We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mia Mia House in the Desert
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newman
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This is an unlikely place to find comfort, but I think it is a fantastic hotel. I have stayed here many times driving from Perth to Darwin, and to pull in to a place that not only has immaculate if small rooms, with LCD TV and nice bathrooms, but also has a fantastic restaurant which, if full, delivers room service, is a great relief. The creative use of containers to hold the rooms is a bit surprising at first, but extremely comfortable and efficient. I cannot imagine how anyone could not appreciate a stay here. Of course, it is not cheap, but that is quite typical of the area. Still, you are guaranteed comfort, cleanliness, quiet and great food. If you are looking for fawning luxury, you probably should not go to Newman Western Australia in the first place. If you are relatively high maintenance llike I can be, and you do find yourself somewhere this remote, thank heaven that there is somewhere like this to stay!

Room Tip: Any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pickytraveller1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

the service that is at this hotel is astonishing.....absolutely awful!!! the laziness of the staff is evident in the way they are presented to clientele and how they react in the restaurant. the food was OK, but service shocking.........and to top it off the manager of the hotel didnt seem to care about not only our complaint, but also several others that had stayed at the hotel. So, if your management team are inexperienced in dealing with customers, why would we expect the staff. overall, mia mia, we will never return, and we will be letting people know of your awful service.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed for three nights and was amazed by the size of the rooms, given the price/night.. The outdoor areas included a tiny artificial lawn with tables to seat around 40. It was new and clean. Food served was outstanding for a tiny mining town.

Room Tip: Go alone. Try out all the pillows. Some are lumpy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I was travelling with my wife from Perth to Broome for a wedding and decided to crash in Newman after a long and boring drive. I red a review from Paul Fisher from Trip Advisor about this place and decided to take a chance as Newman is about half way trip. Few years ago I was in Newman and it was a ghost town. Now road traffic is mainly mining four wheel drives and a lot of them everywhere. This can explain the high price for one night - $220. Mind you, there was a gym, continental breakfast and high speed internet included in price. Internet was excellent. You can use a wireless hot spot, or in room cable connection. I didn’t try wireless because wired internet was faster and more reliable and I was too tired to experiment. In room there is a fridge LCD TV, coffee and tea facilities, small table and a chair. Split system aircon, radio alarm clock and that is it. See Paul’s comment about the rooms and restaurant– very accurate.

We came around 5 pm and I was planing to leave as early as 3 am so I was in bed around 8. I was comfortable enough to fall a sleep easily but my sleep was disrupted with all the people coming back to their rooms with loud talks and laughs. Like a workers donga sound insulation is minimal so you can hear everything around the room area like being outside. I don’t blame people not being quiet at this time of the day (after 10 pm it was quiet and I slept til the morning), but there is a habit when they close the doors they slam it – to make sure it is closed. Even 3 doors away from your room it is just as loud as your own door. Again, all was quiet after 10 pm it was my problem I needed to go early to bed.

While I was checking in on my arrival a few mining workers show up on the door to check in too. Obviously mining companies are struggling to accommodate all their workers so they are filling the gap in town everywhere.

I would not stay here again for this price, but if you are desperate (and have enough money) it is OK.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterFromRockingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

The Mia Mia isn't quite a hotel - it's more like an up-market version of the "camps" used to accommodate workers in outback Australia. The rooms are quite small (with en-suite), gathered into groups of four with walkways between. There is free internet (though I couldn't get a connection), free guest laundry and a free gym. The restaurant looks pretty good - we had the Sunday night carvery which was excellent. There is also a pleasant outdoor area where you can have your meal served, or (as we did) eat your take-away.

This is comfortable but basic accommodation. It is expensive (like everything in the north-west). It's not up to the standard of other hotels in town such as the Seasons, but it has some added extras which may appeal.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerthTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laeufer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newman hotels
0.5 mi away
Seasons Hotel
Seasons Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newman
136 reviews
34.8 mi away
Capricorn Village
Capricorn Village
#4 of 4 in Newman
26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Newman Hotel
Newman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newman
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.8 mi away
Oasis at Newman
Oasis at Newman
#1 of 5 in Newman
4 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mia Mia House in the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mia Mia House in the Desert

Address: 32 Kalgan Drive, Newman, Western Australia 6753, Australia (Formerly Mia Mia Hotel)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > The Pilbara > Newman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newman
Price Range: £57 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mia Mia House in the Desert 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mia Mia House in the Desert is an established hotel in Newman that was recently renovated.Featuring a modern contemporary restaurant, with themed menu’s and buffet nights. Mia Mia also offers a takeaway option that is available 7 days a week from 11.30am to 8.30pm. Mia Mia is ideal for conferences, hosting two rooms, Australian Room and The Meeting Room featuring high tech audio visual equipment that will help your next seminar, conference or board meeting go smoothly.Other facilities at Mia Mia is a full stocked bar, shaded outdoor meeting area and a fully equipped gym with rowers, weight centre, walkers, bikes and treadmills to satisfy all levels of fitness.Mia Mia offers two types of rooms Executive Rooms and VIP Apartments of 50 square metres.Executive RoomMia Mia ’brand new’ rooms have been fitted with custom made contemporary decor and offer private en-suite bathrooms, Foxtel, bar fridge, computer access and writing desk for business travelers.VIP Apartment – Spa En-SuiteIf you’re planning a special night for two, Mia Mia’s ’self-contained’ VIP apartment is ideal for you. The luxurious two person spa and queen bed offer a relaxing night in. It is also equipped for dining or lounging in front of your favourite show or football match on the large LCD TV. A deluxe built in fitted robe, fridge, and kitchenette will tempt you to stay a little longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mia Mia House in the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing