We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Beaches”
Review of Sol Cayo Largo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sol Cayo Largo
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beaches”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was first time back to Sol Cayo Largo in approx. 10 years, Hotel has not really changed at all, just aged a bit. The Beaches are still as beautiful, the plumbing fixtures need updating, very limited fresh fruit and vegetables. The International restaurant had great food and service, the buffet service 10 years ago was incredible but now all you can get is a hand shake or a hug looking for a tip but you can't get them to bring you a glass of water or offer to bring you a drink ? In one week I as never offered a coffee at breakfast and I was tipping !!! The 24 hour bar on the other hand had great service and Great Coffee...Thanks Guys !!! The manager needs to check out the buffet lack of service !!!

Room Tip: Try and ask if they have any with new bathroom fixtures ? A tub you would sit in ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Sr:
We are grateful for your return to our hotel after 10 years. Publication of your experiences is important. The details that you perceive regarding the need to update the accessories in the bathroom, and the scarcity of fresh fruits are elements we have identified and we work daily for satisfaction of our guests.
Relating to the service in the buffet restaurant, I assure you that we will check to correct and prevent any inappropriate behavior by the waiters.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you another time.
Best regards.
Fernando Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,483
    1,716
    728
    255
    121
See reviews for
625
2,557
208
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The management is ridiculous in time of crises. 14 HOURS without any electricity. That also means NO water. No restaurants with reservations open. Chaos.

The food was excellent.
The rooms were clean, impeccable. If you have an ocean view, long wlak to get there.
Did not pay attention to the entertainement.
Only the little hotel sotre is open.
Excellent service from all the staff except the management.

I SWITCHED HOTEL.

Room Tip: All depends, if you have a problem with distance walking. Do not take an ocean view. ALSO if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17072014BBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Gaston:
I would like you to accept our apologies for the inconveniences associated with electricity during your stay in our hotel; at the same time we made every effort to solve the inconvenience. Sorry your perceptions about our management.

Best Regards
Fernando Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is my eighth visit to this resort and I enjoyed it thoroughly. The food, the staff, the facilities and the beaches and pools are all excellent. I am planning to return in April of 2015. The Cuban nationals are exceptionally pleasant, honest and just a great deal of fun!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Barbara:
We are proud to be part of your good comments, as customer who choose many times our country and destination attracted by the charm of beaches, cuban people .It will be a great pleasure to receive you next year.We would like to thank you for your fidelity.

Sincerely,
Fernando Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Cayo Largo is beautiful and this is probably the best place to stay. Nice, clean and spacious hotel area, beautiful, clean and spacious rooms (absolutely recommendable are the sea-view rooms), the service is very friendly and the food was surprisingly good in comparison to other all-inclusive hotels. We can fully recommend this place and would like to thank the team for 6 fantastic days after our Cuba Tour.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andi_J_Munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Sr Andy:
We are pleased about your nice review published on Trip Advisor regarding your last stay with us.Many thanks for to recommend our hotel and destination like a very nice place. We would be pleased in welcome you back.
Best regards,
Fernando Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We just returned from two weeks and already missing the place! The whole resort is very well maintained, both grounds and the facilities. All the staff are extremely helpful and polite. Check in was fast with the rooms being ready upon arrival. There was never any problem with the quantity or availability of food in the buffet or the restaurants. The pool was clean and well maintained. The a la carte restaurants were good with a nice wine selection. The room was a little outdated, but it was spotless and never a problem with hot water supply. The fridge in the room was restocked every day. Water pressure was a bit low but enough to shower every day. Entertainment staff work very hard to put on a good show in the evening. The musical entertainment in the restaurants all day was excellent. The beaches all over this island are out of this world. This was our second trip to Sol Cayo Largo, the last time was six years ago, the resort is better run and maintained this time. We will definitely be back again next year.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank redwine147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, Director General at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Srs:
We feel very happy to receive your opinions about your stay in our Resort after 6 years ago, all the staff is motivated to make the best in order to the client’s satisfaction.
Wishing to welcome you next year in a place where The beaches are out of this world.

My Best Regards
Fernando Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heverlee, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This all-inclusive stay had to be the perfect ending of a wonderful Cuban experience. And it was. It definitely is a good hotel. Staff is friendly, different activities are organized but in a 'familyfriendly' and peaceful way so that if you decide to just chillax at the swimming pool, there is no one bothering you. Food was good, although it might be very busy at the beach-restaurant at 'rush hour'. If you already had, or maybe aren't looking for the real Cuban experience, a stay in this resort will certainly give you the opportunity to recharge batteries. Just don't think that you see the 'real' Cuban life, as this isle is only inhabited by the staff (they come and go in shifts every few months).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iona_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, Director General at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Sra Lona:
Muchas gracias por haber seleccionado el destino Cayo largo y nuestro hotel en tan memorable ocasion como Luna de Miel.Nos place saber que tuvo una excelente estancia y esperamos darle la bienvenida en futuros aniversarios.
Felicitaciones desde Cuba!!!
Cordialmente
Fernando Martin
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Beaches are great and fabulous!!! Hotel is okay...rooms are clean,,, bathrooms are tired and old. Pool is nice and fun but the statue thingy in the middle is a real messy rotten pile of nothing! Coffee/bar open 24 hours is a nice place to meet people and have a nice coffee in the morning. Workers of this bar are friendly and working hard .....Now for the food,,,there was no fresh veggies or fresh fruits for a whole week,,,no lettuce of any kind ever!!! that was a problem for us! It would be a great place to go back if there was fresh stuff to eat! canned peas and carrots , canned peaches and pears just is not acceptable....the service was good everywhere except at the buffet,,,we begged for water or coffee every day!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Srs:
We are thankful for been chosen for you in vacations.About fresh fruits and veggies always hotel manage solutions to complete our standard menu substituting with other products. This is a weakness that we have identified.Although many people comeback because Cayo Largo is a nice place to spend time enjoying of amazing beaches and quiet.
Best Regards
Fernando Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Largo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pelicano
Hotel Pelicano
#1 of 6 in Cayo Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
174.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,354 reviews
175.7 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
112.8 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
366.5 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
173.0 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Largo

Property: Sol Cayo Largo
Address: Cayo Largo del Sur | Archipiélago de los Canarreos, Cayo Largo 27900, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Largo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Largo 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cayo Largo del Sur, in the middle of the Caribbean Sea. All Inclusive Four-Star resort with 296 rooms. Ideal for enjoying its pristine environment and for exploring its idyllic landscape and crystal-clear ocean bottom. The resort faces 600 meters of beach renowned for its perennially cool white-sand. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and groups.Guest Rooms296 rooms: 244 Standard, 34 Standard Ocean View, 10 Standard Superior Ocean View, 8 Junior SuiteDining3 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, A la carte and mini-buffet), 1 Cafeterias, 3 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Melia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, TravelUp and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Cayo Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Largo Hotel Cayo Largo
Sol Hotel Cayo Largo
Cayo Largo Cuba
Cayo Largo Sol Hotel
Sol Club Cayo Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing