We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back.....”
Review of Sol Cayo Largo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Cayo Largo
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is was our third trip to Cayo Largo, and our second stay at the Sol Cayo Largo.
In general, we'd say that the overall appearance of the resort has improved. Clearly there is work being done. Beyond that, the resort is slightly above the average that you might find in Varadero. That being said, we keep returning for one reason - the beach. Here are are impressions of the major features.

Rooms: Not much has changed in the two years since our last visit. The rooms are decorated in soft pastels, and are nicely furnished. There is plenty of closet and drawer space. The beds are firm , but comfortable. The safe and the A/C worked fine. The fridge was not working when we arrived. We called the desk to report it, and there was a brand new fridge installed the next day when we returned from our day at the beach. The front desk even called to ensure that it was to our liking. There was a little wear and a few cracked tiles in the bathroom, but nothing major. Overall, the rooms are clean, and just fine.

Staff: The front desk staff was very good. No problems with English. Currency exchanges were quick & efficient. One of the girls even helped the Mrs. pen a note to our maid in Spanish. Bar and restaurant service was good. The fact that there is clearly a shared tip policy in effect, meant that service was consistent (but never spectacular), whether you tipped or not. Our maid was also very efficient. She left beautiful towel art and personal notes every day - very nice.

Food and Bar: We do not come to Cayo Largo for the food - period. The resort food is generally fresh, with excellent food handling protocols in place. That being said, the quality of the ingredients is generally not great (as is the case throughout Cuba). They do the best they can with what they have. You can always find something to eat (the turkey is always good, and the pasta bar is very consistent), but you won't pack on a ton of vacation weight either. Drinks are fine - excellent if you are a rum drinker. A lovely, shaken, margarita was always available. The beer is good. The wine, not so much.....We ended most evenings in the sports bar, watching some excellent Cuban baseball on TV.

Pool: The pool has been completely renovated, including new loungers. The only time that we had any trouble getting a seat was late in the afternoon (only one or two days), when the pool bar and restaurant tended to get busy with people returning from the beach and off-resort excursions. The design of the property cuts the wind right down, so it is always pleasantly hot poolside.

The Beach: Softest, whitest, cleanest sand in the world. The texture of talcum. The water is bathwater warm, and the ocean was even surprisingly calm this time - only one red flag day. Palapas are generally always available. We were usually at the beach early, so it was never a problem for us. The fact that we get to spend our days absolutely naked, while enjoying this tropical Caribbean paradise, is the reason that we will return again, and again. Spectacular!

Final Note: The tour operators have finally smartened up, and are offering "au naturel" ocean excursions. They ensure that like-minded people are put on smaller boats (for a slight premium, of course) and get to spend a glorious day on the water. Enjoying excellent snorkeling, and deserted beaches, without the hassle of wet bathing suits. A wonderful lobster and fresh fish lunch was served (best meal of the week), along with an open bar. A perfect day in all respects. If you get the chance, spend the day with Captain Betty on the "Ciprey". It is a day you will never forget.

Cayo Largo is one of the most beautiful places on the planet, and the Sol Cayo Largo is the best place from which to experience it. You owe it to yourself to experience it least once in your life.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms provide lovely views, and are further from paths and resort traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank T_and_K_in_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear customers:
I am very glad to receive your opinions through so important FORUM as it is Tripadvisor. Please, receive our gratitude for choose us again,and again as one of the most beautiful places on the planet.
Wishing to welcome you once more to enjoy this tropical Caribbean Paradise.

Kind regards,
Fernando Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 4,491 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is our third visit to Sol Cayo Largo, and we will be back again! It is like coming home! Familiar and amazing! There is no where else in the world we would ever vacation and we have travelled all through the Caribbean, Europe and North America. Quite simply, the beaches are the best in the world!! Hats off to Management for making this Beautiful Resort even better than before. The staff are welcoming and happy. Rest, relaxation, calm and serenity in Paradise. If you are looking for a Resort to get away from it all, this is it! You will not be disappointed. Miss it already and we just got back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, Director General at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Jennifer:

It is so great to know that you feel like home here. We feel honnored beeing your favorite place to vacation. The fact that this resort has become the perfect place to relaxe, rest and enjoy this paradise is an accomplishment of all our staff, not only mine.

We will be waiting for your next visit with the happiness of seeing you again.

Best regards,
Fernando Martin
General Manager
Sol Cayo Largo Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

They may have eliminated the penny in Canada, but the cliché still applies.

Everyone has very different and varying expectations so the opinions posted below are from our perspective while yours and the opinions of others will probably differ.

We are in our mid-fifties and consider ourselves “middle of the road” vacationers. We simply desire a clean room, friendly staff, fairness in service and a variety of properly prepared meals. Nothing extravagant. You get all of the above plus more here at Sol Cayo Largo along with some the best beaches you will see anywhere. We visited this very same resort 11 years ago and therefore thought we knew what to expect but Fernando and his staff blew that expectation out of the water. They actually surpassed it on every front.

Beach… the beaches on Cayo Largo comprise of a white talcum powder like sand that never ever comes close to being anything other than warm between your toes no matter how hard the sun is beating down on the sand. Are there palm trees? No, if you need shade, you will need to find a palapa and there are plenty of them on the beach. We visited in March and at the beginning of our vacation we had no trouble finding one. By midweek we noticed with the arrival of new guests that people started playing the towel reservation game so by the end of the week if you did not join in, by mid-morning you were hunting for one and more than likely would end up with one that has suffered wind or surf damage. No biggie and it was quite possible that it was just the time of the year where everyone was looking for beach time instead of pool time. The pool area however always had chairs and shade available all day long.

Room… We were very fortunate and upgraded to an ocean view room in the 3000 block. Great room, beautiful view, clean, always had hot water, never saw a critter or bug. Raining season has been over for a while so like back home as the land dies out you see fewer bugs. Water pressure varied somewhat but that really was a non-issue as there was always enough to take a shower and rinse yourself off. The cleaning staff and garden staff in this block always had a smile and greeting for you no matter how rough their day was going.

Food… no complaints. Wide variety of choices. The breakfast buffet had your typical egg stations, crepe station, fresh fruits (pineapple, papaya, banana, et cetera). We did notice by mid-week that they would run out of fresh fruit and substituted it with canned fruits. By the weekend, they were back to fresh fruits, so I just assume that they get their food deliveries towards the end of the week. For lunch, two choices, beach side restaurant or the pool area for pizza. Again wide selection of foods, pasta, rice, chicken, sausages, et cetera. Dinner… the buffet had a wide variety of choices. The two el la carte restaurants were spectacular in both terms of selection and presentation. Note: The International requires pants for men. We are not fussy people and eat almost anything so we always had a wide variety of items to choose from. Hint… best cappuccino is from the lobby bar. Order one before heading over to the breakfast buffet. If you don’t want to drink it at the Lobby Bar, they will put it in a plastic cup that you can carry to the buffet and then ask for a regular cup there.

Staff… what can we say. We do not speak Spanish and had absolutely no communication troubles what-so-ever. From the front desk to the gardener, everyone showed interest in our day, had a friendly smile and went out of their way to make sure we were happy. Some of the best staff we have met anywhere. Hats off to Fernando (the manager) for a well run resort that knows customer service is number one priority.

After 9 trips to Cuba, I believe we have found our go-to home when we want to break away for rest and relation.

Room Tip: Even the first floor rooms are elevated off the ground so you really can't go wrong anywhere in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SmilesandChuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Srs:
I feel very proud to receive your opinions about your stay in our Resort ,all the staff are very glad to make our best to satisfy your preferences and expectative ,as client ,our reason of being. Wishing to welcome one more time in this place where you have found your go-to home¨ when you want to break away for rest and relaxation.
I remain at your complete disposal. Sincerely Yours,

Fernando Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The excellent rating is because the overall Resort is better than the sum total of it's parts. The pluses far out weight the inconveniences you might experience. Past posts have spoken of dishonest untrustworthy staff.....which is a complete fabrication of their own insecurities or worrying personality. Our second trip simply because of the wonderfully attentive staff, and their world class beach location. Food, plenty and enjoy the varying spicing. Those who have a problem with the " repetitive" label.....should look in their own cupboards at home...."repetitive".
Sol feels very much a beach resort.....rooms are wisely decorated as distressed in appearance to enhance an oceanfront quality and tie in it's obvious age of use.......if you want shine, gleam and glass.....go to the Mayan Riv. This well managed resort is a relaxation paradise free from pretentiousness and full of charm. A short 5 minutes from the Airport. Easy access around the grounds for less mobile travellers. Could it use and infusion of updating......certainly....but not at the expense of losing it's warmth for perceived perfection. If beach nudity is offensive.....think twice, but remember, Cayo Largo is one of the few places the Cuban Government tolerates it......and, if, lifestyle tolerance is appealing to you.....the staff here are amazing.
Needless to say.....the Spanish Coffee at the bars is excellent. The large free form pool never seems lacking for a quiet place to sunbath.....and it is a saltwater system pool for those chemical phobic. Lots of shade and a swim up bar. Gym is well equipped both with machines and free weights.
And did I mention the world class beach listed as one of the top ten worldwide.......worth it all just to strike that off the bucket list......everything else truly is a bonus if you treasure value for your vacation dollar........it's up to you to make your vacation memorable whether you spend a million or a few hundred.....Sol Cayo Largo just puts a smile on your face when you experience it.....if you will let it....through many years of travel, multiple resorts from 6 stars and down......this is the first we ever desired a return to. Yes we have had better food, sumptuous rooms, attentive butlers, room bars, better water pressure, new everything.......yet came home from Sol....relaxed......for my money.....the whole point. Prince and Princesses should look elsewhere.........

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank trobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Sr Trobbins:
I really appreciate your nice feedback. ¿What else to say ??HOW!!!.I was very pleased to read that you were satisfied with our services and our amazing place.We look forward to welcome you back again, again and again..

Kind regards,
Fernando Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was our third visit to this resort and we will be returning. It was quiet, clean, friendly and great value for the money. We spent 2 glorious weeks at the Sol. It was so relaxing and we met some wonderful people there. Everyone complains about the food in Cuba, but at the Sol the food was actually pretty good. And of course the beach is perfect. We did spend a lot of time at the pool and it was wonderful. A sparkling salt water pool, thank you Edwardo!. The property is lovely and well maintained. I would have to say the people at this resort go above and beyond to be friendly and helpful. We can hardly wait to book out next trip to the Sol.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mcsusan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear clients;
We are pleased that you have spent two glorious weeks in Cayo Largo where we certainly have special people and thank you very much for to have chosen our Sol Cayo Largo hotel in many times. We hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards
Fernando Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I have stayed here twice and plan on making this island a yearly escape. The hotel grounds and staff are welcoming, friendly, clean and all round make for a great experience. The beach is probably the best we have ever seen. The white sand is soft (no way to cut your feet here) and because of its unique coral quality is alway cool to the touch. Don't be suprised by the schools of fish that might greet you as you enter the ocean for dip as the entire area is a nature reserve. If you are lucky enough you might get the chance to see the small baby tortiouse turtles hatching from their eggs to be taken to the ocean for release. The beach is almost never crowded, as there are only four small resorts on the island and finding a nice spot with lounge chair is never a problem. The ride to the hotel from the airport in never more than 10 minutes no matter where you are staying. If you have the chance pay a little extra money to go on the natural pool and snorkeling excursion, the natural pool an area of shore where the water is no deeper than up to your thighs as far as the eye can see with starfish and Counchs in shell all over the place. Although you can pick the Counchs and starfish up to take pictures, these are living creatures in their natural habitat and it is illegal to take, so leave and enjoy. The food at this resort is excellent by cuban standards, if you are a foodie or depend on 5 star dining for your substinance do yourself a favour and don't ever go to Cuba period. If you enjoy great people who put a lot of love and care into what they do and prepare regardless of their limitted options and want to enjoy one of the 11 top beaches in the world, you will love it here. If you are looking for a natural (as it can get on resort) remote cuban experience I would stongly suggest this getaway to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room and you might get a ocean view free of charge. All the rooms we have st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Clients
Dear Sr kris
We are thankful for been chosen on your yearly escape to this remote island,and really appreciated your promotion in the web site Trip Advisor .We are in the 11 top beaches in the world!!!!
It will be a great pleasure to receive you once again and you can enjoy the attractions of the island, quiet, turtles,soft white sand and virgin beaches.

Best Regards
Fernando Martin
General Manager
Hotel Sol Cayo Largo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel twice once for 3nights and the second time for a week.
To whoever thats knows a little about cuba its all about the beach and cayo largo has one of the nicest beachs in cuba (stayed in 15 different hotels in all areas) i would say cayo largo is a me myself and I kind of a vacation...now that being said sol is ur typical 4* cuba hotel (4* cuba = 2* anywhere else )
Nice pool area
Very clean beach
Location not that important you can drive around the island in 8 min ...which i recomend everyone to do! Rent a car and drive around beautiful beaches all around .
Food is just enough so that you wont starve to death lol anywhere in cuba its exact same food .
Staff very nice
Rooms are clean
All and all it was a very nice trip i would recomend but could get boring if ur the party type.

P.s watch out for all the crabs that walk around the resort at night lool

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Sr John:
Thank you for to have chosen our hotel in two times to spend your vacations in Cuba and also for the feedback about your experiences in Cayo Largo.
Crabs certainly are popular during those months because it is a nature fact that fortunately is not dangerous for client.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back again to enjoy our nice beaches in Cayo Largo.


Best regards,
Fernando Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Largo
185.5 mi away
Iberostar Playa Blanca
Iberostar Playa Blanca
#6 of 6 in Cayo Largo
1,992 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pelicano
Hotel Pelicano
#1 of 6 in Cayo Largo
2,892 reviews
51.4 mi away
Casa Otto
Casa Otto
#5 of 13 in Playa Larga
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.2 mi away
Ca' del Sol Cuba
Ca' del Sol Cuba
#7 of 13 in Playa Larga
25 reviews
110.7 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,568 reviews
45.6 mi away
Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Largo

Address: Cayo Largo del Sur | Archipiélago de los Canarreos, Cayo Largo 27900, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Largo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Price Range: £133 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Cayo Largo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cayo Largo del Sur, in the middle of the Caribbean Sea. All Inclusive Four-Star resort with 296 rooms. Ideal for enjoying its pristine environment and for exploring its idyllic landscape and crystal-clear ocean bottom. The resort faces 600 meters of beach renowned for its perennially cool white-sand. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and groups.Guest Rooms296 rooms: 244 Standard, 34 Standard Ocean View, 10 Standard Superior Ocean View, 8 Junior SuiteDining3 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, A la carte and mini-buffet), 1 Cafeterias, 3 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Melia, Holiday Gems, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Cayo Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Largo Hotel Cayo Largo
Sol Hotel Cayo Largo
Cayo Largo Cuba
Cayo Largo Sol Hotel
Sol Club Cayo Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing