We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Botha House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pennington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Botha House
Ranked #1 of 1 Pennington B&B and Inns
Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
1 review
“A special weekend”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We recently spent a very special weekend at Botha House to celebrate my husband's birthday. The location in Umdoni Park, the history, the excellent,but warm and friendly service and the wonderful food all added to a making this a very memorable weekend. We will definately return to Botha House.

Carolina

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina99457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
48
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Historic, magnificent building with stunning views over the Indian Ocean. Warm and friendly atmosphere combined with perfect service - delicous breakfasts and also dinners on request. Botha House is an unforgettable experience. It is a "must" when you visit the South Coast in Kwazulu Natal!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We were here for seven days in December 2013, beautiful, quiet place. We were worried we would be bored when first arrived due to where the bnb is but it turned out to be the best place we have stayed at. Right by the sea with great views and good restaurants in the area. Super friendly staff and delicious meals. Would definitely go back, we really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thembela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We spent a total of six nights at Botha House and what a lovely time we had. Our hosts Tony and Lynne as well as Charles and Nancy made us feel welcome and completely at ease from the moment we arrived and all throughout our stay, taking good care of us and making our stay with our 3 month old baby carefree.
Botha House is situated on the edge of a golf course overlooking the ocean, with no other buildings to spoil the view and with only the sound of the ocean and the surrounding abundant nature to be heard. Leaving the doors and windows open and awakening with the rising sun and the sound of the waves was a treat every morning. We stayed in one of the rooms with a balcony, which was great to have when not at the beach. But the gardens do also offer alot of lovely space to spend time at. The historically decorated room we had offered ample space, as did the bathroom, and falling asleep in the large, extremely comfortable bed each night was a treat.
The breakfast was served on the outside terrace and consisted of a lovely full english breakfast as well as a small selection of muesli, yoghurt and fruit, another thing we looked forward to every morning. Even though at times we where the only guests wishing to have dinner at Botha House we where cooked and served a lovely dinner (3 courses if we so wished) every night (what lovely deserts, thank you again!).
A small beach (no life guards) is a short stroll away. Penningtons main beach, a five minute drive away, is absolutely lovely, calm, not too crowded and allows for a nice plunge in the ocean.
There is a small supermarket for basic necessities in the center of the village.
All in all the stay at Botha House was as lovely and relaxing as we had expected and hoped for, thank you once again. If you are looking for a laid back and relaxing place in a historic setting with nice rooms, in lovely surroundings and with great hosts we can surely recommend Botha House.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PenS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We started the Elephant Coast leg of our vacation here. What good advice from our travel agent Gallachers. Tony was an excellent host and gave us great advice on what to see and do when our shark diving was postponed. Oribi Gorge was stunning. Nancy is a great cook and all the staff were friendly and helpful. An excellent start to our holiday.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms were both great, providing a breeze, loads of space and a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Our first stay at Botha House and very pleasant it was too. Extremely friendly staff without being overpowering as one finds in so many guest houses. Breakfasts were good with plenty of hot fresh coffee on hand.
The only negative was that the king size bed in the luxury room was actually two single beds pushed together with a 300mm thick piece of foam stuck between them which mad a very uncomfortable ridge in the bed. Also the safe for valuables is just lying loose in a cupboard that any "burglar" could just pick up and take away.
Having said that we would return if we're in that part of KZN again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aschaffenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed there for three nights and enjoyed it very much. The room was wonderful with the historic interieur and a renovated bathroom matching the style of the house.
The breakfast selection was extremly delicious and the service very good. I also want to mention that Botha House offers three course dinners which we can highly recommend very much. Lovely ambience on the terrace and you can drink a bottle of wine and don't have to drive.
And if you play golf: Selborne GC is just 5 minutes away and to Umdoni Park you can drive with the Botha House golf cart.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pennington
1.1 mi away
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
7.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Elysium
19 reviews
8.0 mi away
Blue Marlin Hotel
Blue Marlin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Scottburgh
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Dugong Guest House
The Dugong Guest House
#1 of 3 in Scottburgh
40 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Palms Guest House
Four Palms Guest House
#1 of 5 in Scottburgh
7 reviews
13.7 mi away
Blue Ocean Dive Resort
Blue Ocean Dive Resort
#1 of 9 in Umkomaas
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botha House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botha House

Property: Botha House
Address: 1 Don Knight Avenue | Umdoni Park, Pennington 4184, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pennington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Botha House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Botha House, originally built for the first state president of South Africa General Louis Botha, was complete in 1920. Today it sits proudly overlooking the Indian Ocean, the waves crashing on the rocks below, as a luxury guesthouse. With 6 bedrooms, this grand old home can accommodate up to 12 guests. It is perfectly situated to explore all the KwaZulu-Natal South Coast has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing