We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rupununi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Karanambu Lodge (Ranch)
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had a fantastic time at the Ranch.
We were with a group of 8 travelling around the area and had probably our best time here.
The hospitality was exceptional - Salvador and Andrea really looked after us and nothing was too difficult to arrange. Diane was obviously also terrific at keeping us all entertained with her stories as outlined in most of the other reviews.
Food was excellent and they had real coffee!
Sleeping accommodation - there are a couple of choices but I would go for the rooms with the thatched roof - ours was the furthest from the main house. You must like bats though! it was fantastic seeing them fly around the room when we got up at 5.00am! beware though they sometimes miss getting into their homes and fall onto the floor - it is really funny watching them climb the walls to get some height to fly again!
This is really living out in the bush.
Went fishing with Oswin and caught some good fish which ended up as fishcakes in the evening.
If looking to organise a trip yourselves see attached email address rupununi.org which is their local site.

Room Tip: there are a couple of choices but I would go for the rooms with the thatched roof - ours was the fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daveb412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed in the lodge on the 2nd and 3rd nights of our honeymoon. We flew to the very basic airstrip and were picked up by Salvador, Simpson and Darwin they were to be our guides for our trips and took us by ancient landrover and boat to the lodge. Just that trip was a bit of an adventure. We went in rainy season, don't let that put you off, the river was high but we still saw all we wanted to.
If you want a five star air-conditioned luxury holiday by the pool then you're on the wrong page.
The fact that you're here means you have a bit of adventure in you and this is the place to stay.
Yes, there are bats in the roof, and some wasps, but they don't do you any harm and they are fascinating to watch. You're in the middle of nowhere in the tropics! Just adjust the mozzie net in the night and you'll be fine.
The room is comfy with extra bug spray and coils provided and a decent bathroom. The bed is comfy as are the two hammocks on the veranda.
You'll see interesting wildlife purely sitting around the lodge. Vultures, hawks, agouti, St Andrews Cross spider, leaf cutter ants, bats, big wasps, hummingbirds etc (ask Salvador to show you the praying mantii too). But the excursions are brilliant too. Watching the the sun go down in the middle of a lake covered by the huge lilly pads was amazing (quaffing a bit of rum punch to add to the joy). We saw Caiman, all manner of birds (if you're a birdwatcher it's extra amazing I guess - I'm not) and giant river otters. Then the trip in the land rover to find a giant anteater was also fantastic, it's such a cute but unusual beast.
I'm just talking wildlife so far though. Our reception was amazing, Diane McTurk is a legend and lovely to chat to about wildlife and her life in Guyana, she's such a lively rum punch supplying amazing octogenarian. Salvador is a great host, guide and companion and will make you feel right at home and his wife Andrea is a star, she provides great food and great chat. We were lucky enough to be the only guests and we had an amazing time. You definitely need more than 24 hours.
I can't recommend it anymore highly. We wanted an exciting honeymoon and we got it, the whole team were amazing and we're very grateful. I've only knocked a point off on sleep because the bats can be a little noisy. But then that's all part of its charm.
I'd head on to Atta Rainforest Lodge after and then Surinam. Amazing places all. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omegacds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at Karanambu as part of a tour of Guyana. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The accommodation is basic, but you visit for the wildlife spotting opportunities. If you want 5 star luxury go elsewhere. We loved the boat tours and spotted many birds, monkeys, caiman and were lucky to see Giant Otters in the wild. A truly once in a lifetime experience. We hope to return one day. As others have said the family are welcoming and make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The hut's bedroom ceilings became alive with screeching, peeing bats -all night long. Cockroaches in the 4" size dropped from the ceiling even in the dining hut. No rehabbed giant otters there in many years and after searching for three days we still never saw one in the wild. We made plans to be there specifically when Diane, the owner, would be there to hear her otter stories but when we got there we found out she had decided to stay in town and relax. Andrea, Salvador, and the staff were always pleasant and helpful, and dinners were always lively and delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Worldbysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Unfortunately we hadn't allowed for more than a night here at the end of our trip, don't make the same mistake!

Diane was away but Salvador & Andrea are wonderful hosts. It's funny how much the manager's personality can affect the customer experience but it was extremely positive all round here.

We saw more wildlife, slept more comfortably, ate more food and drank more rum than anywhere else in our two weeks and that in under 24 hours. Friendly staff, a very cute puppy & an excellent library as well.

If we make it back again it'll be top of the list to return to, love to Aster from Eva :-)

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Jhansfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We spent 4 nights here in February 2013 and were really sad to leave. Great company , fabulous food ...and drink in the form of Diane's rum punch and excellent wildlife watching. The boat trips and the excursions into the savanna in search of the giant anteaters were highlights of our trip to Guyana. Andrea and Salvador couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable and very memorable - in fact everyone we met went out of their way for us. Lots of photo opportunities -I'm still working through all the insect and bird photos I took . Great colonies of leaf cutter ants - Salvador will be delighted to show you them . Would love to go back , we really felt that we had been treated as more than just visitors . Finally , to have the opportunity to sit with and listen to Diane was an absolute privilege !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank hylas_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My wife and I spent two days at Karanambu and thanks to Diane, Andrea and Salvador were very quickly made to feel at home. The wildlife viewing and birding were excellent and clearly two days is only an introduction to this fascinating place. An experience we will treasure for a long time.
Doug and Ulai
Thailand

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Karanambu Lodge (Ranch)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karanambu Lodge (Ranch)

Address: Lethem Guyana | Karanambu, Guyana
Region: Guyana > Rupununi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Rupununi
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thatched and clay brick settlement on the banks of the Rupununi River, Karanambu prides itself on its pioneer spirit and old world charm and hospitality. Guests are welcomed as friends, share meals around a single ranch style table: and step into a landscape and culture relatively unchanged for generations. To a former generation it was known as the home of Tiny (Edward) McTurk; an amateur naturalist and local folk legend, it was Tiny who introduced the English speaking world to the creatures of South America. Today Karanambu is best known for the work of his daughter Ms. Diane McTurk 'The Otter Lady', whose contributions to Eco-Tourism, Conservation and especially the rescue and reintroduction of Giant Otters has made her Guyana's most famous icon. Within its 110 square mile area Karanambu boasts 5 habitats, 6 species of monkeys, over 600 species of birds, world class fishing and a vast array of flora and fauna. For almost 100 years the McTurk Family and wildlife of Karanambu have attracted visitors from across the globe and has been features in publications by: David Attenborough, Gerald Durrell, Jeff Corwin, Davis Finch, Steven Hilty and John Gimlette. With its rustic yet civilised style Karanambu has been featured on the BBC, German Television, National Geographic, Calgary's 'Zoo Quest' and the Discovery Channel and was in 2013 the recipient of the Caribbean Excellence in Sustainable Tourism Award. Pioneers in the tourism industry in Guyana, Karanambu is today considered the hallmark of Bush Tourism and Eco-Tourism in Guyana. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Karanambu Ranch Hotel Rupununi
Karanambu Lodge (Ranch) Guyana/Rupununi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing