We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fontelunga Hotel & Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent three glorious days at Villa Fontelunga. The setting is beautiful in a wonderful Tuscan valley, and is very well placed for day trips across the Tuscany region. The room was great as was the service, which was very warm and friendly. Paolo and Philip know the local region better than anyone, and provide some great references and written directions for local restaurants and sight seeing. We couldn't have had a more relaxing and enjoyable few days, and can't wait to return to what must be one of the most scenic villas around.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig_from_StIves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Fontelunga Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hello Craig , thank you for your review and greetings from a lovely sunny Tuscany .
I know you a re not around the corner , but we are looking forward to welcoming you back in Tuscany soon .
ciao Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Villa Fontelunga for our 30th wedding anniversary in a deluxe room called Amethysta. It was just perfect. Paolo and Philip are great hosts and make you feel so at home and relaxed. Our room was spotless and had the most wonderful view. Breakfast is very relaxed and nothing is too much trouble. It is a little out of the way and hard to find in the dark but it's definitely worth it! We will certainly be going back. Thank you so much Paolo and Philip for making our anniversay so memorable and making us feel so welcome. I am still missing Charlie!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanledain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Fontelunga Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hello Susan , thank you so much for the review . I m very happy that you and Perry had a good 30 year anniversary with us .Charlie is getting Used to the puppies but I m sure he is wondering when they are going away ...
We hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at Villa Fontelunga for a few days this month and although the weather was mixed we had a wonderful time. Paolo, Philip and Sergio were fantastic hosts and the villa really feels more like a home than a hotel. The first night we were the only guests and Paolo had booked us a restaurant for the evening. When we returned from dinner we found the music playing in the lovely living/dining room and lots of candles lit inside and outside, just for us. You can help yourself to a drink from the well-stocked honesty bar and have a relaxing evening. There is a folder with lots of great suggestions for trips, always accompanied by some thoughtful restaurant recommendations. We would certainly come back, hopefully next time in better weather so that we can also use the pool in the lovely grounds.

Room Tip: First floor rooms with lovely garden and countryside views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulrike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Fontelunga Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hello Ulrike and Joachin , Happy Easter and thank you for the review .
Happy to hear that you liked "your" candle lit evening at Fontelunga !
Hope to see you back soon ,
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Reading all the positive comments we arrived with high expectations, but our stay surpassed all of these.
Our view is - this is an absolute gem. The hosts, Paolo and Philip and their staff are wonderful; attentive without being intrusive, and nothing was too much.
My husband is a road bike fanatic, and they sourced him a really good road bike to rent.
The food would be worthy in our humble opinion of one of those shiny Michelin stars.... They gave us lots of really good recommendations for local restaurants and for things to do, but shame on me ( not my energetic partner) I just enjoyed relaxing...
Our room was well - I can't use too many superlatives without sounding ridiculous. Let's just say, as Arnie does, that, "we'll ( not I'll) be back"

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank moira68kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Fontelunga Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hello Moira and Justin ! Thank you , thank you , thank you for the review .
i m so Happy that you had a lovely time at Fontelunga and that the bike for Justin was what he was looking for . Now i know where to go to rent professional bikes !
Happy Easter and see you soon back in Tuscany , you for total relaxing and Justin for some more biking in the Tuscan hills
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here - we were the only guests at their opening of the summer season. The villa is beautiful, Sergio and Roberta were lovely hosts, the decor is a great mix of modern and ancient and the breakfast was beautifully laid out (even when it was just us in the whole villa). They even gave us great restaurant recommendations in the area. I echo some of the other comments in saying that we felt more like weekend guests at someone's home than paying customers. A lovely place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Fontelunga Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Hello Thomas and Tina , thank you for your review! I m sorry that Philip and myself were not here to welcoming you at Fontelunga but I see that Roberta and Sergio did an excellent job in looking after you . you opened the 2014 season here in Tuscany , Thank you for choosing Fontelunga again !
All the best ,
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Albeit slightly remote, it's well worth the trip to experience this wonderful Tuscan manor with stunning views and wonderful staff. The entire grounds are beautifully kept, communal lunches, tennis court and swimming pool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Fontelunga Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

thak you very much for taking the time to write the review , i really appreciate it .
i m pleased that you think our staff is wonderful and that you had a lovely stay ! come back and see us again soon .
All the best Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My experience at Fontelunga was very personal and I felt like a welcomed guest in this villa rather than a stranger . I have some food sensitivities and Paolo and the other staff members went out of their way to accommodate me and find solutions so I had a great experience. The room as well as the rest of the villa is warmly decorated and my views of the country side lovely. As a solo traveller I was assisted with dinner reservations and winery tours and daily activities all of which we're exceptional experiences. I would return and have already recommended to others Fontelunga as a place to stay and explore beautiful Tuscany.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suerella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Fontelunga Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hello Susan , greetings from now a cold and foggy Tuscany . The 2013 season is now over and we look forward for our winter break in the sun .
I m very happy that you had a good time with us at Fontelunga and we hope to see you soon back in Tuscany for some more exploring and relaxing time .
All the best
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foiano Della Chiana
4.7 mi away
Hotel Forum
Hotel Forum
#2 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
178 reviews
11.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
680 reviews
12.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 2 in Piazzano
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel la Toscanina
Hotel la Toscanina
#4 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
76 reviews
6.6 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
328 reviews
8.2 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontelunga Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontelunga Hotel & Villas

Address: Via Conicchio 5 | Pozzo della Chiana, 52045 Foiano Della Chiana, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Foiano Della Chiana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Foiano Della Chiana
Price Range: £139 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fontelunga Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our holiday villas, owned and run by English and Italian friends, provide a stylish and relaxing retreat in Italy. Our Guests are warmly welcomed at their holiday accommodation and invited to treat their Villa as their "home from home" in an atmosphere of informal luxury. The elegant Villa Fontelunga is set above the Val di Chiana enjoying panoramic views across the countryside of Tuscany towards the hilltop town of Cortona, whilst the Villas are nestled close by in the historic Scannagallo valley. Crafted from traditional materials, the holiday villas are now a marriage of traditional Tuscan style and contemporary design. "Until now it has been difficult to find more than 'rustic charm' when it comes to villa rental in Tuscany; with our unique "Fontelunga" concierge service and luxurious contemporary styling, at last there is something more for the discerning traveller, your tailor made, perfect home away from home." Our holiday villas portfolio in Tuscany includes: Villa Fontelunga sleeping 16 to 18 (also run as a luxury "B and B") and within 10 minutes walk at Fattoria di Scannagallo in the Scannagallo valley, two new villas; Gallo sleeping 4 and Galletto sleeping 2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fontelunga Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Fontelunga Hotel Foiano Della Chiana
Fontelunga Hotel Foiano Della Chiana
Fontelunga Hotel & Villas Tuscany/Foiano Della Chiana, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing