We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent day of bread making”
Review of Hen Corner

Hen Corner
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Brentford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Baking - Preserving - Artisan Food Making - Poultry & Bee Keeping - Traditional Skills Whether it's welcoming guests to our courses or working with schools, Hen Corner is bringing together the country and the city, helping you turn your urban corner green. *Please note: visits are by appointment only*
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Sara Ward certainly exceeded my expectations of an excellent day out making bread at her welcoming corner of Brentford. She is a warm, friendly and an excellent teacher who clearly explains not only how to make various kinds of bread but also the whys behind the process.
I came away with three different types of loaves, a batch of hot cross buns and a batch of cinnamon rolls as well as bags of confidence to try kneeding and baking bread at home.

thanks so much Sara. I cant wait to sign up for your cheese making course!

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Nicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bee keeping"
in 15 reviews
"bread"
in 46 reviews
"cheese making"
in 8 reviews
"learning how"
in 8 reviews
"eggs"
in 8 reviews
"different types"
in 11 reviews
"delicious lunch"
in 5 reviews
"cakes"
in 13 reviews
"sausage"
in 5 reviews
"lovely home"
in 3 reviews
"great teacher"
in 3 reviews
"relaxed atmosphere"
in 4 reviews
"preserves"
in 2 reviews
"cinnamon buns"
in 2 reviews
"feel confident"
in 2 reviews
"seville orange"
in 2 reviews
"carrot cake"
in 2 reviews
Filter

94 - 98 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2016

A great day spent with friends learning the art of bread and marmalade making from the expert. I enjoyed the doing and coming away with something but equally the relaxed atmosphere created by Sara and the tea and home-made soup and treats which punctuated the day. As a bonus we created while the chickens free-ranged outside while also picking up random tips and information about 'country' life and sustainable living.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016

I bought bread from the micro-bakery at hen corner. Very easy, good website to use, reasonable prices and pickup was very easy as well. A friendly, welcoming atmosphere and the bread that we picked up (white loaf, fougasse and lateward buns) were all delicious. Can thoroughly recommend the micro bakery if you like home cooked bread (without cooking it in your own home).

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Philippa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016

I visited Hen Corner for the second time and this time went to the wreath making course. This was a trip booked by my work as part of our Christmas party. We had an amazing time - our team is very mixed but everyone enjoyed it and it was great seeing our different creations. The team at Hen Corner went above and beyond - even baking fresh biscuits when hearing I had an allergy to the mince pies.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank JessicaaaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Fabulous day from 10 - 3.30 pm baking 8 different types of bread from foccaia to cinnamon swirls. Sara is a generous, enthusiastic teacher who opens up her home for classes. I joined a baking class and learnt so much. Next time will be back in the summer for a hen or bee keeping course.

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank R0sanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hen Corner also viewed

 

Been to Hen Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing