We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more than a bed for the night”
Review of Botha House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pennington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Botha House
Ranked #1 of 2 Pennington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We started the Elephant Coast leg of our vacation here. What good advice from our travel agent Gallachers. Tony was an excellent host and gave us great advice on what to see and do when our shark diving was postponed. Oribi Gorge was stunning. Nancy is a great cook and all the staff were friendly and helpful. An excellent start to our holiday.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms were both great, providing a breeze, loads of space and a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Our first stay at Botha House and very pleasant it was too. Extremely friendly staff without being overpowering as one finds in so many guest houses. Breakfasts were good with plenty of hot fresh coffee on hand.
The only negative was that the king size bed in the luxury room was actually two single beds pushed together with a 300mm thick piece of foam stuck between them which mad a very uncomfortable ridge in the bed. Also the safe for valuables is just lying loose in a cupboard that any "burglar" could just pick up and take away.
Having said that we would return if we're in that part of KZN again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed there for three nights and enjoyed it very much. The room was wonderful with the historic interieur and a renovated bathroom matching the style of the house.
The breakfast selection was extremly delicious and the service very good. I also want to mention that Botha House offers three course dinners which we can highly recommend very much. Lovely ambience on the terrace and you can drink a bottle of wine and don't have to drive.
And if you play golf: Selborne GC is just 5 minutes away and to Umdoni Park you can drive with the Botha House golf cart.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We had a couple of nights at Botha House on our arrival in SA. What a great start. Tony was an excellent host and very informative. We were looked after so well. While not in the booking price evening meals are available if booked and the food we has was very good. Particularly Nancy's curry! I loved the building and the views. The pool was very welcome as the weather was hot and we enjoyed watching the local monkeys troop across the lawn.
Tony & team thanks you for such a lovely start to our holiday!

Room Tip: The upstairs suites have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This house dates back in the South African History, which makes this a very interesting place to stay and visit. Large lawns for children to play and the pool to have a swim, away from the crowds. The views of the Indian Ocean are spectacular. Walk to the golf course which is adjacent. A short drive to the beaches. You can spend the day just relaxing or travel and see the South Coast, like Umdoni Park, Sezela and Bazley.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleyMuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

A really lovely quiet place to stay. Very authentic and historic. Marianne welcomed us with an unplanned and much-enjoyed meal on Christmas day, it is one of the most relaxed hotel rooms I have stayed in, except that it feels like a house and the guests are all new friends.

Room Tip: Take the best suite, it is worth it for the private balcony and star-gazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The setting is nothing short of spectacular. A short drive down an up aves road gives way to a stunning view of a golf course and beyond it the Indian Ocean. Turn left and you enter through the gates on the grounds of Botha House. My daughter, along with a friend, ended our 15 day exploration of South Africa at this historic house. Settling into room 2, we had a large room filled with antique furnishings with a balcony that provided endless hours of soaking in the brilliant blue cloud dotted sky with the ocean gently colliding with rocks. The staff was welcoming and the food delicious. Don't leave without some of their excellent granola. It is a peaceful setting from which you can explore more of the south coast or just spend a day reading on the patio or on the beach. I loved the fact that there were no TVs or telephones in the rooms. We were well cared for during our 3 night stay. Don't miss this gem in Pennington. Tony, Nancy, and Charles will take good care of you.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a large suite with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust2travlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Botha House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botha House

Address: 1 Don Knight Avenue | Umdoni Park, Pennington 4184, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pennington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pennington
Price Range: £22 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Botha House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Botha House, originally built for the first state president of South Africa General Louis Botha, was complete in 1920. Today it sits proudly overlooking the Indian Ocean, the waves crashing on the rocks below, as a luxury guesthouse. With 6 bedrooms, this grand old home can accommodate up to 12 guests. It is perfectly situated to explore all the KwaZulu-Natal South Coast has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing