Villa by 4:30. It was actually one of the best club experiences I have had in all of Europe.

The next morning we enjoyed the included breakfast buffet - not huge but really good. Im not much of a breakfast person to begin with, but I enjoyed the fresh juices, fruit salad, and toast. After breakfast Paolo's mother, who spoke no English but was so nice, drove us in her car to the Avis rental agency on her way to go shopping. We were so grateful for the ride. Once we rented the car we enjoyed our day in Cortona. After Cortona we drove home to the Villa and rested. We asked Paolo for some advice on where to go for dinner and they recommended we head to Sienna for the night - which we did. Although it was not the closest town it was definitely a place I'm glad I saw. The main piazza is very impressive and we shared a great meal.

We left on sunday morning, driving to Arezzo and dropping our car off at an Avis adjacent to the train station. Before we left, Paolo and Phillip bid us farewell with a complimentary bottle of prosecco as a birthday present. We had the best time in Tuscany and recommend it to anyone and everyone.

Thank you so much Paolo and Phillip, and the rest of the staff. You made our trip amazing.

Alex

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but the Junior Suite is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hello Alex , thank you for your review. I m very happy that you and Diva and the girls had a good time in Tuscany for your birthday. Mission accomplished ! come and see us again
all the best Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Well once again we arrived at the villa for our 14th visit. We were greeted with a cold glass of Proscecco and a plate of freshly cooked pasta. It really was like returning home. We are always made to feel welcome at this villa. Dogs Charlie and Lucy are a pleasure to have around.

There are some excellent new improvements. A Jacuzzi with a built in bar with soft music playing in the back ground. A hammock hidden in the trees for the time you feel you want to be alone with your thoughts.

An absolute must if you need a break away from it all.

We are already arranging our next visit Easter 2014....visit no: 15 coming up!!!!

Thank you Paolo and Philip for making our stays so perfect we want to keep coming back!!

Room Tip: Ametista is a must. This room has fantastic views over the mountains. If this room isn't avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddybear0070_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
A&J hello and thank you ! as usual it is fantastic to see you back at Fontelunga , you are part of the furniture now ! ( especially the gazebo ! ) J very happy as well that you liked the new Jacuzzi and that you went in it various time.
Until next season ,
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

It sounds really cheesy to say this but Villa Fontelunga is honestly a little slice of heaven. As soon as my friends and I arrived, all the stresses of the previous week melted away. We were greeted by the lovely Roberta who said 'this is your home for the next week so please treat it like your home' - and we did! We totally relaxed, the staff (and owners) are absolutely amazing - they are there when you need or want anything but you can also be alone if you choose to be. The setting is so beautiful and every detail has been thought about. It doesn't matter where you are in the Villa - in the gorgeous indoor open-plan living/kitchen area, the relaxing outdoor cabana area (with open fire when the evenings get a little chilly) or the stunning pool area, everything is just perfect - I honestly cannot fault it. Many people may think this is a place for couples - but I went with 2 friends and we had the best time so it is suitable for anyone who wants to unwind and enjoy what Villa Fontelunga has to offer. Thank you so much Paulo for an amazing holiday and hopefully we'll get to meet Philip next year!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hello Debbie, good to hear from you ! It was great to have you , Kate and Cassie at Fontelunga.
I really hope to see you again soon and to have a glass of Prosecco together in the gazebo in front of fire .
all the best Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My Australian nephew held his wedding here and it was a fantastic venue.
Set in the classic Tuscan countryside this small group of villas-large and small make an ideal location for a small wedding party.
Lots of little things make it obvious that Paolo and Phillip know their stuff! By the pool and outdoor jacuzzi there is a drinks fridge and honesty book-as there is inside the main villa. Bikes lean against the wall tempting us to get some exercise!
Beautiful views across the top of Olive trees to the hills in the distance make this place really ,instantly, relaxing.
Rooms are all very individually designed and very comfortable. Breakfast is a tempting spread in the kitchen area but could do with a little more variety for a luxury B&B ,as it is describes itself.
The wedding dinner could not be faulted for the taste and presentation-seated on the terrace under the elegant canopy.
There are some really laid back small dogs that generally saunter around knowing they own the place!
One final point -the civil ceremony was 30 minute drive away in a small ancient town ,Cortona, in the Town Hall which is small and spectacular-over 1200 yrs old. This a very special place to get married in.
All in all a really memorable 2 days.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Kevin , thank you very much for your personal email and for the review here on TA.
This season we had few weddings at Fontelunga but I have to say Victoria and Alex was pretty special ! I m really pleased that you had 2 memorable days with us .
All the best
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foiano Della Chiana
22.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
655 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,151 reviews
12.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
13.2 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
513 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Fontelunga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Fontelunga

Property: Villa Fontelunga
Address: Via Conicchio 5, 52045 Foiano Della Chiana, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Foiano Della Chiana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Foiano Della Chiana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Fontelunga 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our holiday villas, owned and run by English and Italian friends, provide a stylish and relaxing retreat in Italy. Our Guests are warmly welcomed at their holiday accommodation and invited to treat their Villa as their "home from home" in an atmosphere of informal luxury. The elegant Villa Fontelunga is set above the Val di Chiana enjoying panoramic views across the countryside of Tuscany towards the hilltop town of Cortona, whilst the Villas are nestled close by in the historic Scannagallo valley. Crafted from traditional materials, the holiday villas are now a marriage of traditional Tuscan style and contemporary design. "Until now it has been difficult to find more than 'rustic charm' when it comes to villa rental in Tuscany; with our unique "Fontelunga" concierge service and luxurious contemporary styling, at last there is something more for the discerning traveller, your tailor made, perfect home away from home." Our holiday villas portfolio in Tuscany includes: Villa Fontelunga sleeping 16 to 18 (also run as a luxury "B and B") and within 10 minutes walk at Fattoria di Scannagallo in the Scannagallo valley, two new villas; Gallo sleeping 4 and Galletto sleeping 2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Fontelunga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Fontelunga Hotel Foiano Della Chiana
Fontelunga Hotel Foiano Della Chiana
Villa Fontelunga Tuscany/Foiano Della Chiana, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing