We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to the Future… A Small Glimpse of a Brilliant Vision for SCL”
Review of Sol Cayo Largo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sol Cayo Largo
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Sans Souci, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 584 helpful votes
“Back to the Future… A Small Glimpse of a Brilliant Vision for SCL”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

There has been chatter as of late on the forums regarding possible renovations and/or overhaul in respect to rooms and services, at the Sol Cayo Largo. These have been confirmed by a few statements made by the Sol's (new) General Manager, Mr. Thomas Lehnhooff, in response to a number of recent reviews on TA. This review is to confirm that we experienced some of the improvements and redesigns of the hotel services earlier this spring.

After our visit last year, we contemplated not entertaining a return visit to SCL. We agreed with a TripAdvisor friend who stated "We just weren't that enamoured by it on our last vacation"… which really resonated with us. However, we found a Superior Package that included an OceanView Suite along with VIP privileges ~ which looked very appealing. We anticipated a better experience for us this visit, and we were not disappointed!

Some of the included pluses that we enjoyed were the private check-in done by the ever-efficient Ivis, who called us out of the whole busload lineup of passengers and escorted us to seats at the small side table, where she had cava poured and refilled, for our enjoyment. She booked our a la carte restaurants at that time, including an "bonus" Lobster dinner at the recently remodelled Las Trinas => it was wonderful not to have to line up at the Gazebo @ 4pm, taking away precious vacation time, to do this. We also learned that the Beach Ranchon was back to being an a la carte for dinner, so no more lineups outdoors retrieving your own main entree! Excellent! We were then escorted, along with our luggage onto a mini-tram for a ride past the revamped and working "Lagoon Fountains" to our OceanView room, exactly in the area we requested. It was a brilliant beginning for a (dare I say 5*?) vacation!

It was so nice to have a welcome bottle of rum and the mini-bar stocked with soft drinks, juice, beer => more than just the usual one bottle of water. Plus, the VIP room amenities that didn't run out throughout the week were very much appreciated. Also, not having to go to the Activities Centre to retrieve beach towels, which were in our room upon arrival, was an added bonus. As well, the express delivery and pick-up of luggage both upon arrival and departure! => can you tell we don't like lineups ;-) Other included privileges, which were not required for us this visit, but others would probably appreciate, were the guaranteed late check out and the 20% discount at the Wellness Centre. The linens & towels were still hit and miss with wear and stains, but were replaced when asked. As well, the room was well cleaned throughout the week, as always => a fact from day one, way back when, on our very first visit.

We didn't meet Mr. Lehnhooff in May, but did witness this GM in action ~ he's a "hands on" manager that seemed to be everywhere: Helping "bus" tables at both the Ranchon and the Buffet, wiping and setting tables, pretty much every day, especially for lunch at the Ranchon. Checking the temperature of food on the buffets at both restaurants. Lighting incense (for lack of a better term) at the Ranchon to repel insects. Readdressing staff who had been neglecting their duties (dancing with each other), ignoring the fact that they should have been attending to the huge lineup of guests at the entrance to the dinner Buffet, that were backed up almost to the Lobby. Then, one evening, while checking in on the malfunctioning AC in Las Trinas, he ended up smoothly assisting the female head Maitre'd, when guests arrived without following the dress-code ~ redirecting them to the Buffet instead. Bravo! Why do people insist on not dressing appropriately for dinner, disrespecting the stated dress-codes, where your server is better dressed than you?

We were quite impressed with this display of leadership, and hope that he continues with the SolMelia chain, bringing the Sol Cayo Largo up to its "full potential" and becoming the stellar resort it is meant to be. We're looking forward to another return visit, to see and experience more of the redesigns and improvements the Sol Cayo Largo has to offer!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
16 Thank GalivantingGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Clients:
It is a pleasure to receive your comments about your recently stay in Sol Cayo Largo. We are pleased to know your positive opinion about our hotel. Our clients and theirs satisfaction are our main objective and that’s why we fight every day.
Thank you for your loyalty , the staff and my selfwe will be happy to welcome back once again .

At your disposal
Thomas Lehnhooff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,483
    1,715
    728
    255
    121
See reviews for
624
2,557
208
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Dear Travelers,

You get what you pay for or at least in the hotel and hospitality business friendly service should always be the first rule of thumb. We traveled to Sol Cayo Largo Oct 15-22. Keep in mind some of the reviews are pretty accurate with respect to food, pool, beds, beach and most of all service, In all the years of traveling and staying at various Sol Melia properties this has been the only one that was a hit or miss with the quality of friendly service provided by some of the staff, you will know who you want to serve you in a short time. This was our 9th time to Cuba and first time to SCL. There are a few servers that need to be weaned out as they are the ones who are hurting and affecting the resort. Because of the service from a few servers and all the bikes from 25 bikes that were supposedly broken, we spoke to the customer service manager to share our experiences and she was very a tentative.

If you are a traveler who has high expectations this resort is not for you even if you are getting a deal in the $500.00 dollar price range.

Rooms:
This resort offers simple rooms which do require renovations. Our room did require some reno’s and could have used newer mattresses however we were comfortable. We were lucky as some of the rooms leak when it rains, some even down to the first floor. With speaking to a lot of other visitors during our stay some complained about their air conditioner not working, patio doors not closing or locking, old beds sagging in the middle, hot water or no water at times however you will still have a comfortable night’s sleep if you are not picky about the firmness of the bed or quality of the bathroom fixtures. The towels and sheets could be replaced however were cleaned daily and the two ladies who looked after our room were very nice, accommodating and tentative.

Beach(s):
The beach at the hotel is clean and in my opinion just as beautiful and calm as Varadaro's beaches. If you are adventurous you can take a trolley train (about twenty minutes) or taxi ($2pp) to one of two other beaches which are also worth the trip. It's free and there are guys who will run you drinks for about $3 CUC's. The beaches were great to take long walks on even if you have a baby. It does get a little hot but if your little one is like ours you can just walk into the water to cool down.

Pool:
Since our 9 month old loves the water I took an hour every couple days to skim and clean the pool. There should be a pool person who cleans both pools daily as the bottom of the pools get murky and debris floats in the water (mainly leaves and hair). Both pools require liner repairs or replacements however this does not take away the enjoyment or relaxation when swimming or just hanging around with friends you will meet at the pool bar. There were always chairs available at the pool and at the beach since it was low season. There are a few cabanas’ to lounge if you get there first. This was perfect since the little one napped mid-afternoon.

Food:
Its Cuba so don't expect much for flavour when it comes to spicing up a meal. Do what we did and bring your own spices and condiments to liven up the food. You will find the comments on the food the same in most of the reviews however the food does not suck. We all don’t live on caviar and T-Bone steaks. There was a variety however it was a small variety at the buffet. As for fruits we were shocked to find out the resort had no bananas. Heck last I remembered they grew bananas in Cuba and it was banana season. This was very disappointing only because our little one loves bananas especially for breakfast. Some nights you will find things like ice cream and some nights there was none so we gave him other treats instead. In the main dining, room try to sit in Benilio’s section. He went out of his way to see what our little one needed each day and even went to cut fresh ripe cool papaya during breakfast sittings.

Grounds:
The resort was built on an island with lots of rocks so as you may see in many reviewers’ pictures where the rooms are located natures landscape was adjusted to accommodate the resort. The grounds are well kept and you will see lots of large land crabs during the evening and smaller ones during the day. They do need to do a better job of cleaning up the dead ones each day though. There are a bunch of stray cats you will find hanging out for food in the dining areas. They are friendly and even though they ask that you not feed them, food is casually dropped by "accident" to an awaiting meow.

Animation:
The animation team were entertaining and it was a good way to end the evening with our little one. By the end of each show he would be drifting off so when we got back to the room it was lights out for him. The team practiced daily to entertain the guests and when they were not practicing their routine for the evening they were out at the beach entertaining guests or at the pool entertaining guests. For the most part we enjoyed the shows but the opening at nine in the evening was a little redundant.

Overall:
Overall the resort is a nice resort. The location from the airport is great especially if you don't like a long bus ride or have kids. The option to visit other beaches is great since we have always liked to explore. The food is simple and the variety could be changed up a little throughout the week with a few more choices. The resort could do a better job at pre ordering fruit and regular desserts found at other resorts on the island. There is not much to do and not to many excursions outside of the norm. The beaches are great for long walks and there are lots of areas to explore. The resort could use a little more help maintaining the pool no matter what season and upgrade the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LocoVaradero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Estimated:
We really appreciated your comments in the web site Trip Advisor about your stay in our Hotel and the services that you have received, we have readied carefully and we are taken actions in order to impruve.We are executing renovations in all rooms, bathwater and external areas that will be ready by year end.
Wishing to welcome you once more.
Kind regards,
Thomas Lehnhooff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Just returned from a 1-week stay at the SCL, and it was a fabulous vacation! The beach is absolutely amazing, the staff is always helpful, check-in was quick, and there was always plenty of food to eat.
The rooms were very spacious and clean, and although i would recommend a top floor, i had no problems on the 1st floor, and i'm a very light sleeper.
This was my 2nd time at SCL, and i still cannot find anything to complain about. If anything, it gets better every year.
I get a kick out of reading some of the negative reviews, especially the one that: "A lot of homosexual guests were attending the beach". I have travelled to Mexico, Cuba, Dom Republic, Florida, California, etc, and my observation has always been that ALL people, of ALL nationalities, regardless of sexual orientation, are allowed to "attend" the beach. I don't know why Cayo Largo would be different???
I would definately recommend this hotel, and i plan on going back for my 3rd time in April.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank gsxrgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.-B. Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Just came back from a 3rd time stay at the Sol Cayo Largo Cuba. As always loved it and will probably make it my only destination in the futur. Me and a friend did send an email to advise them of our arrival. We did not have to wait in line to check in because the reception had set up a table to the side and called our names. They gave us all the instructions as to went our rooms would be ready since we did have an early arrival. By one oclock our rooms were ready and we got settle. The beach was amazing. It had shifted from last year. Nice beautiful sandy beach right in front of the hotel. Lots of chairs and palapas so did not have to get up early to reserve chairs. They have now put up a sign as to where the nude beach starts. The only negative thing about this is that it should a bit nearer to the lifeguard boot. That way we wouldn't have to walk so long to get to the beach bar. Since the beach is really beautiful and sandy on both side of the beach bar, they should make it turn right at the bar nude beach, turn left textile beach. My take on it.
As for the room, I did have a slight problem. I had a leakage from my bathroom ceiling but called reception and someone came right away. They could not fix the problem so they gave me another room. Everything was done by the tech man who came to check my room. He got me another room by calling reception and help me move. All was done in about half an hour. Great service.
Food was OK. You can always find something to eat.
Had two massages. Thanks to both the man and woman who gave such nice relaxing massages.
I am not a pool person but some fixing will need to be done soon as the lining is all lumpy.
My only really negative thing is the internet. It was really slow. Out of your 1 hour card that you need to purchase, if you get 15 minutes out of it that's it. Kind of a waste of money.
Can't wait to go back again and hopefully see all the new friends that we made.

Room Tip: I've been in three different sections and all room were satisfactory. I prefer being on the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bengay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

October 8 - 15. Our third stay at SCL, fifth visit to Cayo Largo. As we have stated before, we have the Cayo Largo bug. We understand the Cuban all inclusive concept. Our weather was spectacular, not a drop of rain, hot but not humid. One or two mosquitos, but we only had to use bug spray once. The beach at the SCL was wide and we had two days of almost glass-like conditions. The walk to the western beaches was a bit of a scramble over rocks compared to previous visits, but still a fun walk. Snorkelled out to a small reef in front of the beach bar, many fish, barracuda, and a huge green moray eel. On our last evening on the beach we helped release hundreds of baby turtles back to the sea, joyous!

The hotel itself is undergoing extensive painting and renovations and was only about half full if that. The gardens and landscaping were gorgeous. The pool is indeed tired and needs a new liner and it was quite dirty. We had asked for our favourite room, 2924 but were told it was out of service… but on check-in we were surprised by getting our wish. The room had been partially renovated… new paint and a new AC unit, but bathroom was still in major disrepair. As it turns out we seemed to be the only guests in the whole west side of the resort, very quiet. We were on the beach for every ray of sunshine, and only slept in the room. My wife had a spa massage, which was really an hour of cream being rubbed on her back… don't expect a deep tissue therapeutic treatment.

Food was as per usual, we did not starve… avoided anything that was deep fried, so we had zero tummy issues unlike past visits. Pasta and grilled meat stations at the buffet were a sure thing. Fresh veggies and fruit were abundant. Focaccia bread was yummy. Cappuccino at the lobby bar perfect! Not a big drinker, but did try to sample a few mixed drinks… not very good. Too sweet, watered down… oh well… cervesa pour favor?

Unlike last October we had no problem getting a taxi to the beach or the airport. Made some great friends from Moncton, NB, hola! Yes, the towels are old and the sheets worn, but for the price we paid we really can't complain. The staff were wonderful, warm and always smiling. We will be back in the spring, because we get it!

Room Tip: Second floor always.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hardesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Hey Everyone!

The experience I attained while visiting this resort, by all means, is well worth sharing! First off, you get what you pay for, especially with this resort, so you pay for 4 stars and that is what you get. Upon checking in, I had absolutely no difficulties, which was very efficient. Just about everything from the lobby, to the pool, grounds, and beach, it is well maintained. The well kept, and very lush, grounds accompany the friendliness of the staff and the overall experience!

Though I visited in March, the resort was nowhere near capacity, but pleasantly quiet. This provided a relaxed and more of an 'uninterrupted' visit. Due to the geographical location of the resort, being on a island, you are surrounded by a warm breeze, and beautiful water. I had absolutely no problems checking in, and no problems with my room either. This all contributed to a calm and leisurely vacation, all of which I will detail.

The Staff: All in all, it was gratefully steady and friendly. Everyone from the bartenders/waiters, entertainment crew, front desk, and just about all the staff, made a real effort to provide a good experience. The staff at the front desk were extremely responsible and helpful, no issues here. The maids were also very kind, I recommend providing some sort of tip (preferably clothes, and other gifts difficult to find in Cuba). If you need any ideas, feel free to message me. 9/10

The Grounds: Incredibly serene and well maintained. The grounds were lush with many tropical plants and trees, dispersed evenly through the resort. The grounds around the pool, and in the middle of the pool, certainly caught my eye. I had no problems with cleanliness either, as it seemed they did a good job sprucing everything up. 8.5/10

The Rooms: Well, to say the least, the decor does not suit everyone's taste. It is somewhat excessive in some ways (the blue ocean, sailing type theme, rustic), though I may not be like this in every rooms (but was in the standard). The rooms are equipped with the basic amenities: Air Conditioning, Balcony, Complete bathroom, Safety deposit box, Twin/king size beds, 220 volt outlet, Mini-fridge, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, Telephone, Satellite TV, and Ceiling fan. So this is about everything you need for a comfortable stay, regardless of the decor. The maids also do a good job of cleaning up, as stated earlier. Of course you have the choice of an ocean-view, or more extravagant room, but it all comes with an extra cost. 7/10

The Services: The resort also provides a variety of services, allocated around the resort. The 'Rec' theater is where the nightly show takes place. There are a number of eloquent dances, and rather humorous skits. Near the pool there is the club house, where you can retrieve the necessary tools for the games on the ground (darts, shuffleboard, board games, etc.). The Spa is also a lovely place to visit, attached to it is the gym as well. The gym has a variety of cardio machines, weights, and fitness machines. There are a few hot tubs in the same place, free of which to use, which is very relieving after a work out. You may wish to pay for different spa treatments or a massage, but at a cost. There is also a doctor on the grounds, with a small office to visit if necessary. Though I would take precautions so you will not have to pay for the service, as the money adds up. 8.5/10

The Pool: The pool is very large a refreshing, especially after a long day of kicking it back in the sun. The water runs around a center piece, within the water, with is also an aesthetically pleasing sight. So as the pool's cool water wrap around the center, it is also connected to the bar. The sit-in pool bar is a nice feature, a great place to get a cool refreshment. It is a standard few feet deep, deeper in one end than the other, but is very nice to swim and float around in. 8/10

The Dining: As you may know, or may not know, the food in Cuba isn't particularly extravagant.
Though I doubt the main reason to traveling to Cuba is for the food, so do not expect superior quality. Since there are four main 'restaurants', I will break down each rating accordingly.

1-Las Dunas- This is the main buffet, open breakfast and dinner. Please note it is not open at lunch, so the alternative will be the pool 'cafeteria(sol azul)', which is open for most of the day. This provides basic food, like the meat, fruit, pasta, bread, etc. The pasta is made at a booth, which has some variety, which is pretty good to give a try. There is also the buffet strips with various meat dishes, potatoes, fruit, sides, dessert, etc. So far the food is not exactly charming, but realistically, it is manageable. 6.5/10

2-Las Trinas- (International Style) Since I did not visit the a la cartes, I will just provide the description on the website. "Las Trinas gourmet restaurant is located in a virtual pristine paradise, where good taste and excellent service will make your visit a memorable event and satisfy even the most discerning palate. Reservation required." /10

3-Ranchon Lindarena- (Caribbean Style) "Dinning at the edge of the sea in Cayo Largo is truly a natural luxury. This beach -grill restaurant offers a wide choice of salads, fruits, cold meats and delectable Caribbean specialties. Clients can also request special orders (lobster and superior wine). Reservation required." /10
(Please note: The two above descriptions are from the website, they are subjective.)

4-Sol Azul- This 'cafe' I did happen to attend, as it is open at lunch. It is a walk-in, and waiter server style. This is also attached to the bar, so you can go and grab some drinks up here. The menu gives basic food options: Fries, Burgers, Pizza, Sandwiches, etc. It is a good place for a light snack, or even a meal if you wish. It isn't bad food, some of the sandwiches are good, overall not a bad place. 7.5/10

The Bars: There is the pool bar, which wraps around to the 'cafe', beach bar and a lobby bar. All the bars provide just about the same drinks (Cuba mary, mojito, beer, whiskey sour, etc), just they are all located through the resort. The only bar open 24hrs, is the lobby bar, so feel free at 5am! Other than the lobby bar, the other bars close at 6:30. You are provided with the uniform bar experience, and maybe some special drinks! 8/10

Rec Area: There is also a room with a bar, dance, and a couple pool tables. This area is open late at night, generally for the night owls. The dance floor is rather small, so don't get too excited. Other than that, it is a nice place to have a few drinks, sit down and play a game or even pool. 8/10

The Beach: Absolutely stunning! The soft white sand clashes with the clear sparkling blue water in fluency and serenity. It is truly the essential 'spa' type treatment! The hot sun and clear blue skies softly hits your body, the water is the best treatment. The beach is an amazing, and beautiful experience, I advocate viewing the pictures to see what I mean. Close by is also the beach bar, so go grab a drink, and sit down in the sun or shade and enjoy! 10/10

The Trips: Though I do not know all to much about the excursions, they are easily visible in the main lobby. You can also talk to your travel guide or front desk to arrange or ask questions about these excursions. I stayed on the resort for most of the time, as the resort is somewhat isolated, but the excursions are possible.

The Hotel Store: The store has many different novelties, along with tobacco and liquor. There are many different types of clothes, towels, other beach necessities. There a few types of Cuban cigars, all priced accordingly, and to what suits your taste. The cigarettes (if you are a smoker) the store has is surprisingly vast, they have the different local Cuban brands, all the way to Lucky strikes, ranging from 0.35-4.0 pesos. They also stock a variety of liquor brands, of course with aged Cuban rums, wines, vodka, champagne, etc. Overall it is of nice size, with a intriguing bit of variety, not what I had expected. 9/10

Verdict: The resort was a charming and ravishing getaway! I would certainly recommend visiting the resort, as it did not totally kill the budget of a 4-star resort. The entertainment and surroundings of the resort also drew me in, with the staff providing an enriched time. So overall, I would give this resort somewhere between a 8 and 9 stars out of ten.

If you have any questions or comments, do not hesitate to message me!
I hope I provided an in depth explanation of the resort, and my experience.

Happy Vacationing Everyone!
- Jon

Room Tip: It never hurts to ask the staff at the front desk! Who knows what is possible while being respectful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Remo, Italia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

It was my second time there so it was kind of a second chance to this hotel. It need a complete renovation, the towels are nasty, grey and full of women mascara and foundation stains as well as the bed sheets. The toillet is even worst, all rusty and fallen in pieces. The food offered is more or less everyday the same... with the lowest quality you can get in an All Inclusive. Let me say, i'm cuban... because of weather conditions on previous days, the street to the beach was out of service so the guest needed to take the catamaran in order to reach Playa Sirena, i was not allowed to take the Catamaran only because i'm cuban, that's was so humilliating and also unbelievable, but ok, that's was not the hotel's fault. Nowhere in the Melia hotels website says hey cuban forget about excursions because you can't jump on a boat. In the moment i went to the reception for a more accurate explanation of what was happening to me, there came GELVYS and told me Hey don't worry i work here and because i'm cuban i also can't take the Catamaran. I told her that if she can take it or not was not my problem, i remind her that she was talking to a guest and she needed to give me a proper answer and she reply Don't treat me bad because anyway that's not my problem. She was so unprofessional i couldn't believe what was happening... only because i'm Cuban it happened, because they don't feel and realize that we Cubans pay the same money like everybody else hence we should have the same treatment. Cayo Largo itself is beautiful... and it's worth a visit, Playa Paraiso is breathtaking... but i will never come back after that experience... that' a fact.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Delirusvitae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Largo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pelicano
Hotel Pelicano
#1 of 6 in Cayo Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
174.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,349 reviews
175.7 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
112.8 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
366.5 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
173.0 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Largo

Property: Sol Cayo Largo
Address: Cayo Largo del Sur | Archipiélago de los Canarreos, Cayo Largo 27900, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Largo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Largo 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cayo Largo del Sur, in the middle of the Caribbean Sea. All Inclusive Four-Star resort with 296 rooms. Ideal for enjoying its pristine environment and for exploring its idyllic landscape and crystal-clear ocean bottom. The resort faces 600 meters of beach renowned for its perennially cool white-sand. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and groups.Guest Rooms296 rooms: 244 Standard, 34 Standard Ocean View, 10 Standard Superior Ocean View, 8 Junior SuiteDining3 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, A la carte and mini-buffet), 1 Cafeterias, 3 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, TravelUp, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Cayo Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Largo Hotel Cayo Largo
Sol Hotel Cayo Largo
Cayo Largo Cuba
Cayo Largo Sol Hotel
Sol Club Cayo Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing