We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Fontelunga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Fontelunga
Certificate of Excellence
St Helier, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Villa Fontelunga was everything we had looked forward to and more on the first (of many we hope!) visits. On arrival at this beautiful place we were made to feel so welcome by Philip and Paolo that we felt at home straight away. Our room was beautiful with just the right mix of contemporary features and home comforts, even down to Molton Brown toiletries and lavender and rosemary bah salts. The view of the olive groves from our bedroom window was breathtaking and we never tired of it.

The grounds are beautiful - just right for a gentle wander with lots of relaxing places to sit. Unfortunately we did not use the pool as it was not warm enough during our stay in early April but maybe we can rectify that on another occasion!

Local information was supplied in the form of printed sheets and talking to Philip and Paolo who also suggested different routes to many of the places. They were also great in recommending and booking excellent restaurants serving beautiful fresh food, simply cooked. We enjoyed some lovely dinners, both at the Villa and elsewhere and eating breakfast outside on the terrace was always the first treat of the day. Paolo your recipe for marble cake was great - first one made and
enjoyed!

Hope all the four-legged friends are well and that we shall see you all again before too long!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryandalan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for the review . really glad you tried my recipe for the marble cake !
you wiil have to come back to try out the pool !
ciao Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    12
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
158
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Fabulous welcome last year and only just round to writing up. Loved the honesty bar, decor, room, bikes to rent, views. Only pity was poor weather so didn't use pool. Access great to lovely villages and easily get car/train to Florence for day trip.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hello Clare , thank you for your review ! Sorry last year the weather was not perfect ...maybe you should come back for your anniversary and maybe the sun will be out for your to relax by the pool !
all the best ,
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Villa Fontelunga was an utter treat on our first (hopefully of many) visits this last week; the warmest welcome, a beautifully appointed room - exactly the right blend of contemporary design and home comforts (including Molten Brown toiletries) - beautiful views out to olive groves and beyond and lovely, relaxing sitting areas with magazines, guide books and carefully prepared information to ensure that visitors are able to squeeze every bit of enjoyment out of this lesser-trodden corner of Tuscany. Paolo had reserved a table for dinner at a local restaurant for our first night. It was incredible - food prepared for us by Massimo, a passionate maestro of 'slow food', who patiently explained each dish to make choosing easy. There was no need to worry ...every dish here and indeed at all of the restaurants recommended by Paolo were wonderful in every respect - atmosphere, authenticity, amazing ingredients prepared simply, fantastic wines and all at exceptionally good value. Our dinner party night hosted by Paolo at the Villa was such fun - we met other interesting people and were still chatting and adding wine to the 'honesty list' until 1am. Paolo and Philip have created a very special place that blends luxury and laid back style - Villa Fontelunga is totally at ease with itself, which makes for a great place for visitors to sink into and enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 51ViviM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Viv and Paul , thank you , than you for the review , mission accomplished !
We look forward to welcoming you back at Fontelunga in July
All the best Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We Spent Easter weekend at Villa Fontelunga - a beautiful and relaxing place to spend the long weekend.

The villa is beautiful - in a small village in Tuscany but close to the most amazing hilltop towns and easily close enough to visit Sienna or Florence for the day.

We arrived to be welcomed by Charlie the dog and a couple of Aperol Spritz in the sun before being shown to our rooms. Simply and beautifully decorated with shuttered windows opening over the olive groves and the Tuscan countryside.

The Friday night a dinner party was hosted by Paolo and Philip - the owners of the villa - a fun evening of Prosecco, Tuscan food and local wine. Getting to know the other guests and the owners in a genuinely fun environment - before we knew it, and many glasses of wine later, we were all still chatting at 1am.

All weekend, Paolo and Philip couldn't do enough to make our stay perfect. We travelled around a lot and they even advised on the best way to drive to enjoy the journey. Every night they'd arranged a restaurant booking at local hilltop town, and every morning we were welcomed with coffee as we came down for breakfast.

This really did feel more like being welcomed into somebody's home than staying in an anonymous hotel - but in no way oppressive. Paolo and Philip are perfect hosts and their villa is a wonderful place to visit

Room Tip: Two rooms at the front of the property overlook the beautiful olive groves and Tuscan countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hello MAtt , thank you for your review : mission accomplished ! Philip and I are always very happy when our guests enjoy the villa and our recommendations!
Hope to see you again , maybe in a different season so you can enjoy the pool as well.
all the best
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We arrived a bit later than our usual time as we couldn't get an earlier flight and the hosts were waiting there for us with a bottle of the fantastic Villa Fontelunga house wine.....most welcome after our long journey. We chatted long into the night in front of the open fire in the gazebo...the mainstay of our visit EVERY TIME!!! We're thinking of getting 2 card board cutouts to place in our seats as we are there so many times!! :)
Food at the Villa is always freshly prepared and cooked and we sampled quite a variety of delicious Italian cuisine.
The resident dog, Lucy, had given birth to 3 gorgeous puppies 4 weeks before our arrival and they certainly added to the enjoyment of our stay. Charlie, the other dog, was a constant joy too!!.
We mixed, as per usual, with the other guests and we have again made new friends from the other side of the world.
We again visited the wonderful restaurant La Lodola. Food as per normal amazingly good!
We ventured into the amazing Jacuzzi facing the valley with a chilled bottle of wine...had music playing in the background and felt totally relaxed!
If you are looking for views, relaxation, good company, fantastic food and service we thoroughly recommend Villa Fontelunga!!!
Already arranging our next visit, hopefully October this year and definitely next Easter!!!!

Room Tip: We always stay in the same room, Ametista. This has fantastic views of the mountains and the valleys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teddybear0070_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Angela and James , always a pleasure to see you and spend time together ! Puppies will miss you and we look forward to October !
Love to both
P&P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent three glorious days at Villa Fontelunga. The setting is beautiful in a wonderful Tuscan valley, and is very well placed for day trips across the Tuscany region. The room was great as was the service, which was very warm and friendly. Paolo and Philip know the local region better than anyone, and provide some great references and written directions for local restaurants and sight seeing. We couldn't have had a more relaxing and enjoyable few days, and can't wait to return to what must be one of the most scenic villas around.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig_from_StIves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello Craig , thank you for your review and greetings from a lovely sunny Tuscany .
I know you a re not around the corner , but we are looking forward to welcoming you back in Tuscany soon .
ciao Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southgate
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Villa Fontelunga for our 30th wedding anniversary in a deluxe room called Amethysta. It was just perfect. Paolo and Philip are great hosts and make you feel so at home and relaxed. Our room was spotless and had the most wonderful view. Breakfast is very relaxed and nothing is too much trouble. It is a little out of the way and hard to find in the dark but it's definitely worth it! We will certainly be going back. Thank you so much Paolo and Philip for making our anniversay so memorable and making us feel so welcome. I am still missing Charlie!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanledain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hello Susan , thank you so much for the review . I m very happy that you and Perry had a good 30 year anniversary with us .Charlie is getting Used to the puppies but I m sure he is wondering when they are going away ...
We hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foiano Della Chiana
19.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
22.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
11.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel L'Imperatrice
Hotel L'Imperatrice
#2 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
13.2 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
8.1 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Fontelunga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Fontelunga

Property: Villa Fontelunga
Address: via Cunicchio 5, 52045 Foiano Della Chiana, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Foiano Della Chiana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Foiano Della Chiana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Fontelunga 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our holiday villas, owned and run by English and Italian friends, provide a stylish and relaxing retreat in Italy. Our Guests are warmly welcomed at their holiday accommodation and invited to treat their Villa as their "home from home" in an atmosphere of informal luxury. The elegant Villa Fontelunga is set above the Val di Chiana enjoying panoramic views across the countryside of Tuscany towards the hilltop town of Cortona, whilst the Villas are nestled close by in the historic Scannagallo valley. Crafted from traditional materials, the holiday villas are now a marriage of traditional Tuscan style and contemporary design. "Until now it has been difficult to find more than 'rustic charm' when it comes to villa rental in Tuscany; with our unique "Fontelunga" concierge service and luxurious contemporary styling, at last there is something more for the discerning traveller, your tailor made, perfect home away from home." Our holiday villas portfolio in Tuscany includes: Villa Fontelunga sleeping 16 to 18 (also run as a luxury "B and B") and within 10 minutes walk at Fattoria di Scannagallo in the Scannagallo valley, two new villas; Gallo sleeping 4 and Galletto sleeping 2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Fontelunga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Fontelunga Hotel Foiano Della Chiana
Fontelunga Hotel Foiano Della Chiana
Villa Fontelunga Tuscany/Foiano Della Chiana, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing