We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beaches! no fresh fruits or veggies!!”
Review of Sol Cayo Largo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Cayo Largo
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Beaches are great and fabulous!!! Hotel is okay...rooms are clean,,, bathrooms are tired and old. Pool is nice and fun but the statue thingy in the middle is a real messy rotten pile of nothing! Coffee/bar open 24 hours is a nice place to meet people and have a nice coffee in the morning. Workers of this bar are friendly and working hard .....Now for the food,,,there was no fresh veggies or fresh fruits for a whole week,,,no lettuce of any kind ever!!! that was a problem for us! It would be a great place to go back if there was fresh stuff to eat! canned peas and carrots , canned peaches and pears just is not acceptable....the service was good everywhere except at the buffet,,,we begged for water or coffee every day!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Srs:
We are thankful for been chosen for you in vacations.About fresh fruits and veggies always hotel manage solutions to complete our standard menu substituting with other products. This is a weakness that we have identified.Although many people comeback because Cayo Largo is a nice place to spend time enjoying of amazing beaches and quiet.
Best Regards
Fernando Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 4,458 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel was exactly what I needed! Got it for a bargain basement price, rooms were clean, food was actually pretty good, staff were AMAZING and so were the beaches! Will definitely go back. It is a 3star for sure - but you can see where they are honestly trying to upgrade, hopefully their hard work will pay off. Travelled Solo, and did things at my own leisure, Staff went above and beyond to ensure that I had a fantastic holiday. Mattresses (they are a bit tired) could use some upgrading as also could the bathrooms. Ten minutes tops from the airport - speedy check in - and you're on the beach in under an hour of arriving!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 905Travelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Sr:
We are proud to be part of your good comments, we will keep on working hard in order to increase the level of service and maintain the standard for the clients who choose us as beautifull destination. It will be a good pleasure to receive you once again for make GREAT HOLIDAYS for you.
Best regards

Best Regards
Fernando Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Sol Cayo Largo was perfect for what we needed; a beach resort where you could come off the beach and not feel as though you were destroying a room by dropping sand everywhere. It was basic, but comfortable. Sadly though the bathroom was very dated and full of mould - which I'm allergic too, so this wasn't very pleasant.

The facilities were great; really lovely swimming pool with a pool bar, and the staff were fab! The food was...ok. We learnt very quickly to just eat the fresh hot food (the Crepes/Pancakes and Omelettes for breakfast were amazing, and the BBQ food for lunch cooked by Hanoi was awesome!).

As three young girls on holiday we had a great time, and the beaches were spectacular! The shuttle was easy and free (woo!), and we definitely recommend Playa Sirena over Paraiso. We used the watersports which were included with the hotel, and had a great time sailing on a catamaran and using the pedalos.

Highly recommend Sol Cayo Largo, however do be warned that it isn't a typical '4 star', I'd say it was more of a 3 star.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, Director General at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Catherine:
Thank you so much for your comments, it is always a pleasure to read our guests` impressions. As you said we have a lot of good things, such as the staff, the beaches and the food, as well as things that need to be improved, but we are working on that, and your criteria is always welcome, in order to give priority.

We hope that you and your friends come back in the near future, and we hope you can experience our improvements.
Best regards,

Fernando Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was my 5th visit to this resort and it was another pleasant experience. There were 5 adults in our party, all of whom were repeat guests. The food was good during our stay, but for the first few days, fresh fruit was nowhere to be found and fresh vegetables were not available all week. The beach was the most beautiful we've seen in a very long time. The staff, as usual, is the best! If you are looking for a laid-back, relaxed atmosphere, the Sol Cayo Largo is a must!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Janet:
It is a pleasure to receive your comments about another stay in Sol Cayo Largo. We are pleased to know your positive opinion about our hotel and paradise beaches. Our clients and theirs satisfaction are our main objective.
Thank you for your kindness and we are happy to welcome back.

Best Regards
Fernando Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Friendly staff at check-in and they allowed us to have the room early at around 11am. The room itself was fine. Large and airy and clean and the bed was massive. The air-conditioning unit was loud but wasn't a major problem.

I do have a problem with housekeeping staff coming into the room despite the 'do not disturb' sign being on. Not good.

The food was pretty bleak but unfortunately this is a recurring theme with Cuba and we didn't enjoy a single meal we ate either here or in Havana. Even though we had read other reviews and come prepared, nothing can prepare you for the dreadful reality which is Cuban food! Even if the quality can be excused because of government controls there is no excuse for not keeping food hot. We found with this hotel that it was essential to arrive at the very start of the dinner buffet to ensure food was at least lukewarm. Bread rolls were covered in flies. Again, nothing stopping the hotel from putting a mesh lid over them.

The international restaurant was terrible. They have limited spaces and we were pleased to get a table. Soon wished we hadn't bothered. Soggy, inedible food and gritty prawns. I actually walked out and went to the buffet in the hope that some of the food there was still warm.

Overall, I would not recommend this resort, or Cuba in general. The beaches are beautiful. but just over the water in Mexico the beaches are just as nice with the added bonuses of fantastic food and so many attractions and things to do.

Room Tip: Request a room furthest away from the pool and entertainment areas if you want some peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Srs;
Thank you for to have chosen our hotel to spend your vacations and also for your feedback which helps us to looking for achieve better service and results.The variety of foods is one of most important and continue improvement areas to work on every day.We kindly send you our sincere apologies for not fulfill your expectation.

Best Regards
Fernando Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed May5-19. the Sol Cayo Largo is by far the best resort on the island. Beaches truly amazing especially the Parisio and Sirena beaches great snorkling, starfish by the hundreds.food was great and the service superb. A special thanks to Eduardo and Puablo the pool cleaners, Maite and Alberto L. in the buffet area.Rooms were clean and spacious with super maid service.Bartenders Mario,Yan,Angel ,Migel and all the others were super.Will definitely return for another fantastic time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert - mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Robert and Mary:
We really appreciate your positive comments about hotel. our exclusive site and virgin beaches.
We are pleased to know we have reached your expectations and it is also good to know that Sol Cayo Largo will be your choice in the future. Thank you so much for your loyalty.
All of us would love to see you back .
Best Regards,

Fernando Martin
General Manager
Hotel Sol Cayo Largo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Heavenly Bliss at Sol Cayo Largo Resort

While there are many resorts in Cuba set among beautiful beaches and property, few are as well managed as Sol Cayo Largo. From the fresh, home-made beef burgers to the day-long a la carté snack bar convenience, thoughtful room amenities, great Cuban music and the regularly scheduled, free shuttle service (to Sirena and Paraiso beaches), management has thought through what makes for a great vacation and resort. Add friendly, courteous, hard working staff to the “quality” focus and you’ve got a winning formula -- so often the case with Sol Melia hotels.

Located 106 miles south of Havana on a 15 sq. mile island off the Los Canarreos Archipelago in the Caribbean, Sol Cayo Largo is a clean, well maintained 4-star property for those who love sun, sea and sand. Unspoiled beaches, soft sand - like talcum powder in places that’s always cool on the feet - and a year-round, moderate climate with an average temperature of 27 C., helps distinguish Cayo Largo del Sur among Cuba’s many other wonderful places. So too, does its 30 diving sites, black coral reefs - so rare elsewhere - and its subtle "tropical island isolation feeling" so brilliantly infused with traditional Cuban music, culture, and of course, the luxuries of modern accommodations.

Although S.C.L. has non-motorized water sports, plenty of games, a dash of daily activities, nightly entertainment, good strolling bands, a “fun pub” (combo sports bar/ dance club), and the island its own charming Marina with its own restaurant/Taverna and village with 2 nightclubs (disco and Cuban music), this is not a place for rowdy party-goers or young adults looking for the type of “action” found in Havana, Varadero or Santiago de Cuba.

Thanks to Air Transat out of Toronto I was here Easter Break and felt I couldn’t have picked a better setting, at least for what I wanted.

For example, wonderful old-era ‘tradicional’ Cuban music at the cocktail bar and buffet restaurant, took us back in time to a place most only read about in novels. Here, the big band sound of Cuba’s golden era orchestras can be heard as well as music from famous Cuban icons like Eliades Ochoa, Ibrahim Ferrer, Compay Secondo, Omara Portuondo and so on. Mixed in with some Salsa and pop hits like EverythingButTheGirl’s “Miss You” and we had a refreshing change from places that serve up overdoses of Salsa or “Reggaeton,” neither of which compares.

Likewise, among the palm-treed, smartly-designed resort you have two distinct pool areas - one, the swim-up bar area with louder more upbeat music, and another with a more quieter, relaxing vibe, even eclectic music too. At night, if the cocktail bar is too busy (and it does get crowded), there’s the overlooked, Fun Pub with nice outdoor furniture, light-lite glass-top tables, ashtrays and table service. TVs with sports and videos, pool tables, and a small dance floor too. Not much, if any traditional Cuban music here, more of what you expect at so-called hotel discos.

With Sol Cayo Largo you have the best of both worlds whether listening to music or lounging by the pool while the older, more traditional “authentic Cuba” theme dominating. Just how I like it.

With the sophistication reminiscent of Cayo Enchenachos in Santa Clara (2010) and the fun, entertaining atmosphere of Sol Sirenis Coral in Varadero (2012) yet without Melia Las Dunas’s (lobby bar staff) snobbiness, Sol Cayo Largo strikes the right notes in the right places without any of the pretentiousness that comes with some 4 ½ - 5-star resorts.

Although I’m weary of reviews raging on about staff, usually from teenagers who were infatuated with someone or who’ve just been on their first or second-ever, down south vacation, I’m not going to hesitate this time in heaping praise on people who so richly deserve it. Virtually everyone is from the Isle of Youth, a 4-hour boat ride away, and all work 20 consecutive days and long hours yet everyone manages to do it with a smile. So, here goes!

To Miguel the bartender, the ever cheerful, always professional, friendly, hard working guy with energy that would put the Energizer Bunny to shame, I say thanks, you’re too much! Love those carefully made cocktails. To Noel (“Super Mario” as I dubbed him), the swim-up bartender, enthusiastic poolside waiter, entertainer and resident Sol Cayo Largo “pirate” (he serves drinks in costume), you made us laugh and you made us feel special! That’s usually no easy task, so congratulations! To Frank, breakfast station attendant, the cheerful, older man with a young heart, I say thanks, I took great pleasure in eating your spinach and mushroom omelettes - even watching you make them. Tell me, how often does the server pre-cook your mushrooms, spinach and onions separately? To Egory, the waiter from El Ranchon, we tip our hats. With the poise of a true professional and sense of humour to match, we thank you for forgiving us and our dislike of the canned mussels and vegetables that night, we weren’t very hungry and the tuna steak was awesome!

To the lady gardener, who brought us Aloe Vera for our sunburn, thanks, that was sweet of you!

To the Executive Chef from Italy, who insisted on home-made burgers when he arrived here, who has taught staff many of his trade secrets and who runs from the early morning buffet breakfast restaurant to one and the other a la carte restaurants, and the BBQ Grill down by the beach to carefully supervise, roll up his sleeves and cook himself, we say halleluiah! Please don’t go!

And finally to Fernando Martin, the hotel manager, I say congratulations on doing such a great job of running the operations, managing and motivating your staff and pleasing customers. From your letter of thanks to your attention to details, high standards and everyone’s dedication to great customer service, you rank in a class of your own!

Last but not least, here are some other things to keep in mind:

1. Although the less humid climate makes it feel cooler, the sun is still some of the strongest we’ve experienced in Cuba (next to Brisas Sierra Mar). So, always use sun screen. Apply it before you leave your room and while visiting the nearby beaches. Otherwise, you’ll regret it.

2. If you’re hoping to visit Playa Tortuga, home to the Chaelonidae species of marine turtle, you probably won’t be able to. The road east (for tourists) now ends at Playa Blanca (the longest beach on the island at 7.5 km/5 miles). That means Los Pinos and Cocos beach are also off limits (contrary to the Eyewitness Travel book I have). Hence, you’ll have to satisfy yourself with visiting “Combinado,” the free marine biology centre if you want to see the turtles (although you may get lucky and see them in the wild or if you come during nesting season (summer through fall).

3. Although the rooms are in fairly good condition and are pleasantly bright and cheerful, this isn’t a new hotel without need for ongoing repairs or a little touching up here and there. That said, when our balcony door kept sticking and our TV signal went out, someone was there to fix it within 10 minutes. As for room amenities, you do enjoy a decent number of clothes hangers, closet and drawer space, an iron, ironing board, hair dryer, shampoo and toiletries, balcony/terrace table and chairs and a large umbrella. Could use hangers on back of the bathroom door or on its walls but what I like was the no-charge, safety deposit box (as my partner considers paying for it a waste of money).

4. Second floor ocean view rooms don’t come easy and they may not fit within your budget. Personally, I say don’t sweat it. The view from almost anywhere is lovely.

5. A Warning: When you’re hotel transfer bus is full, it will leave, with or without you! Wish we knew that. Luckily, after 40 minutes of trying to recover my video camera equipment left on the bus, I got it back. It was still sitting where I left it, even though by then, two busloads of people rode it and any thing could’ve happened! Not a good way to start a vacation that’s for sure BUT let me remind you, it was ALL GOOD after that!

Happy travels, Steve Anthony of Toronto!

Room Tip: If you want real privacy and like walking, ask for a room at either end of the resort. Second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SteveAnthony_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Steve:
We would like to thank you for taking your time to publish your opinion about our hotel and its facilities.
I am very delighted to read your positive comments. Our aim to give a perfect service to our clients and make their stay memorable. Your review makes our effort valuable. I hope I will welcome you back soon in our property.
Regards,
Fernando Martin
General Manager
Hotel Sol Cayo Largo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Largo
185.5 mi away
Iberostar Playa Blanca
Iberostar Playa Blanca
#6 of 6 in Cayo Largo
1,991 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pelicano
Hotel Pelicano
#1 of 6 in Cayo Largo
2,882 reviews
113.0 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
110.7 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,522 reviews
173.0 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,671 reviews
175.7 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Largo

Address: Cayo Largo del Sur | Archipiélago de los Canarreos, Cayo Largo 27900, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Largo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Price Range: £125 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Cayo Largo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cayo Largo del Sur, in the middle of the Caribbean Sea. All Inclusive Four-Star resort with 296 rooms. Ideal for enjoying its pristine environment and for exploring its idyllic landscape and crystal-clear ocean bottom. The resort faces 600 meters of beach renowned for its perennially cool white-sand. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and groups.Guest Rooms296 rooms: 244 Standard, 34 Standard Ocean View, 10 Standard Superior Ocean View, 8 Junior SuiteDining3 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, A la carte and mini-buffet), 1 Cafeterias, 3 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, HotelsClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Cayo Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Largo Hotel Cayo Largo
Sol Hotel Cayo Largo
Cayo Largo Cuba
Cayo Largo Sol Hotel
Sol Club Cayo Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing