We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about okay!”
Review of Hotel Opal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Opal
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just about okay!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Seems Old Bungalow building from the 1960s or something I guess converted into a hotel due to the prime location, I partly agree with some of the other posts which say that the cleanliness is not really upto the mark. But at Rs 1200 per night with complimentary breakfast this is what you get.Do keep in mind that this is mix veg plus non veg place so the restaurants serve both! The hotel can definitely be maintained better & more cleaner. All bathrooms need to be rennovated immediately. The hotel is not as big as it appears on their website but it has lot of parking space. Overall okay for a day or two if maintained better. If you are looking for alternatives just drive on station road nearby & you have many Hotels charging less than Rs1000 per day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blore r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    41
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
55
14
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

we stayed for two nights . The room was spacious but quite filthy. There were pan stains on the walls and bed covers and pillow covers were soiled. The rooms as well as the hallway had a dank smell.The staff was courteous and food was good . But cleanliness i think was last on the mind of the mgmt.pls check the room before you stay

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pragyanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolhapur hotels

Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Have been visiting this hotel since 1984 and believe me its been the best places to stay and have food in Kolhapur ever since. Though other options might offer better accommodation in Kolhapur, staying at Opal is like staying in Luxury with a strong history. A landmark in Kolhapur. Corporate preferred place to hold annual/monthly meeting here since decades. Ample parking space. Restaurant menu is varied and the "thali" system is stomach filling experience. You have to wait to get a place to sit in the restaurant. Non-veg dishes are just marvelous particularly the 'Kolhapuri" ones.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms on the back side. Choose ones with AC as they are much better. Old colossal type rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gautam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Second stop of my trip.Stayed for two days.
Reception and hotel staff were good.
We opted for rooms on first floor.Rooms and washroom were very clean.

Complimentary breakfast provided which was quite good.
It has restaurant in its premises were there is lot of rush .Good Parking space.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V_M301982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here for 1 night (on out way to Dandeli). Location is very convenient - off old Pune Bangalore road & in the heart of the city. Quick check-in & check-out. Rooms were spacious with balconies. Hotel being old the electrical, plumbing & furniture fittings are out dated. However rooms including toilets are clean & tidy. Unless you expect lot of frills in your hotel room, these rooms wont disappoint. Staff is cordial & helpful. Opal is famous for the food (local Kolhapur dishes) it serves in the attached restaurant.

Summary - Best option for a short stay in Kolhapur without pinching your pockets. Book in advance as there are limited rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nites. The hotel is well known by the rickshaw guys and is conveniently located.

The rooms are just about decent with a small balcony. The balcony cud not be kept open as some construction work was going on in the next buildings.

The bathroom had both hot and cold water but after one person taking a shower the geyser would take about 30 mins to dispense hot water again.

Food is average. There are multiple options to eat out.

The staff is very cordial and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShwetAditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Price: definitely reasonable
Ambience: neat
Locatoin: much near to the highway and 15-20 mins from the temple
Cleanliness: The room and the bathroom were are maintained pretty clean
Facility: Internet, 24hrs hot water
Food: The best awarded local food restaurant, this says all about their food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muralikumar_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth_Latkar, Director at Hotel Opal, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
To,
All Our Respected Guests,

Our team at Hotel Opal are very much thankful to you, for your really generous reviews about our services & food !

Its our humble confession that the real credit for this goes to each and every team member of Hotel Opal, who is wholeheartedly contributing towards this, since the beginning way back in 1968, without which this would not have been possible.

In fact, as a team, we always aspire to deliver the best of both our food & our services, at reasonable rates. We wish to continue with the same zeal & enthusiasm as always, after getting good inspiration from such heartening reviews about us.

Thanking you all once again, we remain at your service !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolhapur hotels
0.1 mi away
Sayaji Hotel Kolhapur
Sayaji Hotel Kolhapur
#1 of 31 in Kolhapur
221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aashish Deluxe
Hotel Aashish Deluxe
#15 of 31 in Kolhapur
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atria
Hotel Atria
#5 of 31 in Kolhapur
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pearl
Hotel Pearl
#6 of 31 in Kolhapur
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Citrus Hotel Kolhapur
Citrus Hotel Kolhapur
#3 of 31 in Kolhapur
306 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel K Tree
Hotel K Tree
#7 of 31 in Kolhapur
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opal

Property: Hotel Opal
Address: 2104-16A E, Old Pune Banglore Road, | Opp. MAI Hyundai Showroom,, Kolhapur 416005, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Kolhapur District > Kolhapur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Kolhapur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today after 45 years, it has become a brand with a speciality of Kolhapuri Tambda & Pandhra Rassa. People from all over India & the world come to Kolhapur to visit Shree Mahalaxmi Temple (Goddess Ambabai) & relish the Kolhapuri Cuisine at Hotel Opal.Today, brand "Opal" has gained not only a strong brand loyalty but also a widespread world of mouth publicity for it's 'Hospitality with Simplicity'!Opal's cuisine is a natural choice not only for Kolhapurians but also for people thronging from all over India & the world to Kolhapur. In 2012; Opal was awarded with the "Times Foodie Award for the Best Local Cuisine". This award is a yet another feather on the Opal's throne.We are always here to serve our guests with our specialty authentic Kolhapuri cuisine & a tradition of hospitality with simplicity ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing