We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely short break”
Review of Villa La Grotta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa La Grotta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely short break”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this through Secret Escapes and the villa was a great base for our four night stay. We had a larger room with a kitchenette, with separate living and sleeping areas. The villa is in a very quiet spot but easy to get to and near the A1 which takes you to all of the hotspots. We didn't go into the pool but sat and read by it and had a pizza one night in the garden. It was lovely and quite and beautiful.

The breakfast was good - plenty of cereals, fruit, pastries, bread, meat, cheese etc

We had a good massage there but I wish it could have been done in a quieter area - like our room maybe. There wasn't the usual plinky plonky music (which is fine) so all I could hear throughout was staff having a chat outside the door in reception and the noise of breakfast being cleared up. The kitchenette could have been better stocked, with glasses and whatnot without having to ask, but overall it was very good. We didn't have a balcony and I'd have really liked one - perhaps it could stipulate when booking whether or not your room has one. I'd have paid a bit more for one. We saw an enormous quadruple sized balcony at the front of the villa so were a bit gutted not to have one especially as we paid more for a suite.

On the last day we had a puncture on our hire car and the staff were so lovely and helpful. They called a mechanic for us and we made our flight!

Overall very good for a short stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    90
    22
    18
    10
See reviews for
48
300
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Wonderful villa and even more wonderful staff and owner! We booked this not knowing a thing about tuscany or Italy all the way from the Canadian west coast (Chilliwack bc). It was excellent!! Wonderful staff, great breakfast, nice pool and deck, excellent overall villa. Security and privacy where great and it totally felt like small town Italy. The staff is very helpful to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and they provide great recommendations for non tourist sights as well as exceptional food and wine. Great great place!!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs here but that helps to work off the food and wine. All rooms are good just some have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked a short break through Secret Escapes and stayed at the wonderful Villa La Grotta. We stayed in the da vinci room...had a fantastic view of the pool, gardens and surrounding hills. From the moment we arrived, the hotel manager Vlad and Simone were great. Some great humour and lovely hosts, they made us feel welcome and were helpful in sorting some trips out. We wilol definitely be back and next time for a longer stay!!! Thanks Vlad.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Just so it is clear, this could either be a 2 or 3 rating. It wasn't an unmitigated disaster but there were some very odd and disappointing features to this place. Firstly it is very far from anything and I pretty much mean anything. It's about 8 miles from the motorway. This isn't necessarily a problem if you have all you need within the hotel. But this place doesn't really have anything.

Forgive me this is not a hotel and as stated above it is simply not a 4 star hotel.

There is no room service, you can't have dinner or lunch as it is not served. In terms of lunch, they serve it sometimes. What this means I couldn't be bothered to ask. They only sell coffee, tea and wine during the day. I did ask for a beer and they had one bottle left !

Breakfast is ok, usual bread, meat, cheese, fruit and cereal. There have been people on here who said that they had the best cappuccino ever. Either they don't know what they are talking about or the manner in which the coffee has been prepared has changed. The coffee tasted as though it came from a machine and the cappuccino was the worst we had ever had. It was black coffee with a foam top !

In terms of what to do, there is pretty much nothing. All you can do is sunbathe and swim in the icy pool. Wifi only works in reception and it is a poor connection. There is a jacuzzi which you are charged for the privilege, it costs 95 euros for one hour which is extortionate. It's a standard jacuzzi outside the top rooms with no view as it is in the roof. There is a big skylight which doesn't add much. There are other jacuzzi "packages" that the hotel offer and the one that made us laugh was the 500 euro package. For this you get to use it all night with one bottle of champagne. Unless you're making a porn movie I don't see why anyone would take up this offer !

The rooms. We were in the attic and ours I think was the best of the worst. Beware. It was very hot, there's no air conditioning but you can use a fan which they provide. Apart from the skylight there are no windows. You can't really leave the skylight open as birds try to get in and due to lack of ventilation it becomes very hot. As it's an attic room, the roof slopes so we were constantly banging our heads. We asked to change rooms and were first told that would be ok the next day and then were told there were no rooms. Also as there are no windows it's quite dingy.

The actual room and decor were fine but it is not a room that you could just chill in. We felt ourselves having to spend as much time away as possible.

The staff were friendly and pleasant. In terms of food and drink around, there was one convenience store and two pizzerias. One was passable and the other was very good. They are a good 15 minute walk down a steep hill. If you want anything else then you will have to drive. This is a bit of a shame as only one person can drink.

All in all this is a nice place if all you want is to relax but do not expect the usual amenities a hotel has and do not stay in the attic rooms !

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank Rabin N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaLaGrottaSt... V, Manager at Villa La Grotta, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Mr. Rabin,

First of all I would like to thank you for your review regarding Villa la Grotta. As you can see on the name, we are a villa and not a hotel and honestly we aren’t planning to be a hotel . As you had notice during your 4 nights stay the atmosphere here is not like in an hotel , we like to say to our guests that this is their Tuscany home and we do all our best to make them feel like home .
Tripadvisor it’s an important tool for us because is a good way to see how we work and to know where do we have to improve in order to satisfy our guests needs .
I believe that your review is rude and I will give you my reasons why I’m thinking that

1.We offer room service , it’s enough to call reception from your room . We do also lunch every day in the beautiful garden and we have the menu for lunch at reception and I can’t imagine how you can’t manage to see it because it’s written with big letters.
2.Regarding the coffee and cappuccino that you say that was the worst ever , I think that it wasn’t that bad since you order every morning 3 coffees each one … I doesn’t makes sense .
3. What makes me really think that your review is rude is that you where so excited to book the SPA aria for you and your wife and by the moment when my colleague show you the SPA with cinema inside and sky view you said “wow” .The next day you come down at reception and said that you want to book the private SPA and once I had told you the prices it became a “standard” SPA didn’t want any more to book it . you had in your room the price list of the SPA and the promotions . The €500,00 package includes two lunches , two 1h massages and 1 bottle of champagne and you don’t have to make a porn movie to take this package ( I appreciate your humor ) , you can enjoy a movie from the Jacuzzi as our SPA haves cinema inside
4 . By the time when you had book with expedia.com , on the website every room haves a description and photos in this way our guests know before how is the type of room that they choose to stay so you where informed what type of room you had booked. When you said you want to change the room because is attic we had look together on my planning and you saw that we were fully booked so it was impossible for us to change your room . Otherwise I would happily change it because the most important thing for me as manager of Villa la Grotta is to make sure that our guests are happy !
5 . Regarding the position of the villa , we are 12 km from the A1 motorway and we are situated in the heart of Tuscany and I think this is an advantage because it allows you to do daily escapes to the main art cities such as Florence , Arezzo and Siena . Also we are surrounded by restaurants reachable by foot or by car and the village is a 5 minute walk not 15 minute walk ask you said .
I’m happy to read that all in one this villa is a nice place to relax and I feel privileged to notice that you made a tripadvisor account just to review Villa la Grotta

Greetings from the beautiful Tuscany,
Vlad Tudor Aivanoaei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked a short foodie break through Secret Escapes to Tuscany and had the absolute pleasure of staying at Villa La Grotta. From the moment we arrived, the hotel manager Vlad, made us feel incredibly welcome. We were lucky enough to have the main suite and wow, what a room. Overlooking the pool and gardens the suite is beautiful, a huge living room and double bedroom with a great shower room. The staff couldn’t have been more helpful and they gave us some great recommendations for local sites and restaurants, many of which had great discounts if you booked through the Villa. It’s nicely located for day trips to Florence, Sienna and Pisa. If you’re thinking about visit Tuscany definitely look at Villa La Grotta, it’s a little bit of paradise in the Tuscan Hills!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Villa itself is in a superb location, the surrounding areas are beautiful. The acommodation was excellent. All the staff are so friendly and helpful and Simona and Vlad went way beyond normal customer service expectations. For us they were exceptional and nothing was too much bother.

There is a long drive from Pisa airport but that was in the package we were travelling on and for us it added to the experience - that was nothing to do with the Villa itself.

If you want a peaceful experience but with the possibilities of getting the best from the area, this is the place. We would go back definitely and would recommend it to anyone looking for the kind of trip we were completing.

Loved the place and the staff.

Room Tip: The "Suite" is excellent - if you can't "do" stairs" ask for the lowest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_GrumpyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had the recent occasion to stay here for 5 nights. Never having spent time in Tuscany before, we hoped we could travel around to the hill top towns and make this our home base.

At first, we felt that the Inn was too far away from the Autostrada, but, once we got comfortable with the routes, found it to be well located.

Vlad and Simona are wonderful hosts and extremely helpful. Our room (we opted for a room on the third floor - which meant walking up and down a high number of flights each time we went to the room) was fine. With the opportunity of having open windows and lots of fresh air, we slept very well.

Unfortunately, the water pressure was not great but that did not upset our stay. There had a been a thunder storm before we arrived and that had destroyed the internet access in the rooms. We had to access the internet from the main floor only. Again, this did not affect our pleasure. We enjoyed having a glass of wine and sitting outside in the late afternoon surfing the internet.

There are a number of high quality restaurants nearby. We found this surprising because we felt that we were in the countryside!

Vlad and Simona served a wonderful breakfast everyday... consisting of a large array of foods... meats, cheeses, fruits and vegetables as well as sweet cakes. Vlad makes the best cappuccinos!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudetteth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giustino Valdarno
12.9 mi away
Villa la Borghetta
Villa la Borghetta
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,271 reviews
17.3 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
535 reviews
15.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Relais Villa Belpoggio
Relais Villa Belpoggio
#1 of 2 in Loro Ciuffenna
296 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
462 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Antica Tabaccaia
Hotel Antica Tabaccaia
#4 of 5 in Terranuova Bracciolini
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Grotta

Property: Villa La Grotta
Address: Via Per Sercognano 31 | San Giustino Valdarno, 52020 San Giustino Valdarno, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > San Giustino Valdarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in San Giustino Valdarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa La Grotta 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Tuscany, along the wine road which leads to Arezzo, in perfect harmony with the surrounding countryside of vineyards, olive groves, ancient hamlets and churches, Villa La Grotta is a typical Tuscan manor house dated late-700, perfectly restored and opened to welcome guests, who wish to taste the genuine hospitality of our territory. Its strategic position allows daily escapes to Siena, Arezzo, Florence and numerous other minor towns of cultural interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa La Grotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Grotta Hotel San Giustino Valdarno
Villa La Grotta Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing