We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Cayo Largo
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Pelicano(Cayo Largo)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hostal Luis(Playa Giron)
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Villa Castellanos(Playa Giron)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (4,710)
Filter reviews
4,710 results
Traveller rating
1,588
1,848
822
297
155
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,588
1,848
822
297
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssol cayolas trinasfishpastasnack barceiling fancrepesbeach restauranta la carteocean viewother resortsbaby turtlesred flagwater pressurespent a weekbeautiful beachbuffet restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
603 - 608 of 4,710 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Sol Cayo Largo and would recommend it to others. The good things about this resort have been mentioned in other reviews so I will cover the negative things first. If you can live with these things, then go ahead and stay there as long as you get a very good price.

- Hot water: There is hot water only in the early morning (before everyone else gets up and takes a shower) and if you come back from the beach early. At other times, the shower is lukewarm at best. It is hot in Cayo Largo so this was not a problem, but if a resort is advertised as 4 star I would like to be the one to decide if I want to take a hot or cold shower.

- Stray cats in the breakfast and dinner buffet area: This seems to be a common thing in Cuba. The stray cats are very adept at giving you that guilty look while you are eating. One even attempted to climb up as I was eating chicken. Being from Canada, a restaurant would be shut down by the health dept if it had cats walking around but this is Cuba not Canada.

- Sometimes the plates are not washed well: I often had to pick up more than one plate from the stack to find one that was properly washed and with no stains,...etc. This is unfortunate as the food quality was very good and I never got sick eating the hotel food.

- The rooms are due for some renovation: I believe the hotel was constructed in 2000. The furniture is a bit old, the bed squeaked, and the balcony door handle was loose. Nevertheless, it is clean and the chamber maids do a very good job. There is a new hotel under construction. If it turns out well, then this could become a significant weakness for Sol Cayo Largo with the new competition.

If you are ok with the above things then you will have a good time. The food is good, and the staff is very friendly. The service in the restaurant is great and the waiters greet you like an old friend and they remember your drink preferences,..etc. There are four guys in particular who are so awesome that I will mention them by name: Cesar, Nestor, Cobas, and Yeriel.

Room Tip: Don't exchange currency at the hotel as the rates are terrible. It is not that easy to get to a bank so make sure to buy your CUCs before arriving at the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hesham2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear client,
Thanks for your impressions about recently stay in Sol Cayo Largo. Your opinion is real valuable in order to achieve a better service and client’s satisfaction, we are executing renovations in all rooms,managing solutions about cats and others programs to improve the image and services .we kindly send you our sincere apologies about yours negative perceptions .
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back if you decide to return to Sol Cayo Largo hotel.

Best Regards
Fernado Martin
General Manager
Hotel Sol Cayo Largo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I have staid for 4 nights in Dec 2013, with my husband and another couple. What I loved most:
- sand beaches (white like flour) and the sea water (exactly like in the pictures: very clear and green).
- we had a beautiful room with sea view
- we loved also the food from a la carte restaurant (Las Trinas - international meniu) and the waiters professional behaviour (from a la carte restaurants).
- another good place to eat is the snack restaurant, near the pool (very good ice cream, hamburger and tune croissant).
- transport included to Sirena and Paradise beaches (max 10 min with the bus from the hotel)
- Sirena beach is extremely beautiful, very large, with palms and clean and green water (with the minus that has not enough sunbeds).
- very good: boat adventure trip (you drive for aprox. 1 h)
What we didn't like were:
- the refridgerator was empty: no water, juice, beer etc.
- many flies on the food, at the restaurants
- pork meat from the rice was not good prepared - had pork hair on it
- not fresh juices on the beach
- not Coca Cola, just local Cola

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatalinaP531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Catalina:
We are thankful for been chosen for you to enjoy vacations in our Hotel ;really appreciated your comments in the web site Trip Advisor and your kindness to let us know your suggestions that help us to improve our services, identifying better the likes and dislikes of our guest; at the same time, to work more to satisfy them.

Best Regards
Fernando Martin
General Manager
Hotel Sol Cayo Largo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I celebrated a very special birthday in mid November of this year and planned a wonderful vacation for my husband and myself in Cayo Largo Cuba.

There are actually 2 parts to this review with a very happy ending.

We originally booked a 1 week vacation at Sol Pelicano, Ocean View room arriving December 8th of this year. The vacation began positively until the air conditioning went off everywhere in the resort. With temperatures of 30 degrees celcius and humidity factors that resulted in 38-40 degree temperatures; air conditioning is a basic necessity. We were told on 3 consecutive days that they were working on it. Unfortunately, that did not help me or my husband. We did not sleep for 3 nights in an ocean view room that had temperatures hovering well over 40 degrees. By day 3 of no air conditioning, I was at my end limit. Following waking up and feeling progressively more ill, I requested immediate transfer to its sister hotel Sol Cayo Largo. This is where the outstanding superior service was awarded my husband and myself.

Upon arrival to Sol Cayo Largo, we were met by a wonderful young woman who introduced herself as Arline, an angel of a customer service representative who provided us with an incredible Superior Ocean View Suite; separate bedroom, living room and 2 full bathrooms; decorated in bright pastels, serene white and baby blue bedding. It looked exactly how you would imagine a beach house should look like. To add to this beautiful setting, open the drapes and we were awarded a double terrasse, the full length of both rooms; 2 sets of loungers, and 2 sets of tables and chairs with a view that was breathtaking in all its glory. This angel of a customer representative wished only that we enjoy our stay at Sol Cayo Largo and return!

Food:
The food was incredible in its variety, taste, and presentation.

The buffet: Everyday, there was something different to taste either by buffet selection or by numerous stations that covered eggs, omelets and crepes in the morning, pizza, pasta and grill stations offered in the afternoon and evenings.

The Ranchon restaurant awarding breathtaking views of the sea while you eat scrumptious meals in both a buffet style or by request of grilled meats and fresh fish daily.

We enjoyed immensely the outstanding cuisine of Sol Cayo Largo’s International Restaurant where fresh seafood, poultry and beef are “part and parcel” of it’s a la carte menu. This left us highly satisfied with not only the meal but by the excellent service we were awarded.

Pools:
Sol Cayo Largo has 4 pools that are free style lagoon in shape, palapas and palm trees throughout, with enough sunbeds surrounding its serene and highly relaxing atmosphere. There is a swim up pool bar that is attached to another snack restaurant where you can enjoy delectable drinks, wonderful sandwiches and the like with again outstanding service awarded to its guests.

Beach:
This is where Cayo Largo excels to its highest degree. You are met with over 500 meters of beach that is unbelievable in its natural beauty. White sand that has the consistency of talcum powder; no granularity at all. Sand so thick that you sink into it, the ocean an incredible azure blue. Never saw or felt anything like that in my life and I can attest to that as being a seasoned traveller to many carribean destinations over the years. Unfortunately, Mother nature provided us with many a Red Flag day but that did not take away our enjoyment of a beach lover’s dream come true. With days of high waves we were off to enjoy the beauty of 2 world renowned beaches, Playa Paraisio and Sirena. All I can say is Wow!!!! Pristine virgin beaches award its visitors vistas and nature’s beauty in a setting that is very hard to describe in words.

Service:
Outstanding, excellent, and respectful service by all its employees. Their main focus is the enjoyment of their guests and their hope that they will return.

Conclusion:
We can’t believe we’re back home. White sandy beaches have now been replaced with over 30 centimeters of snow…. Oh no…. I’m already looking when our next vacation can take place. Sol Cayo Largo a vacationer’s dream come true… Can’t wait to return.
Hola From Canada and two very satisfied Canadian travelers. Thank you Sol Cayo Largo for a Birthday Wish come true!!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Ocean View!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Agi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear clients,
I am very delighted to read your positive comments about your stay in our Sol Cayo Largo hotel. Your review makes our effort valuable. It was a pleasure for us to make you a Birthday Wish come true!!!!!!
We will very happy to welcome you in a short future.

Best Regards
Fernando Martin
General Manager
Hotel Sol Cayo Largo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

If you are looking for the paradise beach in Cuba you have to go to Cayo Largo Del Sur, white powder sand beach with so much nice fishes to see if you wanna go snorkling.

pos:
rooms are clean nice and big
beds are comfy
AC

Cons
bad food
so complicated to book for a restaurant
30 mins with bus plusboat from playa sirena

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lobowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Estimated:
Thank you for letting us know your impressions about your recently stay in Sol Cayo Largo. Your opinion it has been valuable because you gave us important elements in order to achieve a better service and client’s satisfaction,our apoligize for yours perceptions about food,another issues are in option like transfer to playa Sirena and a la carta restaurants.

Best Regards
Fernando Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is our second time to Sol and it is just as fabulous as the first time! We were upgraded to a top level of a bungalow and we did manage to see the ocean from here! The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and our maid was friendly and she did a fabulous job every day. Our parents came for their first time ever to Cuba and they were quite impressed! There was always something to eat for anyone in our group, lots of fresh bread, pasta bar, fresh meat grilled to your liking, and always something tasty for dessert. I really like it here. It's not crowded, lots of space to do your own thing, and lots of people do like it here for that precise reason! So be not surprised when you are walking along the beach to see some nudity. We really enjoyed our a la carte dinner at the International cuisine. It was quite good for Carribean/Cuban cuisine. Our day at Playa Sirena and Playa Parisio was fantastic, warm waters, lots of sunshine, who could ask for more? I will definelty have great memories of this place.

Room Tip: Go fo two weeks! A seven day trip is just a teaser!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Cindy:

We are really glad that you enjoy that much the beauty of our beaches, their clear crystal waters. We appreciate that you have taken part of your time to write so nice words for our staff and services. We hope that you want to expirience again these great memories, coming back this time for two weeks.

Hoping to see you soon,

Fernando Martin
General Manager
Sol Cayo Largo Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews