We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few additional remarks”
Review of Golden Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Hill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Lashio B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I agree with the favourable reviews of this hotel published earlier and will only add a few remarks:

- The staff generally speaks little or no English, but one of them (the manager?) does speak English and is always at hand should assistance be required.

- The location is excellent: at the fringe of the most scenic part of town, with major markets within easy walking distance. There are many more hotels in this area, by the way, some of them not mentioned in guidebooks or on Tripadvisor. Should this hotel be full, there are plenty of alternatives.

- Wifi actually works here, contrary to some Yangon hotels we've stayed in. But be advised that the connection seems to be provided by a Chinese ISP. Many sites that are blocked in China (currently including social media, blog sites and Google services) are not available here, either.

- The hotel changes US dollars, currently (November 2012) at 800 kyat for a dollar, same as most hotels in the Northeast. Banks generally do not change money, except CB Bank.

- Room rates in November 2012: US$45, 55, 75 and 85.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank richard747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

TombonyC's comments are bang on the money. Lashio is a dusty town near the chinese border, and white people are a curiosity there. A very rewarding place to visit and see different culture for sure. So its suprising that this hotel is indeed a proper hotel, complete with leather furniture in the lobby, swipe card door locks and staff who open the doors and take your bags. I was worried id gone over budget but we got a twin room for $40US and were very comfortable. Hotel staff spoke good english and lady in reception organised onwards bus tickets (front seat) and a taxi to the bus station, in both cases for no commision(we paid the company / driver directly) and with a friendly smile. Wifi had patchy coverage in the room, but worked fine in the lobby / top floor breakfast room and was actually better speedwise than most other places in myanmar we visited. Its on top of a hill so easy to find your way back to, and markets and food places are nearby, with Shan food being quite tasty. I suspect this place may be chinese owned, given the number of chinese characters sprinkled around, and the breakfast is mostly chinese style food. However staff were standing by with a toaster and frying pan to cater to western tastes as best they could.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikey762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I totally agree with tombonyc's comments re Golden Hill Hotel. It is very good hotel compared to the other offerings in Lashio.

The hotel is modern and the rooms, whilst not overly big, are well equipped with flat screen TV, soft beds, good air-conditioning, free wifi (worked most of the time) and modern bathroom.

Breakfast is ok - toast, eggs/omelet, tea/coffee/juice and some Asian offerings.

I paid US$45 a night (included breakfast) booking through Magado Travel and Tour in Yangon by email (travel.evisa@gmail.com) and paid Magado by credit card using their PayPal facility.

The hotel is only a short walk to the day market and also the night market so is well located.

The hotel can do flight and tour bookings if needed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yiiim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Lashio is actually a fascinating city. Ignore the less than enthusiastic writeup in Lonely Planet and spend 2 or 3 days here. You will be rewarded with lovely people, beautiful scenery, better than average Shan, Myanmar and Chinese food, and enough attractions to keep you busy and happy.

Now onto the hotel.

The other lodging choices in Lashio are horrific. If they charged $5 USD/night then I'd take the plunge and deal with the dirt and indifferent Chinese staff. I actually had reservations at the place Lonely Planet recommended over the other (there are really only 2 besides Golden Hill,) and I just couldn't deal. There were clear signs of rodent infestation in the lobby, the room was dark and smelled bad, and the entire place had an ashtray vibe going on.

A local guy who was a friend of a friend suggested that I take a look at a new hotel right around the corner up a hill. And there it was: Golden Hill Hotel.

First, the price. It was only $6 USD/night more than the rathole I had just left. The lobby was clean, welcoming and had excellent aircon. The furniture was that weird, throne-like Chinese style which is not terribly comfortable but made for some fun photos. And the staff was a mix of Shan and Chinese, with an approach to service and communication that is more Shan.

The room: not big. Very comfortable bed. Excellent aircon which was available 24/7. Decent TV. The programming was all in Myanmar and Chinese when I arrived, but upon request they changed 3 channels to Channel NewsAsia, CNN and BBC.

The bathroom was spotless with a great shower (by great I mean hot and lots of pressure) and modern accessories.

Now here's the real kicker - there was actually wireless internet throughout the entire hotel. This is a rarity in Myanmar outside of the more expensive places in Yangon, but for a mid-range hotel in a small city in Shan State - a real treat.

Breakfast was nothing great. They did not have milk for their coffee (aside from powdered milk) but they went to buy condensed milk for me for the last 3 days of my stay.

Overall - super friendly staff. A VERY responsive GM who was clearly proud of his hotel and went out of his way to make his guests happy. A clean, welcoming environment. All of this adds up to a great place to stay in a city which will undoubtedly start receiving more visitors as Myanmar continues its march toward openness and engagement.

Room Tip: Ask for a hill view. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank tombonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuki-kun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Deluxe-Eckzimmer verlangen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Obere Etage wegen des Ausblickes, sonst ist die Stadt sehr ruhug
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hecht59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lashio hotels
0.2 mi away
Two Elephants Hotel
Two Elephants Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lashio
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel CS
Hotel CS
#3 of 12 in Lashio
1 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lashio Motel
Lashio Motel
#2 of 3 in Lashio
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Kinnara Hotel
Golden Kinnara Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lashio
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sann Shwin Hotel
#4 of 12 in Lashio
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Mansu Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lashio
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Hill Hotel

Address: No. 2 Hnin Si St, Quarter, Lashio, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Lashio
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lashio
Price Range: £29 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Golden Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing